R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2011, 03:08 PM   #10891
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 289
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squarehead View Post
I have said this before, and I will say it again, I have never seen nor heard of a separate bumper piece coming off of a car that had been properly bolted onto the body. Never.

The new Protoform uses a bolt-on front bumper (for proper body lines and proportions on most cars, you need at least one end pulled separately), which is a nice touch to give you the opportunity to get a little more use out of your body when the front end inevitably gets damaged.

If I would have had a spare front end for this HPI 'Cuda, I wouldn't have had to throw it away after the Nationals a couple of years ago...
It's just a flesh wound.
woodys3b is offline  
Old 03-11-2011, 03:53 PM   #10892
Tech Elite
 
squarehead's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wheaton, Illinois
Posts: 4,211
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to squarehead Send a message via MSN to squarehead Send a message via Yahoo to squarehead Send a message via Skype™ to squarehead
Default

That's what happens when my hired team driver for the weekend is rusty behind the wheel.
__________________
Everything depends.
Nothing is always.
Everything is sometimes.
squarehead is offline  
Old 03-11-2011, 05:30 PM   #10893
Tech Regular
 
Transamman25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 415
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys,

From your experience... who seems to have the all VTA bodies in stock for a decent price ?
__________________
Team AE FT SC10,GTB2,Speed passion 4.5 Brushless,Futaba 9551
Team AE FT RC10GT2, because who doesn't miss the whine?
Just because you are a tool does not make you a mechanic.
Transamman25 is offline  
Old 03-11-2011, 06:19 PM   #10894
Tech Master
 
Three's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Madphis, Tn.
Posts: 1,456
Default

Transamman25 you have a PM.
__________________
Electric good..........
Three is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 09:04 AM   #10895
Tech Regular
 
PadrinoNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PadrinoNY Send a message via Yahoo to PadrinoNY
Default

Hey guys! Question I am planning to start getting into VTA at the local club and it seems that everyone and there momma has a tc3 setup for vta. I am very familiar with the sprint 2 and was wondering if this would be a good car to possibly start and maybe stay with for the long haul...... Thanks in advanced for any help and insight....
__________________
Ulysses AKA Pucho
PadrinoNY is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 09:13 AM   #10896
2xs
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 198
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have had very good luck with the Sprint 2 in VTA. Overall I think it is more robust than the TC3 because I have yet to see a broken control arm, C-hub or steering arm. BUT it has some of the worst ball cups installed from the factory. The remedy is to get RPM or HPI heavy duty ball cups.
2xs is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 09:42 AM   #10897
Tech Regular
 
PadrinoNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PadrinoNY Send a message via Yahoo to PadrinoNY
Default

Thats the one thing I like about it durability. My 7yr old crashed itinto a wall a year ago and just damaged the body and front bumper. Awesome the choice is clear. Thanks again.....
__________________
Ulysses AKA Pucho
PadrinoNY is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 10:52 AM   #10898
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NEPA
Posts: 96
Default

My boy and I just got two Sprint2 sports, we have yet to try them out.

If they can take a beating like my 5 yo boy puts his Tamiya Blackfoot Extreme through they will be good.

Mine is getting turned into a VTA car, his will not be.

Lynn
__________________
Tamyia Cobra R Mustang TA02, HPI Sprint2 Sport, Super Clod Buster, Twin Detonator, AE B4.1, RC10 Gold Pan (mine)

Tamiya Super Clod Buster, Blackfoot Extreme, HPI Sprint2 Sport (My boy's)
CobraRman is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 06:21 PM   #10899
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 222
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Is my servo the problem?

I recently got into VTA and I'm having a hard time driving the car. After talking with some of the guys at the track someone suggested that the problem may be that my servo is strong enough. I have a Hitech 325HB in there now and according to Hitec's website this servo puts out 42 oz at 4.8V. Is this not enough? The car doesn't seem to want to return to center when I let off the wheel. Thanks for your help.
Delawareguy is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 06:29 PM   #10900
Tech Master
 
BadSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 1,158
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delawareguy View Post
I recently got into VTA and I'm having a hard time driving the car. After talking with some of the guys at the track someone suggested that the problem may be that my servo is strong enough. I have a Hitech 325HB in there now and according to Hitec's website this servo puts out 42 oz at 4.8V. Is this not enough? The car doesn't seem to want to return to center when I let off the wheel. Thanks for your help.
It's not that the servo isn't strong enough, it's just that Hitec makes junk. Sorry to say that to anyone just starting out, but it's true. I ran into the problem with full size and micro servos. Pick up a cheap Futaba 3004 or JR Z250 and you'd be in better shape.
__________________
This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it- Psalms 118:24

World Champion Turn Marshall
BadSign is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 06:38 PM   #10901
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delawareguy View Post
I recently got into VTA and I'm having a hard time driving the car. After talking with some of the guys at the track someone suggested that the problem may be that my servo is strong enough. I have a Hitech 325HB in there now and according to Hitec's website this servo puts out 42 oz at 4.8V. Is this not enough? The car doesn't seem to want to return to center when I let off the wheel. Thanks for your help.
what is its rating at 6v?? you normally need a servo that puts out 70+oz of torque

plus, hitec do tend to loose center
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 06:43 PM   #10902
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 222
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
what is its rating at 6v?? you normally need a servo that puts out 70+oz of torque

plus, hitec do tend to loose center
It's rated at 51oz at 6v. The servo came with the car which I bought from a guy on here. It looks like it's a cheap servo.
Delawareguy is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 06:51 PM   #10903
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delawareguy View Post
It's rated at 51oz at 6v. The servo came with the car which I bought from a guy on here. It looks like it's a cheap servo.
Yeah, still don't have enough balls for a TC

Look for one that has at least 76oz and a speed of .1 or faster the more expensive ones will usually be better - and that includes the higher-end hitec's

But in general futaba, JR are good choices - JR has a digital servo that puts out close to 90oz at 6v and priced around $30 if you are in delaware, check out g-force hobbies in Stanton, that's where I got the 2 I have one's in my m03 and the other in my F1
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 06:53 PM   #10904
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,376
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

What type of esc is in the car ?? I'm wondering what the BEC output is. It's likely just the servo has crapped out. Just a suggestion but take a look at the Savox sc1251mg. Metal gears, great numbers and the price is darned good.
Evoracer is offline  
Old 03-12-2011, 07:00 PM   #10905
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 222
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evoracer View Post
What type of esc is in the car ?? I'm wondering what the BEC output is. It's likely just the servo has crapped out. Just a suggestion but take a look at the Savox sc1251mg. Metal gears, great numbers and the price is darned good.
I'm running a Novak Havoc 2S. I was just looking at the Savox. It's $42.99 through their trade in program but they are out of stock.
Delawareguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Georgia Vintage Trans Am Racing shadow102 Georgia Racing 725 02-24-2012 09:56 AM
Vintage Trans Am Scottrik Electric On-Road 47 02-24-2012 08:21 AM
Vintage Trans-Am TC hlpressley R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-23-2008 04:00 PM
Thursday Vintage Trans Am racing at Victory in Green Bay Brian F Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 13 05-10-2008 08:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:19 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net