Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Closed Thread

Old 12-22-2009, 08:30 PM   #7021
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCFREAK View Post
What was the reasoning of slowing down a 21.5 VTA cars???
Because if you want to run 17.5 speeds on rubber tires you should be running 17.5 rubber TC or RCGT
Old 12-22-2009, 09:12 PM   #7022
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

I do run 17.5 sedan... but proving a point that VTA with real good setup is the goal...not speed. I am still running the original Novak 21.5 SS motors, i didnt even upgrade to newer motors and different motor manufactures..

I have been running VTA for almost 3 years now. Seen the changes, tested all the motor battery combo...Love the class, but more rule changes than actual racers isnt good..Seems like the rules are being tested for the "LOCALS" only.

BTW the speed between 17.5 and 21.5 is clearly different.... cant help it if the lap times with a dialed car was close to a 17.5.

Like i posted, the last race wasnt about horsepower, it was a lot of setup getting the car dialed....i wasnt comparing SPEED with Lap Times!!
Old 12-22-2009, 09:41 PM   #7023
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

+1 regarding that it looks like the rules are been tested in the "LOCALS ONLY"

Don't know why so much trouble with go along with technology, if everyone here is talking about changing to a 25.5 BL, or 1S Lipo, or any other type of combination, that still involve unload some cash... so in my opinion it should be invested to upgrade to an advance ESC... and keep the 21.5 2S lipos
That helps even the new comers to jump into a faster class later on.

Still exist a big difference regarding speed and lap times, at the 2nd leg of the NEGS a VTA car did make laptimes of a TC 17.5, but for the average 17.5 guys.... the fastes 17.5 cars were 1.2 or 1.3 secs faster then the fastes VTA car...
- F1 - F103RM (Out of the Box! No upgrades needed)