Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 11-10-2015, 01:21 PM
  #26041  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by monkeyracing
If you're in an actual race and you're a contender, probably. I'm a crap racer and I can tell a good servo from a really[ good servo.
Yeah, I suppose. I should give it a try and see if I notice anything... why not, right?

Originally Posted by howardcano
That could be, if they are talking about the acceptable frame rate, which is normally much higher for a digital servo than an analog servo.

Or they could be talking about servo latency-- after all, the servo's microprocessor needs to measure the incoming pulse from the receiver, do some math, then drive the motor appropriately. That all takes time!
Hi Howard, I actually thought about asking you for your input when I questioned earlier. Thanks for the insight. So the signal coming out of the R614FS and R614FFE is analog? TX/RX is digital, then D/A out the RX and then back A/D going into the servo? I suppose in this case, latency can be a concern. For the most part, I am using a fast TX/RX combo so if there is latency, then it would be at the servo.. at the fast 60degree swing I am not sure if the speed of the servo's motor is the culprit or the conversion itself..
sakadachi is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 01:26 PM
  #26042  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Actually the RX and servo are probably digitally connected but the D/A to the servo motor is where the latency can differ..
I would need to hook up the servo's next to each other and compare response times.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 01:37 PM
  #26043  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,785
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CSeils
I think this has been asked before, but I can not locate the suggested fix.

While racing on carpet, I have an issue with the rear end of my M05 braking loose at the end of the straightaway going into a right hand turn sweeper. Would reducing the droop improve handling? Or would spring, oil, camber etc... correct this issue?

Rear -

S grip tires
Blue springs
50wt oil
Yellow roll bar
-3 camber
1.5 toe in

Front

S grips
Yellow spring
40wt oil
-2.5 camber
.5 toe out

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
I got confused reading the setup as you listed the rear first lol. I need more info, what diff, how is it setup? What droop do you currently have? I would guess that a lot of roll could be why your loosing the back end. On carpet, you shouldn't have a problem with S grips on the back, unless the car is lifting off the tires. This below helps cement the back end, while making the car turn hard in the corners.

Give this a try -

Diff - 3 racing gear diff, 500k oil

Front -
S grips - Full sauce
Red spring
35wt oil 3 hole piston
-1 camber
.5 toe out
.5mm droop

Rear -
S grip tires - Full Sauce
Yellow or white springs
35wt oil 3 hole piston
Hard roll bar
-2 to -2.5 camber You can go to -3 but start lower and find the sweet spot for the track
1.5 toe in
1mm droop

I run very similar setup to this, until the car starts to lift when I really throw it into a corner. I then ad a very small bead of CA, right at the outside edge of the tread on the front tires only. You may find the car will push now, but it should come back (try more camber if its still pushing) HTH
axle182 is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 03:44 PM
  #26044  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 2,345
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Cseils
What exactly do you mean by your rear is breaking loose?
Is the car spinning out, is it turning over etc...???
KA2AEV is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 04:14 PM
  #26045  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think in real-car lingo, he means the rear is stepping out when he lets off the throttle before the turn.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 04:54 PM
  #26046  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (54)
 
CSeils's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 890
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KA2AEV
Cseils
What exactly do you mean by your rear is breaking loose?
Is the car spinning out, is it turning over etc...???
I am at full throttle on the straight which leads to a medium right hand high speed turn which leads into the sweeper. The rear end loses traction half way through the turn. I am usually able to correct it before going all of the way around.
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya mini cooper-screen-shot-2015-11-10-6.50.46-pm.png  
CSeils is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 05:02 PM
  #26047  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (54)
 
CSeils's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 890
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sakadachi
I think in real-car lingo, he means the rear is stepping out when he lets off the throttle before the turn.
Usually steps out on throttle through the turn..
CSeils is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 05:12 PM
  #26048  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CSeils
Usually steps out on throttle through the turn..
True, but you get the point... since especially difficult to do on a FWD car.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 05:38 PM
  #26049  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Tamiya still hasn't released a Fall promo-code. Last year I probably bought 3-4 kits from them by now.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 06:44 PM
  #26050  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
(0000000000)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,180
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like you need to take away some front traction. I recommend super glue on the outside edge of the front tires.
(0000000000) is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 07:18 PM
  #26051  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 193
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CSeils
I am at full throttle on the straight which leads to a medium right hand high speed turn which leads into the sweeper. The rear end loses traction half way through the turn. I am usually able to correct it before going all of the way around.
Try one step harder front springs.
mariob62 is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 07:35 PM
  #26052  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (54)
 
CSeils's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 890
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by (0000000000)
Sounds like you need to take away some front traction. I recommend super glue on the outside edge of the front tires.
Did it
CSeils is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 07:39 PM
  #26053  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (54)
 
CSeils's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 890
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

I'm thinking the droop in the rear might be the issue. I checked the rear and I had a lot more there then I thought. I have 3mm droop in the rear, what do you run?
CSeils is offline  
Old 11-11-2015, 08:00 AM
  #26054  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
(0000000000)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,180
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

My droop was: 1 o-ring in the front shocks, no o-rings in the back shocks.

I just got back from a 3 day race, and my setup was similar to axle's. Soft in the front, hard in the back.

I ran 2 different sets of front tires. One set has CA just on the edge of the outter tread. The other had CA on the entire outter tread. By the time the mains were up, there was so much traction that it was necessary for me to run the tires with CA on the entire outter tread.
(0000000000) is offline  
Old 11-11-2015, 08:39 AM
  #26055  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 2,345
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CSeils
I'm thinking the droop in the rear might be the issue. I checked the rear and I had a lot more there then I thought. I have 3mm droop in the rear, what do you run?
I'm guessing this is a carpet surface?
Do you sauce your tires, since you already did the ca on your front treads...
If you do, to what extent?
KA2AEV is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.