Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Foam Tires on Asphalt Setup? TC5

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2008, 03:22 PM
Tech Adept

Questions?? Foam Tires on Asphalt Setup? TC5

I'm trying to get my TC5 setup with foam tires/asphalt for the track we have here in Las Vegas. It is prepped regularly and I just made the switch to foam (what a difference!). Before I switched tires I was using Ryan Cavalieri's setup sheet (Reedyrace 2007) for rubber/asphalt, but with the foam I'm guessing I can get a lot more out of my TC with a different suspension setup. Right now I'm using copper springs in the front and silver in the rear, with Jaco Prism dbl pink/orange fronts and lilac rears. If anyone can give me some tips (springs, oil, droop, etc) I'd really appreciate it! I'm new to on-road cars and haven't had any luck finding any setup info. Thanks in advance!
Old 01-09-2008, 06:26 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Jamie007
I'm trying to get my TC5 setup with foam tires/asphalt for the track we have here in Las Vegas. It is prepped regularly and I just made the switch to foam (what a difference!). Before I switched tires I was using Ryan Cavalieri's setup sheet (Reedyrace 2007) for rubber/asphalt, but with the foam I'm guessing I can get a lot more out of my TC with a different suspension setup. Right now I'm using copper springs in the front and silver in the rear, with Jaco Prism dbl pink/orange fronts and lilac rears. If anyone can give me some tips (springs, oil, droop, etc) I'd really appreciate it! I'm new to on-road cars and haven't had any luck finding any setup info. Thanks in advance!
Good luck with that no one runs foam on asphalt in a serious fashion...at least here in the US. They ran faom outdoors in the North East years ago but went back to rubber tires. Foams wear fast and you really have to keep up with gear ratio, ride height, droop and camber settings as the tires wear.

Even die hard foam carpet guys are switching to rubber tires.