R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-24-2003, 10:36 PM   #16
Tech Adept
 
pkranger63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 162
Default

For enough motor information to make your head explode I recomend http://www.rccars.com/forums/forumdi...php?forumid=19 anything you want to know is probably there.

Good luck
Matt
pkranger63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 07:20 AM   #17
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Steevo
Yes the specs will differ....

My RPM is 22,378
Torque 101.5Nmm
since your motor has about an extra 2000 extra rpm will it make a diffrence if we both geared ours the same and ran it on the track?

but i have a little bit more torque
isit noticeable?
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 10:17 AM   #18
Tech Adept
 
RC4SALE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: ROAR Region 1
Posts: 175
Thumbs up

Don't forget to oil those bushings......
RC4SALE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 01:43 PM   #19
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

before i run ne motor, i cut the comm, free the bushings up, align the hoods, reshim for magnetic center, new brushes.
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 04:16 AM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
Steevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TIMMAY!!!
Posts: 980
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Calvin Ng
since your motor has about an extra 2000 extra rpm will it make a diffrence if we both geared ours the same and ran it on the track?

but i have a little bit more torque
isit noticeable?
I think the difference would be hardly noticable and would really depend on the track and whether the motor got to use the extra RPM or not.

The dyno figures on the label never match the numbers I get on my Dyno and I don't expect them to.

When choosing a motor in the store My method is to choose the motor with the best balance of RPM and torque.

With the monster stock Pro I like to try and find a motor with numbers of about 22,000 RPM or so and about 100+ Nmm of torque. When using this method for the Monster Stock I seem to get really good motors. Maybe its just fluke but it works for me...

Steevo
Steevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 08:56 AM   #21
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: so you mean

Quote:
Originally posted by Steevo
Hi There Mate,

You can definately use the Monster Stock PRO version straight from the packet.
It has already been trued, Shimmed, had the bushes broken in and had the hoods aligned etc. This is what makes it the PRO Spec Version.

I use all my monster Stock Pro's straight from the Pack with excellent results.

Good Luck

Steevo
Well isn't that cute........but it's wrong!!... J/K

Definately pro or not check the thing out, true the comm, shim the arm, allign the brushes.... and CHECK the hoods for brush binding!! I have had Trinity stock motors with all of these problems and all pro's!!

The Monster seems to be better with brush hood alignment, maybe they made tooling changes to allow for better allignment, but also seems to be far worse in one aspect..... Binding up the brushes in the hoods.....I had a motor hang a brush on it's 2nd run, and agian I tossed another set of brushes o n it's 4th run due to hanging because the brushhoods bound up the brush....

A freind of mine had a monster pro that the hoods where bound so badly the brush wouldn't even touch teh comm...... NOW how can you get a dyno reading with a motor that won't even spool up???? I am serious ut of the package the motor wouldn't even run!!!

Seriously, Trinity pro motors are not given any special treatment what's so ever, aside from a set of 4499's, red/green springs, and about 10 seconds on the dyno..... and I'm seriously doubting it ever hits the dyno anymore......

And how does Trinity choose which motors are destined to be pro's..... einy, meiny, miney, moe.....
__________________
G's RC Raceway- Best off-road track on the east coast...period!!!

Pitman for Team Dallas Austin...
IMPACTPLAYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 09:16 AM   #22
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: so you mean

Quote:
Originally posted by IMPACTPLAYR


Seriously, Trinity pro motors are not given any special treatment what's so ever, aside from a set of 4499's, red/green springs, and about 10 seconds on the dyno..... and I'm seriously doubting it ever hits the dyno anymore......

And how does Trinity choose which motors are destined to be pro's..... einy, meiny, miney, moe.....
ROTFLMAO true very true

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 02:46 PM   #23
Tech Fanatic
 
Steevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TIMMAY!!!
Posts: 980
Default Re: Re: Re: so you mean

Quote:
Originally posted by IMPACTPLAYR
Well isn't that cute........but it's wrong!!... J/K

Definately pro or not check the thing out, true the comm, shim the arm, allign the brushes.... and CHECK the hoods for brush binding!! I have had Trinity stock motors with all of these problems and all pro's!!

