Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing >

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing

Like Tree1Likes

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing

Old 05-08-2008, 02:59 PM
  #1006  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (40)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,737
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Just went to the ROAR approval page and Hacker is approved for Modified - any wind, Super Stock and Stock. So I do not know why it would not have an appoved 21.5 motor if they approve them.
Grenade10 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 04:08 PM
  #1007  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
TMHippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO.
Posts: 303
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hi All

I have a question? Who is using a TC5 and what things did you have to do for TRANS AM racing

Thanks Rodney
TMHippo is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 04:31 PM
  #1008  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 421
Default

Originally Posted by Grenade10
I've got the 510 in my system as well. Autocrossed one in 74-76 before going road racing in of all things a Sunbeam!

Hey if your interested I still have a competition limited slip rear end that only had about 300 miles on it from autocrossing and some driving to and from. Still in the "Competion Parts Box".

PM if your interested, as I'd like it to go to Datsun Racer!!
A Sunbeam dude...... that wouldn't be a Tiger would it?

Thanks for the offer, got one with changable ratios, and I think you would be shocked at all the goodies and what-not I've acquired over the years and added and taken off the ol' girl. I have a 4-car garage and only 2 slots have cars in them, the rest of the space is taken up from floor to ceiling with shelving full of stuff.
RocketRob40 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 05:12 PM
  #1009  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

TMHippo you might want to pm Revolution 31 in the Colorado forum he is using a TC5 and looks like it is hooked up well
Bull_Dog is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 06:19 PM
  #1010  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (40)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,737
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RocketRob40
A Sunbeam dude...... that wouldn't be a Tiger would it?

Thanks for the offer, got one with changable ratios, and I think you would be shocked at all the goodies and what-not I've acquired over the years and added and taken off the ol' girl. I have a 4-car garage and only 2 slots have cars in them, the rest of the space is taken up from floor to ceiling with shelving full of stuff.
No I had one of the last Alpines running SCCA. But had a Tiger Mk2 that had the 289 Hipo in it (only 440 cars built) but sold it to purchase a S2000 - Crossle. Really enjoyed racing it but also enjoyed the Tiger. Still have the Alpine as well as two others. Not running as I put too much time and money in RC stuff.

But some day!!!
Grenade10 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 06:38 PM
  #1011  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 2,357
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Finally got the body mounted on my old HPI RS4 Sport 2. Need to go through and upgrade a few parts to make it a PRO 2 - like swapping out the gear diffs .
Attached Thumbnails U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing-blue66-right.jpg  
IndyRC_Racer is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 07:06 PM
  #1012  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 421
Default

Originally Posted by Grenade10
No I had one of the last Alpines running SCCA. But had a Tiger Mk2 that had the 289 Hipo in it (only 440 cars built) but sold it to purchase a S2000 - Crossle. Really enjoyed racing it but also enjoyed the Tiger. Still have the Alpine as well as two others. Not running as I put too much time and money in RC stuff.

But some day!!!

Dang, you had a Crossle too? WOW !!!
I ran a MGB in SCCA back in the '70s.
And my dad and I also vintage raced a MG-TD for a number of years, but that whole gig has changed so much. Was a lot of neat sports cars, from back in the day, and now it's seemingly all about the high-dollar museum pieces.
RocketRob40 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 07:29 PM
  #1013  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
BadSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by IndyRC_Racer
Finally got the body mounted on my old HPI RS4 Sport 2. Need to go through and upgrade a few parts to make it a PRO 2 - like swapping out the gear diffs .
Looks good- can't wait until tomorrow night!
BadSign is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 09:42 PM
  #1014  
Tech Adept
 
boscoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Menlo Park, CA
Posts: 142
Default

I didn't post the survey here? wtf

Here's your survey . . .

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?s...VUY396dw_3d_3d
boscoj is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 10:06 PM
  #1015  
Tech Adept
 
boscoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Menlo Park, CA
Posts: 142
Default

here are your results . . .

btw Kelly Ripa is Hawt . . .

http://www.surveymonkey.com/sr.aspx?...3oHtiLioD5Y_3d
boscoj is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 10:23 PM
  #1016  
Tech Adept
 
boscoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Menlo Park, CA
Posts: 142
Default

72% don't wan't a TA series but 82% wants to run a 1/10th scale car . . .
boscoj is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 12:24 AM
  #1017  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TMHippo
Hi All

I have a question? Who is using a TC5 and what things did you have to do for TRANS AM racing

Thanks Rodney
Not sure what you are asking for... a setup? Only thing you might have to change is depending on the body you might need longer body posts on the front.
padailey is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 07:54 AM
  #1018  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
pejota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,022
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by boscoj
I didn't post the survey here? wtf
One of my 7th grade students thought that "wtf" meant "Welcome to Florida"
He was a little surprised to learn the true meaning....
Funny or sad, your choice...
pejota is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 08:04 AM
  #1019  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
genesisG4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canton, GA
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pejota
One of my 7th grade students thought that "wtf" meant "Welcome to Florida"
He was a little surprised to learn the true meaning....
Funny or sad, your choice...

I vote for sad
genesisG4 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 12:18 PM
  #1020  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 421
Default

Originally Posted by pejota
One of my 7th grade students thought that "wtf" meant "Welcome to Florida"
He was a little surprised to learn the true meaning....
Funny or sad, your choice...
hhmmmmm.......I think I first learned what "wtf" stood for from someone that was somewhere about that age group........
.........don't know if that says anything about today's dumbed-down school system or not.
RocketRob40 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.