Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 08-22-2015, 02:52 PM
  #25426  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Figured out how to make the M01 track straight including on/off throttle.

Extended arm on bell crank to give it that extra torque:


Angled to provide full lock:


Rear right droop screw (the suspension works like a seesaw so limited the height on right side to raise the left).
sakadachi is offline  
Old 08-22-2015, 03:47 PM
  #25427  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 290
Default

This is a question for those use the 3Racing Gear oil Diff. Can you buy replacement outdrives? I can't find any.

Mine have become heaps worn and its chewing up the plastic driveshaft caps.

Edit,
Found these. I think they are right.
http://www.rcmart.com/3racing-heavy-...h=595_744_1494
filippimini is offline  
Old 08-22-2015, 03:55 PM
  #25428  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
c-lyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,761
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Yes, those.
c-lyon is offline  
Old 08-22-2015, 04:31 PM
  #25429  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Won't need to use blades with those ones, either.
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 08-22-2015, 04:34 PM
  #25430  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 290
Default

Originally Posted by monkeyracing
Won't need to use blades with those ones, either.
Awesome. I've put them in my cart.
filippimini is offline  
Old 08-22-2015, 11:20 PM
  #25431  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, its been a while since I've run 55d tires. Back when I used to swap between 55d and 60d tires, I never really messed with building my shocks to a specific length. In fact, I probably built as per the manual, save for an o-ring under the piston and one on the shaft, below the shock body. What I'm wondering is if anyone running 55d tires builds to a specific length. If so, can I assume it's around 56-57mm, as opposed to the usual 54-55mm used when running 60d tires?

Jim
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 08-23-2015, 03:54 AM
  #25432  
Tech Regular
 
Tim K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 297
Default

Yep, you're bang on the money. I set mine to 56.5mm.
Tim K is offline  
Old 08-23-2015, 05:08 AM
  #25433  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I don't. My M05 runs both tire sizes. No issue.

Gotta love the 55's. I wish there were more tires in this size

http://www.rctech.net/forum/members/...5-low-down.jpg

Last edited by sakadachi; 08-23-2015 at 06:19 AM.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 08-23-2015, 09:19 AM
  #25434  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
(0000000000)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,180
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Not running s-grips anymore Jim?
(0000000000) is offline  
Old 08-23-2015, 03:44 PM
  #25435  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I'll be running S Grips at some point, like, when I've got money to buy some.. Just feel like playing with 55s for now, seeing as I have some. Edmonton decimated my last good 60s.

So, I did find a big difference in length between my old, bronze coloured TRF shocks and my newer 54000(?) shocks with replacement piston rods. The old ones measure 61mm end to end, the newer ones, 57mm. Same size shock bodies, different shafts.

I used to hate shock rebuild day, but ever since Bob told us about venting the shock cap, life has been a little easier. Thanks, Granpa!
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 08-23-2015, 05:28 PM
  #25436  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
hprt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sakadachi
I don't. My M05 runs both tire sizes. No issue.

Gotta love the 55's. I wish there were more tires in this size

http://www.rctech.net/forum/members/...5-low-down.jpg
The issue is ride height/ground clearance. From some of your earlier posts, it sounds like you run lots of ground clearance...

If you have run 60D tires normally, and you have your ride height set to the minimum - be it regulated by a race director or what works well at the track you run, when you switch to tires that are 2.5mm shorter in sidewall, then you need to extend the shock length to get the minimum ride height back. For practically all M chassis, you set the ride height using the threaded shock collars / spring length and set the droop using spacers in the shock to control or limit the overall shock length.

If you never run at minimum ride heights with proper droop for medium traction, then you probably never noticed this problem. for those of us that do, when you switch from 60D to 55D's, your chassis is scraping the ground. I normally only run about 3mm of ground clearance on my race minis, so taking away 2.5mm of clearance doesn't work.
hprt is offline  
Old 08-23-2015, 05:30 PM
  #25437  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

My other non-M01 cars besides my low riding M05 would scrape with 55's.


EDIT: No one wants a used Genetic?
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...ller-only.html

Not for me, as I won't be able to mount the rear posts for the Tamiya Rover Mini body.

I should be getting my Sabre4WD Mini today or tomorrow. First thing I need to do is copy the rear body post hole locations from my SabreFD Mini and verify that I can drill 4 holes.

Last edited by sakadachi; 08-24-2015 at 09:53 AM.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 08-24-2015, 09:54 AM
  #25438  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Which servo would you run in m05 with V2 rear end with big bore shocks? im using spektrum DX2s radio set.

I currently got those servo
Savox 1251mg 0.09 @ 6v (dont like this servo, too glitchy, currently stripped gear)
Hitec 5645 servo 0.18 @ 6v sec servo
Futaba BLS352 0.15 @ 6 (currently fitted to my 4wd buggy)

I have the option to buy futaba S9550 low profile which is 0.09 @ 6v

So what spec servo is "too fast" for mini. (sudden change of directions which can cause loss of the grip, causing it to understeer)

Which servo I should run?
Vrooom is offline  
Old 08-24-2015, 09:58 AM
  #25439  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,354
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I read your post while I was finishing up a meeting. Didn't realize you were asking which servo's to prevent understeer (not oversteer/twichy-ness) from too much speed.

Here is an edit..
I run 0.09sec/60 degrees full turn/return speed. No issue with under or over steer. I think you need to setup your car so that you have more rake in your case, reduce toe-out, stand your front dampers more (add damper stays), soften front suspension, add more offset in the front wheels, use less toe-in on the rear, etc.

Last edited by sakadachi; 08-24-2015 at 11:02 AM.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 08-24-2015, 10:27 AM
  #25440  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
(0000000000)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,180
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

With the servos you mentioned, there shouldn't be an issue with being too fast that it induces understeer. If the car is too twitchy, then oversteer is the culprit and can be tuned to your comfort level of driving.

What is your current setup and track condition?
(0000000000) is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.