R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2008, 11:23 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Chickentrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Landsborough, Queensland, Australia.
Posts: 2,142
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Does anyone know how to wire a 240 V AC to 12V DC power supply?

Does anyone know how to wire a 240 V AC to 12V DC converter (tranformer with diodes)? The codes on the connectors are: L-AC, N-AC, FG, GND, GND, +12V and +12V.

Kindest regards,
Lars.
Attached Thumbnails
Does anyone know how to wire a 240 V AC to 12V DC power supply?-power-converter-connections.jpg  
Chickentrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 11:42 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Superkarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Scarborough Australia
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

GND would stand for ground (0 volts)

SO you connect your gear to the 12+ and ground, just make sure you don't exceed the rails amp handling ability

Not sure what L-AC, N-AC, FG, mean

Cheers
Tim
Superkarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 11:55 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
billjacobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 1,264
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default wiring

L-AC- Live AC
N-AC- Neutral AC
Gnd- Ground
FG- floating ground

Get yourself an ac grounded cord and cut through the cord. You should see 3 wires. The use a voltmeter to to identify each wire from the plug. The round pin is the ground, and the 2 other flat pins are for ac. In most cases you can plug an ac plug into an outlet both ways. So you should be able to wire each AC connection to each flat pin on the plug.
billjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 01:23 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Chickentrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Landsborough, Queensland, Australia.
Posts: 2,142
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for your help, good of you to help me out with it.

Kindest regards,
Lars.
Chickentrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 02:58 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Swamp Rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Logan
Posts: 3,727
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Lars

Firstly
If it is not prewired you should get a sparky to do it.
Just hooking it up is one thing but TESTING IT IS ANOTHER

YOU CAN KILL YOURSELF IF WRONG

GET A SPARKY

Shane Ex call name sparkie
__________________
LCRCCC. inc. The Greatest Club in QLD.
Come see our great new layout.
Schumacher Mi6 x 2,Yokomo BD7, Roche F1, SP F1 x2,Serpent SF2 F1, MO5 mini, M03 Mini, Corally F1 on Rubber, Futaba 4PX,
Ax10, SCX10, Joker Visit : www.lcrccc.org.au
Swamp Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 07:22 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Victor Vector's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Over Here
Posts: 2,788
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

It won't work. Don't even try it.

If you bought the PS in the last 6 months and you have the instructions, it will tell you if you can hook to either line source. Recent PSs are swithcing types that allow either voltage on the input side. BUT, unless you see this FOR SURE, don't try it. Under powering electrical devices is just as dangerous as over powering.

It's always worth asking, glad you posted.

Jacko
__________________
Jack Balchin.
Timezone Hooligan
IBEW Local 48-retired (Definitely, great pension.)
Victor Vector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 02:35 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

I'm a sparky and I have used that type of power supply for 12V accessories in my PC. It mounts in the 5 1/4" bays. Great for powering water or peliter cooling systems or if you have like a zillion fans in the case.

Back on track. Do this all unplugged!!!!

Get a PigTail power cord or make one from a PC power cord. PC power cords have a standard wall outlet plug on one end and a "D" shaped female plug on the other end. Cut off the "D" plug and strip off about 2" of cord insulation to expose the wires and cloth. Trim the cloth away, seperate the wires and strip bare about 3/8" of wire. If you have access to a crimper, crimp on 1/4" spade terminals.

L-AC is your hot wire. On your pigtail this wire is most likely BLACK but can be any color but WHITE and GREEN. Screw the BLACK wire to the L-AC

N-AC is your neutral wire. On your pigtail this wire is most likely WHITE. Screw it to the N-AC terminal.

FG is your AC Ground. On your pigtail this wire is most likly GREEN, but could be bare copper. If Bare, insulate the exposed segment before attaching to the FG terminal.

I'll post a pic.



GND is your DC ground or Negative

+12V is your Positive



There should be a voltage adjustment knob or pot to addjust the voltage for the DC and on the side should be a Switch to go from 220AC to 115AC.

