R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 12-27-2007, 04:06 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default Victor Engineering 12V Power Supply Repair

Hi everyone. A good friend of mine who is heavily into racing RC has asked me to help fix his Hi-IQ power supply. It is made by Victor Engineering which is now gone.
The problem it is having is that it blows fuses immediately with any load. I have troubleshot it down to a couple of shorted power transistors. The problem is that I'm not having any luck finding the part #'s for the transistors. The writing on them is SK C2307 050. Anyone have an idea what the replacement part # would be.

I'm not a pro at fixing electronics, I just fiddle. This repair is not for money, just a favour to a friend.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Degull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 08:13 AM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

I did a quick search on your number on Mouser Electronics website and came up with what looks like an answer.

Here's a direct link to the result:

http://www.mouser.com/search/refine....t=SK+C2307+050

Hope that helps...
Old 01-06-2008, 07:23 AM   #3
Tech Rookie

Not sure, what you mean? When I click on the link there is no result found for the part. Are you seeing something different than no result found?
Old 01-06-2008, 03:49 PM   #4
V12
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I did repair a lot of the Victor PS including mine about 10 years ago. All of them did show the same behaviour as yours. Problem was these power transistors were underrated for the 230V mains voltage as used in Europe. I found not only that SK (Sanken) C2307 were shorted but also some other parts in all of the PS.
I remember it wasnīt that easy getting replacement parts but after that I never heard the PS went bad again. My own Victor PS is still working until today.