Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 04-03-2009, 06:26 AM
  #8746  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Staffs...UK
Posts: 42
Default

Originally Posted by BILKO1
Thanks for the reply I've got some slightly smaller wheels/tyres to try out from ansman and abc hobby 51mm compared to standard 60mm should help acceleration and the ride height is lower to

I've been using the Ansmann wheels and tyres at my local club along with Xpress rubber tyres on the rear (a lot softer than the Ansmann ones)

Did you know that the 2 different tyre profiles/tread are different in how soft they are too? the RS style-2 tyres (art No. 211000065) are a lot softer than the RS Style (art No. 211000062) another make are the 3racing or yeah racing rubber tyres they seem to be inbetween (compound wise) to the above Ansmann tyres

They help loads with grip rolling, than the 60d tyres..but don't really help if your thinking of doing the Tamiya Cup (as I am!)
4_cell_racer is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 06:44 AM
  #8747  
Tech Fanatic
 
academygaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 754
Default

Tamiya M05:



Rough translation:

Whether with the M05 Tamiya F104 and lost ground at the M-chassis, and can compensate for F1 will soon show. Urgent renovation needs in any case in both classes.

<F104 details removed...we want to know about the Mini >

The Mini Pro M05 chassis is rear Aluradträger have. The Horn of the Servo Savers is also made of Alu. The damper is scold "CVA Super Mini" and be with TRF Short Springs feathered. Many ball heads, nuts and spacer are also included in Aluausführung.
The servo is finally on the very unfavorable position towards the rear upper wandered. Chevron was already a conversion kit so why.
academygaz is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 06:54 AM
  #8748  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I've only added 1 per side. Getting rid of "some" leaves me with "stock."
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 07:35 AM
  #8749  
Tech Regular
 
Low_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 361
Default

Originally Posted by monkeyracing
More diff questions! (I'm away from racing for a couple of weeks, so I've got lots of time to tweak and tune)

I built a gear diff last night with a couple of extra shims in it. As mentioned (much) earlier in this thread, I glued the shims to the diff case, and then built it up as usual.

The problem is that the moment I start to get any "limited slip" action as I tighten down the screws, the diff gets very notchy. I've tried loosening and tightening the screws one by one, little by little, but I either have a loose diff or a really notchy one.

Any tips on this I may have missed?

Jim
even with some grease bewteen the shims? (you should use normal grease there and NOT diffgrease
AFAIK Diffgrease is made to prevent wear and friction but minimise "sliding".
Normal grease will enhance sliding, which is what you look for: the shims sliding against eachother.
Low_E is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 08:15 AM
  #8750  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,785
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by monkeyracing
I've only added 1 per side. Getting rid of "some" leaves me with "stock."
Jim i had WAY more success using hugely heavy weight 8th scale diff oil in there instead. Its thick enough that it wont spill out (quickly anyway) and the diff action is consistent. I used 10,000wt last time, actually dont think ive pulled that box apart since! Its been months so would like to know how much has passed out throught the outdrives. the gearbox still feels free so feels like no thick oil is on the gears yet. The diff action is very stiff, but there, so its almost locked, but will 'diff out' if pushed.

If you want to give that a try, let me know. Ill be there sunday.
axle182 is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 09:59 AM
  #8751  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Shake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 30
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by niznai
101

You said you're traction rolling. Does that mean you're rolling over, or just lifting wheels a bit?

I think your 3mm is a bit low and you probably have very limited if any droop. That means your car is more like a brick than a car with suspension. Remember that grip is a game of give and take. If your car rolls instead of the chassis rolling and the suspension taking some deflection that means the suspension is too stiff. As suggested above a review of your suspension all around might provide some information. I think your suspension is too stiff right now. I like my cars soft and given that you have plenty of power I think it would be a good idea (and you can afford it) to sacrifice some speed for driveability. Your times are going to pick up if you're smoother rather than having to fight the car in corners.
Amen!!!!!

I've been having the same problems with my M03 and it makes sense all what you're saying....

