R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree1Likes
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-22-2008, 09:47 AM   #2521
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,820
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Wanted to share my VTA racing experience over the weekend. Raced at Ft. Wayne, IN - Summit Raceway. It is a nice indoor carpet facility.

Top 5 cars were all different chassis and all were evenly matched in speed. Even though I finished 3rd I had fun because I knew I had a chance to win if I drove a good race. I couldn't always say the same in the past with other on-road classes I've raced.

Best part of the weekend was watching racers help each other out. I think I hooked a new racer to this class by letting him borrow my extra 21.5 motor. I don't think people realize that these cars are just the right speed until they actually drive one. The b-main winner bumped up and multiple racers were offering to let b-main racers use extra batteries if they made the bump up. People were also sharing their roll-out and chassis setup which was also nice to see.

I'd like to add that I would never suggest to anyone that they should run this class. It has taken me awhile to realize that each person races for their own reasons and all any of us can do is lead by example. But I can't help to think that a large group of racers who are having fun is a good thing for our local tracks and this hobby in general.
IndyRC_Racer is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 09:47 AM   #2522
Tech Master
 
TigeRyan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,389
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TigeRyan
Default

Attention all Vintage Racers (and everybody else too)

I created a little app the other night for myself and a couple of buds, but have decided to open it up to the community at large...

To help with finding and calculating gearing I have created a cell phone friendly web page with two calculators on it...

checkout: http://cell.sixfoottiger.com

It should work in most browsers on cell phones. Let me know if you have any problems, but it should be nearly 100% compliant...

Enjoy!
TigeRyan is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 10:18 AM   #2523
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stagger2 View Post
Not to sound like a jerk, but that sound like the "Slash" class that alot of tracks have adopted.

Chad O
You dont sound like a jerk. We are cool and I was talking about the slash class. Sorry I wasnt clear I was just saying what looked great about it, that was similar to VTA.

I got side tracked with the crawlwer idea sorry.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 11:55 AM   #2524
Tech Regular
 
Stagger2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Atlantic, Ia
Posts: 366
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopyrc View Post
You dont sound like a jerk. We are cool and I was talking about the slash class. Sorry I wasnt clear I was just saying what looked great about it, that was similar to VTA.

I got side tracked with the crawlwer idea sorry.
That's why said that, I thought what is he talking about the crawlers for when there is already a Slash class, doh. I got ya now..

Chad O
__________________
Hobbytown Hobbyplex, Customworks Aggressor 17.5 Truck, Brushless and Lipo all the way

Staggered F/X body painting
Stagger2 is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 11:05 AM   #2525
Tech Addict
 
weracerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 702
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default VTA set ups

I am going to use a Team Kit TC4 for my VTA chassis - i am sure somewhere in the 85 pages so far someone has already answered this question but i will ask it again - sway bars or not for VTA we will run indoor and out with the traditional VTA rubber tires.....i run 40wt oil all the way around and silver rear and gold front springs......when i ran the chassis as a std TC i got BETTER handling without the sway bars - curious if they are needed for the slower speeds to achieve better cornering - i am also curious which front dif is preferred tradional dif, one way or solid axle?
weracerc is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 11:14 AM   #2526
Tech Master
 
slakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,736
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Personally I do not run swaybars and I run a spool (solid axle) up front both outdoors on asphalt and indoors on carpet. I run an XRAY T2R chassis.

Tim S.
__________________
TLR 22 4.0, 22-4 2.0, 8IGHT & 8IGHT-E 4.0~XRAY XB2C~AE TC7.1
Tim aka "slakr" ROAR No. 3-119960
slakr is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 11:43 AM   #2527
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

+1 Same here. You might want to practice and see if you can make a quicker lap with the sway bar, but I wouldnt sweat it. You probably will run better with it off.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 11:58 AM   #2528
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,820
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I'm running a sway bar on the rear of my TC3. I am running blue springs in the rear and I felt the sway bar helped the car rotate without too much body roll. I still have plenty of rear traction unless I run without any tire compound or brand new tires.
IndyRC_Racer is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 01:21 PM   #2529
Tech Master
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

For the TA 05, the used one has a little tweak in the bath tub chassis.

I found the carbon version for $35, is it worth it?

Like the above poster I was wondering if VTA was fast enough to bother with sway bars.
TwoTone is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 01:39 PM   #2530
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoTone View Post
For the TA 05, the used one has a little tweak in the bath tub chassis.

I found the carbon version for $35, is it worth it?

Like the above poster I was wondering if VTA was fast enough to bother with sway bars.
Personally, I wouldn't bother with the carbon-reinforced tub for USVTA. Sway bars either. I don't run either on my TA05 in 13.5 Super Stock.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 01:47 PM   #2531
Tech Master
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Reen.

Do you have a suggested starting set up for indoor high grip carpet?

Starting fresh here and trying t set up 2 cars, so I want spend as little as possible only on things I actually need.
TwoTone is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 01:52 PM   #2532
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,587
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Sway bars seem to be more of a personal preference. I like them more on wide open tracks, if I run them at all. Tighter tracks usually no sway bars.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 10:26 AM   #2533
Tech Master
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Another question, anyone shorten the wires on the Novak 21.5 brushless?
TwoTone is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 11:05 AM   #2534
Tech Adept
 
Railroader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoTone View Post
Another question, anyone shorten the wires on the Novak 21.5 brushless?
Yes. The wires are way too long for my use. I like a nice clean wiring. I just wish I had the motivation to shorten the sensor wires. I also often shorten servo wires too.
Railroader is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 11:12 AM   #2535
Tech Elite
 
squarehead's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wheaton, Illinois
Posts: 4,211
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to squarehead Send a message via MSN to squarehead Send a message via Yahoo to squarehead Send a message via Skype™ to squarehead
Default

Always shorten wires...

__________________
Everything depends.
Nothing is always.
Everything is sometimes.
squarehead is offline  
Closed Thread

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Georgia Vintage Trans Am Racing shadow102 Georgia Racing 725 02-24-2012 09:56 AM
Vintage Trans Am Scottrik Electric On-Road 47 02-24-2012 08:21 AM
Vintage Trans-Am TC hlpressley R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-23-2008 04:00 PM
Thursday Vintage Trans Am racing at Victory in Green Bay Brian F Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 13 05-10-2008 08:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:48 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net