Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 01-03-2012, 10:59 AM
  #16381  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
superspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,168
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Try changing one thing in the setup at a time. Manta Ray ball diff (TA02) didn't work as well as TA03 ball diff. I have a M05 ball diff but yet to try it. By the way, the Honda CRX body is a nice addition to the fleet of M chassis bodies.
superspeed is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 11:02 AM
  #16382  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
superspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,168
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default new release kits

Renault turbo:
http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/ite...oduct-id=84227

Nissian S15
http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/ite...oduct-id=84267

I remember seeing lots of 1/10 Silvia bodies in the past. Is the real car pretty small? Does anyone think it looks weird on m-chassis or it's more scale this way?
superspeed is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 04:37 PM
  #16383  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Mr RCTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,336
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by caltek1
TFG,

You can make the square batteries fit a MO5, if your allowed to modify the chassis. Happens all the time in Thailand.

I know it is not kosher for USA TCS racing or here in Australia, but is legal for Asia.

Later,

Calvin.
I did that on my M03.
I have some killer lipos but there all hard squared packs.

I have the new M05 and I'm thinking of doing it.
Mr RCTech is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 08:24 PM
  #16384  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
dirtman71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 314
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mr RCTech
I did that on my M03.
I have some killer lipos but there all hard squared packs.

I have the new M05 and I'm thinking of doing it.
So what do you need to do to the chasis to fit the square packs. that is thee one thing that is holding me back from getting one

I am thinking a dremil is all I would have to do to the chasis and velcro straps at the ends?
dirtman71 is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 09:09 PM
  #16385  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Really? You'd hack up a chassis rather than popping $13 for a new battery? (hobbypartz, gens ace 2400mah packs)

I don't mean to criticize, but I value my car's structural integrity.

Jom
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 10:00 PM
  #16386  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (38)
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,422
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Jim/Jom,

You only need to square the edges of the battery hole, top and bottom to make a larger capacity, higher C rated battery fit. It may actually give the chassis a little more flex and added stability with the battery being heavier.

A new MO5 chassis parts is not really that expensive. Also in Thailand they race open mini, with most using a 10.5 BL boosted system with speed gear sets, so extra voltage etc is better.

Remember not all play to our rules. It is a diverse mini racing playground.

For this years TITC we are all using speed gear sets, with a max 24 tooth pinion, fixed time 17.5 motor and Critix SP ESC. About as fast as our 13T BL hobbywing setups, however the system is less demanding on the cars. The power is more evenly spread than the sudden torque of the HW systems. Weight limit 1200 gms. So some highly dremeled chassis do and will make it to the racetrack.

later,

Calvin.

Last edited by caltek1; 01-03-2012 at 10:11 PM. Reason: added text
caltek1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 10:22 PM
  #16387  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Domn, I mean damn! Stupid tiny keyboard on my iPhine always gets me.

Jim
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 10:29 PM
  #16388  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (38)
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,422
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Jim,

I suppose its not as bad as auto correct. What's a IPhine??????

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 06:22 AM
  #16389  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
dirtman71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 314
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I realy dont want to cut up the chasis. I still need to see what they are running. I know that they are trying to keep all the cars as equal as posible so running a 2s might not work. will probably have to pick up some NiMh...is 2400 enough? is 5000 to heavy?

looking for shocks....how are these?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hot-Racing-T...item23175d9a9c
dirtman71 is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 06:31 AM
  #16390  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
mark.davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hanover Park, IL
Posts: 1,344
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

what is the best esc to use with a silver can motor? looking for something to advance timing or add boost. will a tekin rs have any adjustments to help me keep up with the others in the straights? one fast guy said his secret was a gm vr8 esc.
mark.davis is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 06:34 AM
  #16391  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: new milford ct
Posts: 1,688
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

there's no such thing as a brushed motor esc that has timing and boost, thats only for brushless. some brushless esc's can run a brushed motor but those features do not work with the brushed motor.

honestly the tamiya esc is just fine for the brushed silver can motor.
kaiser is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 09:26 AM
  #16392  
Tech Regular
 
marcos graveyar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Newtownforbes, Ireland
Posts: 253
Default

Originally Posted by dirtman71
will probably have to pick up some NiMh...is 2400 enough? is 5000 to heavy?
I race an M05 on carpet, 5 min races with black/silver can motor and a Tamiya TEU101-BK. Never had a problem with 2400's , I use 3 sets, each set does a heat and a final. Charged with a Pro-Trak to 40.
marcos graveyar is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 09:59 AM
  #16393  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,305
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I was running 12-15 mins at time on 2400s last night. (Orca 2200kv BL system)

What's a GM VR8 esc?

Jim
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 10:36 AM
  #16394  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 83
Default

What are the diameter of tamiya tuned short spring??? as im hoping those will fit on 3racing shocks on my m05.
Vrooom is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 01:39 PM
  #16395  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Mr RCTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,336
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by monkeyracing
Really? You'd hack up a chassis rather than popping $13 for a new battery? (hobbypartz, gens ace 2400mah packs)

I don't mean to criticize, but I value my car's structural integrity.

Jom
I use a hot soldering iron, just lightly on the corners.
It doesn't change the chassis integrity of the plastic.

As far as the lipo battery pack, we use 70 C 4000 Mah 7.4 volt.
For two reasons, power and weight.

The hobbypartz, gens ace 2400mah packs doesn't have the punch or speed.
Mr RCTech is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.