I always thought you could "change" the setup of the suspension depending on the track, but let me tell you...I've found that top guys here in Mexico, hardly change their suspension configuration. They're always as soft as they can....(not mattering if it's a low-med-high grip track)

All of them run lipos, without adding much (if any) weight to their cars and not having the problem of traction rolling...
Shake is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 01:53 PM
  #8752  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tony gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

And...more pics on the most eagerly awaited new Tamiya car for some time. Maybe the Switch has scared them into action?

tony gray is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 05:09 PM
  #8753  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Kail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thumbs up or down to the new M05?
I think M03 will not lose much ground to this new M05. Seems to me like the concerns outweigh the slightly lowered CG.
Kail is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 05:37 PM
  #8754  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tony gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Leonard,

looks to me like nothing has REALLY changed all that much. While you can't see inside, I'd suggest nothing has changed in there, and the basic suspension etc is really all the same, just laid over shocks.
And most of this appears to be in an effort to get everything 'off the top'

I really don't think it'll be any better than the M03 at all. And it will be a HUGE pain to mount electronics in the thing.

Still, that doesn't mean we won't all want one.....
tony gray is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 05:44 PM
  #8755  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tony gray
And...more pics on the most eagerly awaited new Tamiya car for some time. Maybe the Switch has scared them into action?
Very cool to see they're finally doing something with the M. (The actual M, not any of those impostors.) I only hope that the add on bits like the uprights and steering knuckles are compatible. I've got a lot of money invested in blue anodized stuff.

Judging from the picture, it appears they are going to use the same trans setup.

Where do you put the electronics in something like this? Having the servo in the back section and having the steering linkage running the length of the chassis puts a damper on our usual M.O.

Oh yeah....slightly better translation...

The M 05-PRO chassis has aluminum rear uprights. The servo horn is also made of aluminum. The dampers used are the "CVA Super Mini" and are supplied with TRF short springs. Many ball studs, nuts and spacers are also made of aluminum. The servo has finally moved to the rear of the chassis, away from the unfavorable forward mounting position. Chevron already produced a conversion kit, so why? (because no one can find the Chevron kit?)

Last edited by monkeyracing; 04-03-2009 at 05:55 PM.
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 07:39 PM
  #8756  
Tech Master
 
DRAG_ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ibanez,Cort,Yamaha
Posts: 1,785
Default

Originally Posted by academygaz
Tamiya M05:



Rough translation:
all for the great design just missing 1 single thing! and i think its very important, front foam bumper to reduce the impact ............ why tamiya never want to make front foam bumper for their mini car ?????
DRAG_ON is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 07:42 PM
  #8757  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (22)
 
gtfour93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 658
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Looks like the M-05 is going back to the stand up steering servo, just like the M-01/02.
gtfour93 is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 10:53 PM
  #8758  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Kail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tony gray
Leonard,

looks to me like nothing has REALLY changed all that much. While you can't see inside, I'd suggest nothing has changed in there, and the basic suspension etc is really all the same, just laid over shocks.
And most of this appears to be in an effort to get everything 'off the top'

I really don't think it'll be any better than the M03 at all. And it will be a HUGE pain to mount electronics in the thing.

Still, that doesn't mean we won't all want one.....
Haha yup. Precisely. Not to forget steering slop due to sheer number of linkages.

I will definitely still want one though I am not a fan out mounting electronics outside the vehicle.
Kail is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 11:24 PM
  #8759  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Hyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

MY FRIEND! TONY!!!! IS THIS REALLY COMING OUT?

M05PRO???

I'm LOvIng THiS HyPe! I WANT ONE AND I WANT ONE NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Hyde is offline  
Old 04-04-2009, 01:46 AM
  #8760  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kail
Haha yup. Precisely. Not to forget steering slop due to sheer number of linkages.
Agreed 100%! Why go from a nice, direct control system to this? (yeah, yeah, yeah, center of gravity.....it's a mini!)
monkeyracing is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.