Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 01-09-2012, 09:04 AM
  #16471  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
mark.davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hanover Park, IL
Posts: 1,344
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default 3racing ball diff

anyone else have issues with slop in the 3 racing ball diff (pn m05-17/ht) with an m05? i put it in and it has a lot of play side to side - about 1-2mm. do you have to shim it?

i didn't feel like taking it apart again at the moment so i ended up putting four o rings inside each outdrive just to keep the dog bones from popping out on the axle side.
mark.davis is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 09:30 AM
  #16472  
Tech Master
iTrader: (112)
 
dag32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,648
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Pardon the interruption but I have a Tamiya M03 for sale click here.

dag32 is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 09:01 PM
  #16473  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I got a couple of the IP 3800 lipos and noticed a small issue. The battery sockets are kind of close together. The standard M03 battery holder is a teeny bit wider, making plugging in tricky. What's the go to solution for this?
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 09:08 PM
  #16474  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (35)
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by monkeyracing
I got a couple of the IP 3800 lipos and noticed a small issue. The battery sockets are kind of close together. The standard M03 battery holder is a teeny bit wider, making plugging in tricky. What's the go to solution for this?
Tape your lipos in the M03. That way no end battery holder and easy to plug in
cannon is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 01:28 AM
  #16475  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
Benzaah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default

Does anyone put spacers on the shock shaft to limit travel on the shock and in effect make droop adjustments to the car?
Benzaah is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 01:38 AM
  #16476  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (38)
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,422
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Only if you are using the long TRF shocks. On the Mini TRF shocks built as per instructions.

Later,

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 02:39 AM
  #16477  
Tech Adept
 
Monkeys punk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
Default

Originally Posted by caltek1
Only if you are using the long TRF shocks. On the Mini TRF shocks built as per instructions.

Later,

Calvin.
What about with the 3 racing mini shocks. Is it worth putting any in them for carpet racing. I have noticed it has limited my ride hight a bit.
Monkeys punk is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 03:43 AM
  #16478  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (38)
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,422
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

What about with the 3 racing mini shocks. Is it worth putting any in them for carpet racing. I have noticed it has limited my ride hight a bit.
I don't know the answer to that as I have only used the Tamiya TRF shocks, (both mini size and full size).

The 3Racing shocks come in different lengths and what works on the TRF shocks should be similar on these also. The choice of tyre you will use will determine how much droop you consider to use.

As I said I build the TRF mini shocks out of the box and tune with tyres, springs and ride height. I do not change my shocks when I run on carpet or asphelt, only change the tyres and sometimes the springs.

For me, due to the fact we do not run a control tyre, playing with the shocks is not that important. I have base setup that works on the majority of the tracks that I run at. I have changed oil weights only when really required, but normally as a last resort.

We can also run 60mm front tyres with 55mm rear tyres here, so our setups would differ from some countries whose mini rules are different.

Later,

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 03:54 AM
  #16479  
Tech Regular
 
Tim K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 297
Default

Originally Posted by monkeyracing
I got a couple of the IP 3800 lipos and noticed a small issue. The battery sockets are kind of close together. The standard M03 battery holder is a teeny bit wider, making plugging in tricky. What's the go to solution for this?
You can solder your wires at right angles to the corally pins, that way they will fit under the end battery clips without any problem.
Tim K is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 03:59 AM
  #16480  
Tech Adept
 
Monkeys punk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
Default

Cool thanks for the advise mate. I have a few hop ups on and am thinking of going back to kit to try and weed out the issues.
Monkeys punk is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 04:01 AM
  #16481  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 163
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

^^^^
what tim said!

use the plugs that come with the ip3800 and solder with the wire at 90 deg(in the little slot)

and the wire will even sit inside the MO5 battery holders

cheers
a
ado1974 is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 10:14 AM
  #16482  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tim K
You can solder your wires at right angles to the corally pins, that way they will fit under the end battery clips without any problem.
Good call. Our mini class is somewhat...physically interactive...and I've lost a hard cased lipo already this year. This should be relatively easy to do with the 14ga wire I've got hanging around.

Jim
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 11:25 AM
  #16483  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
superspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,168
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ado1974
^^^^
what tim said!

use the plugs that come with the ip3800 and solder with the wire at 90 deg(in the little slot)

and the wire will even sit inside the MO5 battery holders

cheers
a
Can you post a pic? I don't see how lipo batt with bullet style terminals work with stock m05 batt hold down unless I drilled two holes
superspeed is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 01:01 PM
  #16484  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 83
Default

Quick relaese battery holder. will that fit on M05??
Vrooom is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 01:37 PM
  #16485  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 163
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by superspeed
Can you post a pic? I don't see how lipo batt with bullet style terminals work with stock m05 batt hold down unless I drilled two holes
it works fine.
not as easy to remove connectors from battery.... but it is all safely tucked away
i use the MO5 battery holders on my MO3 velo mini as well.
the holders are attached to the MO3 "wings" using standard mini motor mounting screws!

cheers
a
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya mini cooper-dsc00157.jpg   Tamiya mini cooper-dsc00159.jpg   Tamiya mini cooper-dsc00160.jpg  
ado1974 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.