Last edited by trailranger; 01-02-2008 at 02:55 PM.
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 02:52 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

This shows the cheap PC power cord before cutting the end and what it looks like after.



This shows the install.
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 03:43 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Chickentrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Landsborough, Queensland, Australia.
Posts: 2,142
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Many thanks; you have gone way out to help me with this. The pictures are nearly identical to how I did it in the end, except for that the colour codes are different here in Australia -Brown for active, Blue for neutral and Green with yellow stripe for ground.

Kindest regards,
Lars.
Chickentrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 04:16 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Swamp Rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Logan
Posts: 3,727
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailranger View Post
This shows the cheap PC power cord before cutting the end and what it looks like after.



This shows the install.

ARE YOU POSITIVE IT IS RIGHT?

HAVE YOU PROVED THE EARTH?

HAVE YOU MEGGERED IT?

IT CAN KILL!

EXPOSED 240 volt Terminals thats a great start.

That little kid wandering around the pits might be your child
with those little fingers poking around.

ZAPP he's DEAD

O well it is cheap

Don't risk it !!
__________________
LCRCCC. inc. The Greatest Club in QLD.
Come see our great new layout.
Schumacher Mi6 x 2,Yokomo BD7, Roche F1, SP F1 x2,Serpent SF2 F1, MO5 mini, M03 Mini, Corally F1 on Rubber, Futaba 4PX,
Ax10, SCX10, Joker Visit : www.lcrccc.org.au
Swamp Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 06:57 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

Chicken, I am glad you made use of the photos. I totally forgot that different countries have different colors for wires. I am sure if you ever are in the US, just flip the swtich on the side for 120 and find another pigtail cable to keep your 12V stuff running.


Thank swappy for the criticism. I use this power supply at the local track to power the tire truer. I bumped the output voltage to 13.0 volt.

These power supplies were ment to be installed not laying loose for little fingers to poke around. Many used for these power supplies are in computers where additional 12v power is needed. Before SLI 1000watt power supplies came out, 12V accessiories like water cooling pumps, fans, peltier coolers needed these extra power supplies.
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 11:33 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
ozoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,394
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Lars,

That thing is 100% illegal to use in Australia unless it's in an enclosed chassis, and installed by a qualified person. Don't even think about it. Any club that lets you use it trackside is probably uninsured as a result as well. Whathappens if someone (you or whoever else) accidentally sticks their finger on the exposed screw terminals?

For someone who is so keen to debate about the right way of doing things, I can't *believe* you're going down this path, in order to save what - $50? If you know little enough to ask which wires go where (and yes, I am in that category too - no judgement there) then take it as a sign that you weren't meant to be messing with 240v AC. It's horribly, horribly dangerous if you make one little mistake.

Yahoo buckeroo.

Scott.
__________________
http://www.harrisrc.com
http://www.funkygibbon.com
http://www.amishrakefight.org/gfy
ozoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 11:00 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,428
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

240VAC isn't that bad. If it was 600, I would be more worried.
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 11:28 AM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

As Ozoner and I pointed out,

these P/S's need to be installed in a enclosure, not laying loose. Any current can be deadly, 120V 220V... ... ect ect.

On a side Note, I use this type of Power supply at the track for a Tire Truer box. The Power supply is installed, protected, the truer is mounted in a wooden box with a shop-vac under the box. When truering tires I turn on the box and vac, hit the auto cut button and all the tire dust is collected in the 3-gallon shop vac.
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 03:26 PM   #15
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,587
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Just out of curiosity, how is this different than a bulldog or any other p/s, outside of the fact that the terminals are exposed? Also, how many p/s are installed on anything at the average track? I have never seen this (in the US), despite the fact that it would be safer.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
Changing power wire connecting to ESC andy85 Electric On-Road 1 09-12-2007 12:10 PM
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply andy_666 Electric On-Road 20 01-16-2006 05:20 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 08:52 AM
Power Wire Length? ZER01 Electric On-Road 39 01-01-2004 06:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:46 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net