Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 09-16-2015, 10:37 AM
  #25666  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bertrandsv87
Did you optimize the gtb3 setup for mini racing, and does the Vulcan have a 12.3mm rotor for more Rpms????? Timing cranked up yet???
One more thing I couldn't figure out was if the sensor cable was replaceable on the Vulcan motor. I pulled it pretty hard on the endbell but would not come loose. It came pre-mounted.

I wanted to use a shorter sensor cable on my V2.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 11:51 AM
  #25667  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 2,351
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sakadachi
One more thing I couldn't figure out was if the sensor cable was replaceable on the Vulcan motor. I pulled it pretty hard on the endbell but would not come loose. It came pre-mounted.

I wanted to use a shorter sensor cable on my V2.
Yes they are, just use caution that you don't damage the wires as you take it out
KA2AEV is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 11:54 AM
  #25668  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,769
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

That kick of torque is probably from the 12.5mm rotor... The 12.3mm rotor will be smoother with more top end.... You can also reduce your transmitter throttle EXPO to help with that....
You also should never pull the Vulcan sensor wire without taking out the back endbell first by unscrewing the three screws....
Originally Posted by sakadachi
I did set up the GTB3 per my other ESC's that I run on m-chassis. As for rotors, I've not changed it. The RPM at its factory 30 degrees is a tad slower than the Thunderpower's 20degrees, but it's not so much the speed that bothers me. It's the sudden kick in torque around 25-35% throttle coming out of corners. It was horrible on the Sonic, the Vulcan is better. I think on a 4WD car it would work just fine.
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 12:15 PM
  #25669  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 187
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rccartips
Just got back from the 2015 Tamiya Asia Cup held in Singapore. Sadly finished only 4th overall.

Here is A3, my car is the pacman, 3rd on the grid.

Time to retire
Where are you getting the yellow and orange wheels? I have seen them listed, but nobdy has them in stock? Any leads?
aclark092 is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 01:12 PM
  #25670  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KA2AEV
Yes they are, just use caution that you don't damage the wires as you take it out
Cool, thanks. I will take a look.

Originally Posted by bertrandsv87
That kick of torque is probably from the 12.5mm rotor... The 12.3mm rotor will be smoother with more top end.... You can also reduce your transmitter throttle EXPO to help with that....
You also should never pull the Vulcan sensor wire without taking out the back endbell first by unscrewing the three screws....
Thanks. Yeah, the throttle Expo is set on my radio side, it's smoother but not real smooth like the Thunderpower motors. I bet the Thunderpowers come with the 12.3mm you mentioned.

Noted on taking off the endbell first before pulling the sensor cable.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 02:08 PM
  #25671  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,602
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default NOVAK Vulcan sensor wire installation?

loosen the three screws that set/lock the timing-ring on the NOVAK motors... Then it should be a lot easier to get the sensor connector out.. They have quite a rubber seal around the area and it really keep the dirt out and the connector in...
OSherman is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 02:11 PM
  #25672  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, Osherman. bert confirmed that too. I will give that a shot tonight.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 02:13 PM
  #25673  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
eR1c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,479
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Where are you getting the yellow and orange wheels? I have seen them listed, but nobdy has them in stock? Any leads?
Where are they listed? I've never seen those! -I assume they are TCS legal (since you ran them at the king of all TCS events)!

Great race Osherman, -wow, such consistent driving. That must have been a great experience to get a ticket to Singapore for the world TCS event.
eR1c is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 02:35 PM
  #25674  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,602
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by eR1c
Where are they listed? I've never seen those! -I assume they are TCS legal (since you ran them at the king of all TCS events)!

Great race Osherman, -wow, such consistent driving. That must have been a great experience to get a ticket to Singapore for the world TCS event.

World Finals are in Japan.

But yes, it was a great thrill to win... really hasnt sunk in yet. guess we will see in two-months time.

will start building j-car this weekend
OSherman is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 02:39 PM
  #25675  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
eR1c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,479
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

World Finals are in Japan.
You know I originally thought that, and know that Tamiya is Japanese ..yet I could have sworn that I heard or saw something in the video that said Singapore. BUT, you were there! -so what the heck do I know?!

My bad, ...none the less, I am in awe!
eR1c is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 02:45 PM
  #25676  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,602
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Technically every region has their own Finals.. lol

And i remember seeing something about Singapore Worlds that already happened too.

you are not alone
OSherman is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 04:18 PM
  #25677  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,908
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by OSherman
Technically every region has their own Finals.. lol

And i remember seeing something about Singapore Worlds that already happened too.

you are not alone
Get on that Passport processing if you aint got one already.

Mine was a fiasco!

For what it's worth, Washington D.C. (birthplace) has nothing to do with the State of Maryland where it lies within but no one bothered to notify me after I applied til it was literally past Tamiya's deadline.

Fred Medel will always be my hero as he beared with me while I sweated it out.

Gonna love it Mr. O!
F N CUDA is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 05:41 PM
  #25678  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 187
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by eR1c
Where are they listed? I've never seen those! -I assume they are TCS legal (since you ran them at the king of all TCS events)!

Great race Osherman, -wow, such consistent driving. That must have been a great experience to get a ticket to Singapore for the world TCS event.
If I am reading TCS rules right, you have to use the pre-glued right? Here are the part numbers. They say discontinued on the Tamiya website, but I have seen a few people around with new sets.

49470 M-Chassis 11-Spoke Wheels - 4pcs Fluorescent Orange
49469 M-Chassis 11-Spoke Wheels - 4pcs Fluorescent Yellow

http://www.stellamodels.com.hk/49469...ow-p-3097.html

http://banzaihobby.com/Tamiya-49470
aclark092 is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 08:32 PM
  #25679  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I got the sensor cable replaced on the Vulcan motor. Replaced the GTB3 to Hobbywing JustStock as the GTB3 was kind of huge for the chassis and heavy.
I'm not sure how much cleaner I can make the wiring on this chassis unless I start cutting the servo cables.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/members/...-v2-latest.jpg

The car plows under throttle, I need to fix this ASAP. It is a night and day difference going the wrong direction vs my SabreFD Mini.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 09-17-2015, 08:23 AM
  #25680  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,602
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by F N CUDA
Get on that Passport processing if you aint got one already.

Mine was a fiasco!

For what it's worth, Washington D.C. (birthplace) has nothing to do with the State of Maryland where it lies within but no one bothered to notify me after I applied til it was literally past Tamiya's deadline.

Fred Medel will always be my hero as he beared with me while I sweated it out.

Gonna love it Mr. O!
My passport has been waiting/sitting in my sock-drawer for this occasion literally for the last 2 years..
OSherman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.