Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 07-21-2009, 11:32 AM
  #9571  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,326
Default

might as well post mine too
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya mini cooper-m05.jpg  
redbones is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 11:40 AM
  #9572  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Super Newbie question. Mini cooper

Hi all.

Okay so I am a super newbie with all this.

Will any Mini cooper tamiya body fit on a 'team Losi xxx-s' chassis?
MiniU4IA is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 11:47 AM
  #9573  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edgerton Wi
Posts: 3
Default

Originally Posted by MiniU4IA
Hi all.

Okay so I am a super newbie with all this.

Will any Mini cooper tamiya body fit on a 'team Losi xxx-s' chassis?
Tamiya used to make a 1/8 scale mini cooper kit that used the TG-10 1/10 scale chassis. If you can find that body then it should drop right on a XXX-S.
LigouriRd. is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 11:51 AM
  #9574  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default

Originally Posted by LigouriRd.
Tamiya used to make a 1/8 scale mini cooper kit that used the TG-10 1/10 scale chassis. If you can find that body then it should drop right on a XXX-S.

Did they stop making it awhile back?

Probably impossible to find a new one now then?


Another question.
Whats the difference between a M-03 and the M-03 XB pro ready to run?
MiniU4IA is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 12:20 PM
  #9575  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 133
Default

Originally Posted by MiniU4IA
Did they stop making it awhile back?

Another question.
Whats the difference between a M-03 and the M-03 XB pro ready to run?
XB is built up , with electronics , ready to run ( RTR)
gimpex is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 01:44 PM
  #9576  
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Originally Posted by redbones
might as well post mine too
I notice that you have also left off the stiffeners/roll bars at the rear of the chassis. Is there any particular reason for leaving it off? Is this only for certain track conditions or better for all conditions?
Skitee is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 03:21 PM
  #9577  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (38)
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,422
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Skitee,

It seems to be the fashion with a few of the Japanese drivers. I don't think it will let the chassis flex any differently, as the joint between the front and rear is very tight. It would be something you would have to try.

For Australian mini racing it would be illegal as not built per instructions and would mean you would have to add lead weights to get back to 1330gms. Nearly all who run mini use Lipo's so weight is already required to get up to legal weight. Perhaps when Tamiya release more Hop ups the requirement for additional lead weight might be reduced.

Seems like 3Racing are set to release a plethra of MO5 parts in during August. Check out there web site http://www.3racing.hk/products_list....=104&x=34&y=11

My thoughts,

Calvin.

Last edited by caltek1; 07-21-2009 at 03:24 PM. Reason: xtra text
caltek1 is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 03:27 PM
  #9578  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tony gray
Its out now...the 'Junior Burger' of the M05 world. The M05 Mini Cooper kit.



Want to know what it DOESN'T have?

rc-mini knows - Click HERE

Still not available in the US!
Geppetto is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 03:48 PM
  #9579  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (38)
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,422
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Geppetto,

The kit was released last week in Japan. RC Champ had them.

Regards,

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 04:29 PM
  #9580  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default

Ok, so I got the Mini bug since I purchased my '09 mini cooper.

'nother newbie question.

What's the difference between the Tamiya Mini kits out there: M-05, M-03 etc..

Thanks
MiniU4IA is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 06:26 PM
  #9581  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,326
Default

Originally Posted by caltek1
Skitee,

It seems to be the fashion with a few of the Japanese drivers. I don't think it will let the chassis flex any differently, as the joint between the front and rear is very tight. It would be something you would have to try.

For Australian mini racing it would be illegal as not built per instructions and would mean you would have to add lead weights to get back to 1330gms. Nearly all who run mini use Lipo's so weight is already required to get up to legal weight. Perhaps when Tamiya release more Hop ups the requirement for additional lead weight might be reduced.

Seems like 3Racing are set to release a plethra of MO5 parts in during August. Check out there web site http://www.3racing.hk/products_list....=104&x=34&y=11

My thoughts,

Calvin.
The rear brace, though it looks cool, it doesn't do anything other than to add weight so I took them off. The chassis is plenty stiff without them. If I run my 3600nimh, the car at its current state weighs in at 1340g. Yes, even with the alum screws and taking all the unnecessary pieces off. The place where I race is pretty cool with mods as long as you follow the obvious ones(motor, batt, weight limit, etc). When we tried to limit what we can do, people started to drop out so it was lifted. We've got some very unique minis and pretty exciting to see what kind of ideas people come up with every race.

Seems like 3racing is going to beat tamiya to the hop up race. I already see the motor mount and the ball diff. I hope the diff is a "standard" one and not the over engineered version from the M03. I also see a front shock tower which will allow you to get back the original geometry from the M03. Though I prefer to have made from graphite instead.
redbones is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 06:45 PM
  #9582  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (38)
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,422
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

redbones,

Next to no one runs NiMH batteries here in Australia. Lipo's are so easy to use and have great voltage for racing. As these are lighter additional weight is required.

Fortunately for your racing modifications are allowed and using the NiMH's will bring you back up to weight easily.

3Racing gear looks good, however previous experience with rear hubs, the parts are soft and do not take abuse very well. I hope the diffs are nothing like the one they made for the MO3. That was apalling.

Good to hear that you have some unique mini's in your club. So how did your experiment with moving the bottom of the front shock pan out?

Regards,

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 07:40 PM
  #9583  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
scribbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've had ots of difficulties with the Manta ray ball diff. Is the other one more reliable?

Thanks
scribbler is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:00 PM
  #9584  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
scribbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

3Racing has once again come out with an excellence selection of show, but no go parts. You have to buy two of everything just to make it through one day of racing. Very dissappointing. Its almost worth spending the larger amount for guinuine Tamiya hop up parts. You might spend more for their stuff but you only pay once.

Just my two cents. Feel free to disagree.

Thanks
scribbler is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:02 PM
  #9585  
Tech Master
 
tamiyarcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,633
Default

Originally Posted by scribbler
I've had ots of difficulties with the Manta ray ball diff. Is the other one more reliable?

Thanks
The TA03 ball diff is what I have always run. Only problem I have ever had with it is eventually you can strip out where the dogbones go into it. But out of all the diffs I have run I think maybe 1 or 2 have done that.

ifyou are going to be running it in a M05, I think tamiya will have a new one shortly, so, if it was me, I would wait.
tamiyarcracer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.