Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 08-27-2008, 05:48 AM
  #7156  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (35)
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Caltek uses Rides on the front up here in Sydney. He uses the harder compound. The car will not turn in so hard with the harder compound and avoid the "hooking" He uses old Shimitzu or HPI X patterns on the rear. Hope that helps
cannon is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 05:50 AM
  #7157  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Ok thanks i will try that this weekend
Drifting101 is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 05:56 AM
  #7158  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (35)
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

I notice in your sig that you have a 9551 servo in the Mini ... very fast !!!. I would still turn the steering exponential down .. by at least 25% to start with
cannon is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 10:25 AM
  #7159  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Originally Posted by cannon
No one runs zero zero. The kits come with 2 degree in the rear. (M03M & M03L ... the old M03L had zero rear hubs) This provides the stability. Toe out on the front will provide initial turn in. Ask any TC racer. Just trying to help
Sorry, when I said zero zero, I meant left and right front. The Rover Mini or the 210 mm wb came with 0 degree rear hubs.

I have an open mind cause I've found that the more I learn the less I know. I'll put the mini on my set up station and set up zero toe out or in and give it a shot this weekend.
Granpa is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 10:52 AM
  #7160  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,279
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Spice & RP Tire ,insert & wheel was back in stock !
Ride all sold out !
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 03:51 PM
  #7161  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tony gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Drifting101

And if tony could maybe send me a pm what he is running as i will be running against him on sunday

Any more questions?
Wodonga - I'll be running 36 Fronts, 28 rears. Simple. Same as what I run most places.

Or... Maybe Ride Med front, Ride Soft rear. Easy!

BTW - AT the Vics earlier this year we were all traction rolling all over the place -Solution? On our NiMh cars we added the bumper weights that we use for our Lipo cars - problem solved

Last edited by tony gray; 08-28-2008 at 02:48 AM.
tony gray is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 01:51 AM
  #7162  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tony gray
Wodonga - I'll be running 36 Fronts, 28 rears. Simple. Same as what I run most places.

Or... Maybe Ride Med front, Ride Soft rear. Easy!

BTW - AT the Vics earlier this year we were all traction rolling all over the place -Soultion? On our NiMh cars we added the bumper weights that we use for our Lipo cars - problem solved
I forgot to add that

AND maybe on saturday if i see you there i would mind if you have a quik look at to see what i can do....please
Drifting101 is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 01:53 AM
  #7163  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cannon
I notice in your sig that you have a 9551 servo in the Mini ... very fast !!!. I would still turn the steering exponential down .. by at least 25% to start with
I will probally halve it, atm it is WAY too fast almost exactley on time with the steering wheel
Drifting101 is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 12:44 AM
  #7164  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tony gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Just bringing this thread back to the front boys.

Was getting a little confusing with another one with the same name!
tony gray is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 04:18 AM
  #7165  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,156
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Guys,

I recently purchased a DX3 system (primarily to save a bit of cash).

Unfortunately as some of you may know you are unable to slow the servo speed down on these radios.

I can't stand having exponential on because I far prefer the linearity of knowing exactly where the wheels are so to speak.

I'm playing with an idea to slow the servos down, which I will report my findings on Sunday.

It's not a new idea but it may help some people.

Cheers

Ash
Ashley Cobb is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 03:25 PM
  #7166  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,799
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

How about installing a slower servo?
stitchy is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 03:34 PM
  #7167  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I use a cheap, tiny voltage regulator that brings the servo down to 5.1V:

http://www.align.com.tw/shop/product...oducts_id=2276
reenmachine is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 03:40 PM
  #7168  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Just recieved my Spice tires and inserts They feel quite grippy, I look foward to testing them out.
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 04:00 PM
  #7169  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,156
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stitchy
How about installing a slower servo?
Thing is, I can't use hitec servos in the mini (don't want to stuff around with finding the right servo saver) and I already had a couple of decent servos in the piitbox, so I can't really justify going and buying another one currently.

Originally Posted by reenmachine
I use a cheap, tiny voltage regulator that brings the servo down to 5.1V:

http://www.align.com.tw/shop/product...oducts_id=2276
This is similar to what I'm doing, it actually ends up running the servo at around 3-4 volts, and being digital, it still seems to have decent tourqe.
Ashley Cobb is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 07:24 PM
  #7170  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 93
Default

Hi.
want to get one of those.
so how it is for start?
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...=LXASX271&P=ML

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXTAT5&P=7


http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXTCJ9&P=7

how is it?anything else i need?

Bar.
Potter is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.