Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 02-06-2013, 09:42 AM
  #18361  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (33)
 
irockflipflops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Radi0Flyer
Yeah but he does have a TA03.

I like my Minis but I love my TA03.



Sean
And thanks for the support Sean! lol
irockflipflops is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 12:49 PM
  #18362  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tony gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,549
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by muahdib4
I love that site. Used it a lot for my M03. Too bad he's not updating it anymore though he does have a Facebook page that I follow.
It will live again....there just isn't much happening. We've already covered basic set-up/build for 03/05's and there isn't much new in the Mini world to update the site with.

Mini Nats is on in a couple of months and we will cover that. New releases of stuff we cover on the FB page.
tony gray is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 01:28 PM
  #18363  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, but Facebook blows chunks. Time for a dummy account.
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 04:37 PM
  #18364  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by monkeyracing
Yeah, but Facebook blows chunks.
Correct.

Originally Posted by monkeyracing
Time for a dummy account.
Incorrect. It just pumps the numbers which is self-defeating.
djmcnz is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 04:14 PM
  #18365  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (13)
 
whiteflagwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know of spec-r arms that are actually in stock anywhere? They are sold out everywhere I've looked.
whiteflagwar is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 04:56 PM
  #18366  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

...
samsking is offline  
Old 02-10-2013, 04:01 AM
  #18367  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
MiTaller-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Hi,
What size of bearing need for Gear diff?? 15x10x5 ? Where can find it?

Thanks
MiTaller-RC is offline  
Old 02-10-2013, 06:52 AM
  #18368  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,441
Default

Originally Posted by MiTaller-RC
Hi,
What size of bearing need for Gear diff?? 15x10x5 ? Where can find it?

Thanks
They are 10x15x4 (assuming you are talking about the 3Racing diff), a common RC size.
sosidge is offline  
Old 02-10-2013, 11:21 AM
  #18369  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Need some help here. Finally got the bearing set for my M05 and was able to get the chassis apart and put all the bearings in. My question is now how do you properly set the pinion/spur mesh as it seems the only way to mount the motor back on is to assemble the chassis again and then do it blindly. Please tell me there's an easier way.
MoralThreat is offline  
Old 02-10-2013, 12:36 PM
  #18370  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
fresnojay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clovis CA
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I personally with chassis together used a piece of piano wire stuck the wire into the drive train hole and marked it to the depth to the outside of the spur to the inside of the motor plate. Then it gives you a good reference and is generally spot on.

Jason
fresnojay is offline  
Old 02-10-2013, 01:13 PM
  #18371  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Originally Posted by MoralThreat
Need some help here. Finally got the bearing set for my M05 and was able to get the chassis apart and put all the bearings in. My question is now how do you properly set the pinion/spur mesh as it seems the only way to mount the motor back on is to assemble the chassis again and then do it blindly. Please tell me there's an easier way.
Originally Posted by fresnojay
I personally with chassis together used a piece of piano wire stuck the wire into the drive train hole and marked it to the depth to the outside of the spur to the inside of the motor plate. Then it gives you a good reference and is generally spot on.

Jason
When all else fails, read the instructions. Remember the little plastic cup with the slot in the side???? That's what you use to set your pinion. There is a specific instruction in your manual that shows you haw to mount the pinion.

The motor plate can be a problem if it rotates on the motor when you're installing it cause the holes then won't line up. Use a 3mm machine screw that is at least 30mm in length and remove the head. Put on the motor plate, then thread in the screw one or so turns. Line the screw up in the chassis and seat the motor. Install the other motor screw, then remove the screw without the head (it should be long enough to grab and turn) then install a motor screw. The screw without the head should keep the motor plate from rotating and will align the motor for you also.

The other alternative is to use the aluminum motor mount and leave out the motor plate.
Granpa is offline  
Old 02-10-2013, 01:39 PM
  #18372  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,441
Default

If you want to use the fibreglass motor washer, just use a dab of thick grease to keep it in place when you put the motor in.
sosidge is offline  
Old 02-10-2013, 07:13 PM
  #18373  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Originally Posted by Granpa
When all else fails, read the instructions.
I did. This is an RTR car so of course the instructions aren't as detailed as with a kit, but even the exploded view isn't that helpful. I've built kits before, but this one is just different. I'll figure it out eventually. Half the fun of RC is the maintenance. Well at least for me anyways. Thanks for the input.
MoralThreat is offline  
Old 02-10-2013, 08:15 PM
  #18374  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Originally Posted by MoralThreat
I did. This is an RTR car so of course the instructions aren't as detailed as with a kit, but even the exploded view isn't that helpful. I've built kits before, but this one is just different. I'll figure it out eventually. Half the fun of RC is the maintenance. Well at least for me anyways. Thanks for the input.
Haven't done this in awhile, so don't know if you can still do this. At one time you could go to the Tamiya website and download the manuals.
Granpa is offline  
Old 02-10-2013, 08:27 PM
  #18375  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hell yeah! Tamiya's compiled all the good stuff on one page for us. It's a good resource.
monkeyracing is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.