R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2008, 02:29 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default TA05 CF Chassis Problems

Well i have a ta05 that has a 3racing chassis on it and i have just moved on to cells and the velcro doesnt hold them in long enough to finish the race and i have moved on to glass tape or filament tape what ever you call it and it keeps snapping were you thread it through the cf.

Any sugestion how to fix this?

Thanks in advance
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 02:44 AM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 95
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

sand the battery tape slots and get rid of the sharp edges.
naggalowmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 03:41 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
chrisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,089
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

yer sand or file the edges, to take away the sharp edge.
chrisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:56 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

I have this chassis and use inline cells and they sit nicely in the chassis, are you using a stick pack? If so it may be just too long to sit properly in the chassis and give you problems.

This is how mine looks if it helps

__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 05:01 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mclean, VA
Posts: 3,940
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drifting101 View Post
Well i have a ta05 that has a 3racing chassis on it and i have just moved on to cells and the velcro doesnt hold them in long enough to finish the race and i have moved on to glass tape or filament tape what ever you call it and it keeps snapping were you thread it through the cf.

Any sugestion how to fix this?

Thanks in advance
Take two strips of tape and layer them on top of each other. Should be stronger.
Apex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 03:39 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

hey tc3 team can post a pic of of under your cells
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:01 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drifting101 View Post
Well i have a ta05 that has a 3racing chassis on it and i have just moved on to cells and the velcro doesnt hold them in long enough to finish the race and i have moved on to glass tape or filament tape what ever you call it and it keeps snapping were you thread it through the cf.

Any sugestion how to fix this?

Thanks in advance
You need to chamfer the top edge of the long side of the battery slots so the cells sit in a little lower. Once done the cells wont move with the velcro strap or tape (fitted properly).
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 05:08 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

can any one post pics of any cf chassis the has being sanded down to make the cells sit better
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 05:50 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Sorry, I dont have my camera and car to hand

Usually cells upto 3800 capacity fit straight in if (they are inline like mine), if they are 4200 then just make sure you solder the bars nice and flat and they should fit in fine.

Sometimes my 4200 cells are a tight fit, but with a bit of wiggle they sit in fine
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 02:47 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

i use ib4600

they fit fine but my main problem is that the tape keeps snapping
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 02:43 AM   #11
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

I dont know how much bigger the cells are, but if they are not much bigger than the 4200 very carefully file out the plastic strap holder and the little plastic bump you can see in my pic to help shoe horn them in, to give it that little bit of extra width.

Personally I hate using tape, I have seen too many peoples races come to a quick end when it snaps, not only that the 4600s are a little heavier so when they are jolted suddenly the tape will snap.

Try doubling up the tape and see how you get on, but imho its the size of the 4600 cells that is giving you the problem. You swapped out the velcro holder for tape because the cells wouldnt fit, but the tape is a weaker replacement.

I am sure with a dremmel you could make those cells fit nice with a bit of time and still use the velcro holder....
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wanted ta05 hop-up chassis Qatmix R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 07-13-2008 05:00 AM
TA05-R chassis with hopups J-PaP Australia For Sale/Trade 10 10-04-2007 04:11 AM
Ta05 chassis willabong Australia For Sale/Trade 1 03-26-2007 12:26 AM
Steering problems on Tamiya TA05 and M03L nexxus Electric On-Road 16 01-06-2006 08:41 AM
WTB TA05 CHASSIS Ranamar R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 11-25-2005 04:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:36 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net