R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2008, 12:06 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,702
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Did you check your suspension arm shafts like Max mentioned ? If one side is bent, car will spin out easy. Also, check your axles. Bent axle = easy spin. Especially if you are runing the Tamiya aluminum axles. When they bend, your car will spin out with a silver can in it.
Kevin CBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 12:33 AM   #17
Tech Adept
 
fadzli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 222
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default tweak

what happen if the chasis is tweaked? can it be repaired? or bent? or twisted? to original shape?
__________________
Do Not Follow Where The Path May Lead. Go Instead Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail.
fadzli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 12:50 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,054
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ive ran a 415ms .. had the same problem .. found that the axcel lft rear was binding due to the wheel nut being too tight . and also found the out out drive bearings locking up . due to just me being too lazy to clean and lube them ..
__________________
Mark Barden .
mb racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 12:54 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,054
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fadzli View Post
what happen if the chasis is tweaked? can it be repaired? or bent? or twisted? to original shape?
you can take the tires off the car .. loosen up all the top deck screws and make sure the chassis is sitting flat on your pit board then tighten the screws down while having a race bud push down on the shock towers as you tighten them up ...
__________________
Mark Barden .
mb racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 03:08 AM   #20
Tech Adept
 
fadzli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 222
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default tweak

how bad can a chasis tweak? what is the worst condition? any experience?
__________________
Do Not Follow Where The Path May Lead. Go Instead Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail.
fadzli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 10:04 PM   #21
Tech Adept
 
16skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 195
Default

Hi it was the first day of racing today, car was still spinning so I swapped it to my other trf415 which was running fine in stock. left everything pretty much the same, and just changed the motors over and guess what the bloody car does the same thing spins on right hand corners. So is it the car trf415? car can't handly the torque. I am at a big loss no matter which trf415 I put the novak 4.5 in it will spin on right hand corners. Does anyone else have the answer to this?
16skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 10:17 PM   #22
Tech Regular
 
bigbutstupid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Asia
Posts: 454
Default

check front toe and steering throw.
make sure they are the same left and right.
i usually put 1deg positive front toe. also check your servo turning rate is same left and right.
is it just a particular right corner or is it all right corners?
tried a slower motor yet? are you breaking well before a corner and just before turning?
if cant solve spining problem.. just ask hobby shop or ppl at the track, its easier to diagnose the problem there rather than over the net.
all da best

Edit: if too much steering throw, reduce it... and if its too little steering, perhaps increase front droop.
bigbutstupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 10:22 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Might have to much steering throw as said

My cyclone will do the same thing if I have to much throw (dual rate)
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:00 PM   #24
Tech Adept
 
16skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 195
Default

It is all right hand corners it is if the motor has to much torque and spins when coming out of a right hand corner. Both cars run with different controllers so I had two controls that I have tried and two trf415 cars and yet it does tha=e same thing in both cars can't a trf415 standard handle it?
16skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:00 PM   #25
Tech Adept
 
16skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 195
Default

It is all right hand corners it is if the motor has to much torque and spins when coming out of a right hand corner. Both cars run with different controllers so I had two controls that I have tried and two trf415 cars and yet it does tha=e same thing in both cars can't a trf415 standard handle it?
16skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:00 PM   #26
Tech Adept
 
16skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 195
Default

It is all right hand corners it is if the motor has to much torque and spins when coming out of a right hand corner. Both cars run with different controllers so I had two controls that I have tried and two trf415 cars and yet it does tha=e same thing in both cars can't a trf415 standard handle it?
16skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 11:48 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,054
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey are you by chance running LIPO"s .. if you are make sure you re balance your cars .. Lipos are very light weight . . and can cause un even balace left to right .. causing spin outs ... just a thought ..
__________________
Mark Barden .
mb racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 12:00 AM   #28
Tech Regular
 
bigbutstupid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Asia
Posts: 454
Default

im pretty sure the car can handle it. if the car can't handle it, then why is the car turning alright on the left? does the car do the same size diameter of figure eight on the track?
bigbutstupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 12:51 AM   #29
Tech Adept
 
16skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 195
Default

What I can't understand when I changed the two cars around, (the car that was mod was now running in stock ) it was fine all day didn't spin once so why would it do it in mod and not stock?

Also I am only running 4200 intellects.
16skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:58 AM   #30
Tech Regular
 
bigbutstupid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Asia
Posts: 454
Default

thats definately the settings then.
settings just sufficient for stock motor cannot be used efficiently on a mod motor, thats true. i change my car settings even when racing stock motor and 19t motor.

btw, is it spining just before the corner, or just after you throtter in mid corner/exiting corner?
bigbutstupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trf415 lazydragon Electric On-Road 9 04-12-2005 03:06 AM
TC3 or TRF415 vi3tishduy Electric On-Road 21 09-27-2004 07:50 PM
Trf415 Nib jbrosche R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 09-10-2004 01:31 AM
TRF415 Set up Help xxGANDALFxx Electric On-Road 2 08-09-2004 05:52 PM
TRF415 Set up Help xxGANDALFxx Electric On-Road 2 08-09-2004 01:38 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:08 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net