Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 06-29-2005, 08:54 AM
  #466  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
killingtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,658
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Slot! I need to get as much track time in under my belt as I can, especially if I'm racing against that Casey character
killingtime is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 08:58 AM
  #467  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

If I get my Mini to work I might have to pull double duty that race weekend. Need a few more things for the Mini and it will be ready. I could have it ready to run this weekend but I need some rims and tire inserts for sure and mini Tamiya prings would also be nice. No hurry as I will get the stuff soon.
wyd is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 09:28 AM
  #468  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
killingtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,658
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

WYD - I know HTUSA in GB has tires and rims in stock. I might be able to pick them up for you. If you're not in a hurry, you can call and reserve them fo rlater pick-up. LMK.
killingtime is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 10:52 AM
  #469  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Default

if you are looking for Tamiya cooper hop ups and tires. the best prices I have found is RCBOYZ. they have an ebay store and a website. I just wish I had sombody to race with here. I have my car all set up and nobody to play with. Now that I have 2 set up I will get my neighbor to play with me.
gpwpat is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 11:29 AM
  #470  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wyd
If I get my Mini to work I might have to pull double duty that race weekend. Need a few more things for the Mini and it will be ready. I could have it ready to run this weekend but I need some rims and tire inserts for sure and mini Tamiya prings would also be nice. No hurry as I will get the stuff soon.
Call hobbyworks in Rockville, MD.... They carry them or one of the other HW will have them. If need be, I can alosi pick them up for yee...
Nova F1 Racer is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 11:31 AM
  #471  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by killingtime
WYD - I know HTUSA in GB has tires and rims in stock. I might be able to pick them up for you. If you're not in a hurry, you can call and reserve them fo rlater pick-up. LMK.
Thanks Mike appreciate that. If it comes down to that I will let you know. Thanks again for the help.
wyd is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 11:32 AM
  #472  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nova F1 Racer
Call hobbyworks in Rockville, MD.... They carry them or one of the other HW will have them. If need be, I can alosi pick them up for yee...
Thanks I also appreciate your help to. I think I will give RCO a try one last time and see if she has anything in stock. Might roll down Friday since I'm off work.
wyd is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 05:23 PM
  #473  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

OK... I'm getting &%%&%)*^$#@#%^

I bought the Tamiya universals ( tamiya 53597 ) for my M03 and I can not get them to fit right.... They bind up in the out drives, even with out the rubber o-ring.....

WTF am I doing wrong here??????
Nova F1 Racer is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 05:50 AM
  #474  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

nm
MartynD is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 07:08 AM
  #475  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

think the drive cups are a different depth from the gear diff to the ball diff, but I forget which way





I thought so too I've tried it both ways and then using the ball diff and well as the stock bevel set... I spent close to 4 hours trying to figure this out..
I tried the following combos..

Stock steering arms, Tamiya universals, metal bearings, stock and ball diffs
Stock steering arm, Tamiya universals , plastic bushings, stock and ball diffs
metal arms, Tamiya universals, both types of bearing, stock and ball diffs

I broke one of my stock dogbones.....
Nova F1 Racer is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 03:16 PM
  #476  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
Jam-ehz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

There are different drive cups between the Manta Ray/TA03/Gear Diffs.. I have the TA03 diff, and the drive cups themselves are right up against the plastic of the gear case, give a mm or so... Is there a space in between yours? I remember seeing another ball diff kit with slightly longer drive cup shafts, and my LHS noted the difference in lengths before i bought the wrong one. Mine are shiny metal cups, and some others I've seen are had a kind of dusty-coated cup. Not sure if there was a difference with those or not...
Jam-ehz is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 04:28 PM
  #477  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jam-ehz
There are different drive cups between the Manta Ray/TA03/Gear Diffs.. I have the TA03 diff, and the drive cups themselves are right up against the plastic of the gear case, give a mm or so... Is there a space in between yours? I remember seeing another ball diff kit with slightly longer drive cup shafts, and my LHS noted the difference in lengths before i bought the wrong one. Mine are shiny metal cups, and some others I've seen are had a kind of dusty-coated cup. Not sure if there was a difference with those or not...
BINGO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The "longer" one with the stud is about 4mm away from the gear box....
I'll have to see if I can find the "shorter" version of the drive cups..
I have the Tamiya ball diff hop-up...


THX
Nova F1 Racer is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 08:50 PM
  #478  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jam-ehz
There are different drive cups between the Manta Ray/TA03/Gear Diffs.. I have the TA03 diff, and the drive cups themselves are right up against the plastic of the gear case, give a mm or so... Is there a space in between yours? I remember seeing another ball diff kit with slightly longer drive cup shafts, and my LHS noted the difference in lengths before i bought the wrong one. Mine are shiny metal cups, and some others I've seen are had a kind of dusty-coated cup. Not sure if there was a difference with those or not...
Have dremel, will modify one of the old drive cups....

AND it worked...... Well, I'll let you know tomorrow after racing....
Nova F1 Racer is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 05:40 AM
  #479  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nova F1 Racer
Have dremel, will modify one of the old drive cups....

AND it worked...... Well, I'll let you know tomorrow after racing....
Glad you got it fixed.
wyd is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 07:16 PM
  #480  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nova F1 Racer
Have dremel, will modify one of the old drive cups....

AND it worked...... Well, I'll let you know tomorrow after racing....
If it'd not one thing then it's another.... The "homemade" fixed worked great.. No problems with that..... BUT...

Servo, servo saver, wrong servo adapter.... Did I mention a problem with a servo today....

Loking forward to a testing session next Wednesday.....
Nova F1 Racer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.