U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing >

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing

Like Tree1Likes

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing

Old 09-18-2009, 02:14 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Kevin K
John....set the timing to #3 on the setting box....thats what me and rob found is comparable to LRP SPX #1 and Tekin at 10deg with no boost.....with 5.5 FDR
Done!

Originally Posted by robk
In the most recent testing, we just cranked motor timing as we assumed everyone would do this anyway. Also, it is available to everyone.

Reduced motor timing seems to work better when boost and/or a lot of speedo timing comes into play. At 10* on the speedo, max was just fine.
and Done!

Now I can end 'take your RC car collection to work day' and drive home!

Thanks again to both of you.

Last edited by liljohn1064; 09-18-2009 at 02:26 PM.
Old 09-18-2009, 02:25 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

Originally Posted by redmike76
Sorry for the questions, but I'm still very new to all this. Specifically, I'm running a Sphere TC set at setting #4, and physical timing is at factory 0. Should I adjust the physical motor timing one way or the other, and for that matter is setting 4 around where I should be? It's a pretty short and technical track.

Thanks again.
Based on what we found testing, I would go with the lower timing for a shorter track. Easiest thing to do is watch lap times. Our cars were physically slower down the straight at lower timing and numerically higher ratios, but the lap times were the same or even a tic faster at times.
Old 09-18-2009, 02:31 PM
Tech Champion

I also have been thinking about this for a while, and I'm going to add it to the rules-"All cars must have a driver figure consisting of at least the head and shoulders".