The Monster seems to be better with brush hood alignment, maybe they made tooling changes to allow for better allignment, but also seems to be far worse in one aspect..... Binding up the brushes in the hoods.....I had a motor hang a brush on it's 2nd run, and agian I tossed another set of brushes o n it's 4th run due to hanging because the brushhoods bound up the brush....

A freind of mine had a monster pro that the hoods where bound so badly the brush wouldn't even touch teh comm...... NOW how can you get a dyno reading with a motor that won't even spool up???? I am serious ut of the package the motor wouldn't even run!!!

Seriously, Trinity pro motors are not given any special treatment what's so ever, aside from a set of 4499's, red/green springs, and about 10 seconds on the dyno..... and I'm seriously doubting it ever hits the dyno anymore......

And how does Trinity choose which motors are destined to be pro's..... einy, meiny, miney, moe.....
Maybe I,ve been lucky but of all the monster stocks I have had I have never had a problem. I check the brushes after running the motor for a few minutes to make sure they are wearing perfectly which Indicates correct hood alignment. I have checked the shimming to see if it is shimmed properly and it has never needed anything.
I don't know what it is but I have never had to touch any of the monster stock Pro's I have had and all have been brilliant
And believe me I know how to tune and set up a motor properly...

Steevo
Steevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 05:06 PM   #24
Tech Master
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to FUK_WRX Send a message via AIM to FUK_WRX Send a message via MSN to FUK_WRX Send a message via Yahoo to FUK_WRX
Default damn

Damn, i think i better check everything i never knew trinity does that
FUK_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 06:41 PM   #25
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: so you mean

Quote:
Originally posted by Steevo
Maybe I,ve been lucky but of all the monster stocks I have had I have never had a problem. I check the brushes after running the motor for a few minutes to make sure they are wearing perfectly which Indicates correct hood alignment. I have checked the shimming to see if it is shimmed properly and it has never needed anything.
I don't know what it is but I have never had to touch any of the monster stock Pro's I have had and all have been brilliant
And believe me I know how to tune and set up a motor properly...

Steevo
question

when you align brushes do you file them so they are totally flat????
so the whole brush is just like a rectangular prisim with no edges???

thanx
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 07:17 PM   #26
Tech Fanatic
 
Steevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TIMMAY!!!
Posts: 980
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: so you mean

Quote:
Originally posted by Calvin Ng
question

when you align brushes do you file them so they are totally flat????
so the whole brush is just like a rectangular prisim with no edges???

thanx
I have used that method but now I use my brush station that will slot, groove and resurface the brushes easily and accurately.
It is easy to see after using this tool and running the motor briefly if the brush is aligned properly by the wear marks on the freshly surfaced brush. I only do this for a used motor though that I suspect has bad hood alignment.

For a brand new motor however I just run the motor briefly when I first get it and check the wear mark on the brush face. I find that to be sufficient.

I think in the end we all have our different experiences with different motors. Personally I have never had a Monster Stock Pro that has been anything but brilliant. I can't say the same for some other motors though.

If you choose to dissect every new Monster Stock Pro you get then thats your choice. I suppose that after a run if you are not happy with the performance then go for it

Steevo

Last edited by Steevo; 06-26-2003 at 07:29 PM.
Steevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 07:21 PM   #27
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

1 more thing

after you allign the brush properly do you still use that brush or do you use some new ones
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 07:21 PM   #28
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

1 more thing

after you allign the brush properly do you still use that brush or do you use some new ones
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 08:56 PM   #29
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 132
Default

I use the same brushes because when you run the motor it is only for a short time so you can start to see where the wear mark is. The brush should still be in good condition after doing this.
With new brushes on a new motor that has not been run in, the wear mark should be a thin line down the centre of the brush face until the brush takes to the curve of the comm.
CustomfibreR/C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 09:12 PM   #30
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

What tool do you guys use to align the brush hoods?
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
monster stock and monster hand out $20 yeaklet4 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-15-2007 06:51 PM
Ofna monster Pitrate 1/8th Monster truck Boostd2valve R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 02-25-2005 09:31 AM
Paradigm monster VS Fukuyama Monster FUK_WRX Electric On-Road 127 06-02-2004 04:48 PM
Monster stock / Revenge of the monster Klaus Electric Off-Road 1 03-08-2004 07:34 AM
Trinity Monster vs Fantom monster xray racer Australian Racing 15 06-24-2003 04:13 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:54 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net