R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-24-2007, 10:54 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,038
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kropy View Post

Look at the second picture, it appears larger than 1.3" x 1.0". Not saying it is, but it looks like it
convikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 12:42 AM   #17
Tech Addict
 
fraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to fraz
Default Tekin R1 size

Quote:
Originally Posted by convikt View Post
Look at the second picture, it appears larger than 1.3" x 1.0". Not saying it is, but it looks like it
That digital scale must be small but I can assure you the R1 is TINY. I am a Tekin team driver and have two of them and when I got them, they were actually smaller than I expected. I mounted one in my B44 and there is a ton of bare chassis showing. Gives lots of mounting options. Compared to my Novak GTB it is roughly 1/2 of the footprint!! If I recall the measurements said it was supposed to be 1" tall too, not really. If you include the solder posts, sure. The case thickness is nowhere near an inch.
fraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 01:38 AM   #18
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

man this is funny.. a place halfway around the globe has it and tower's reporting 'early jan' for arrival. just blows me away.
Sabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 07:18 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabin View Post
man this is funny.. a place halfway around the globe has it and tower's reporting 'early jan' for arrival. just blows me away.
That's weird...I just saw a couple at our local hobby shops here in south Florida...so I guess they are available...
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 08:10 AM   #20
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,487
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Just thinking out loud here but maybe GP sent them out to the lhs before Tower got any. I don't know their business practice but that is a possibility.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 10:18 AM   #21
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,038
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fraz View Post
That digital scale must be small but I can assure you the R1 is TINY. I am a Tekin team driver and have two of them and when I got them, they were actually smaller than I expected. I mounted one in my B44 and there is a ton of bare chassis showing. Gives lots of mounting options. Compared to my Novak GTB it is roughly 1/2 of the footprint!! If I recall the measurements said it was supposed to be 1" tall too, not really. If you include the solder posts, sure. The case thickness is nowhere near an inch.


The manual folded up is 5 1/2" x 4 1/4" (more than likely). Just visually comparing it to that. It just simply looks larger than 1" x 1.3" that was advertised. No doubt its small compared to a GTB. The old mechanicals were just slightly bigger than the GTB LOL. What motor you running with it in a B44 by the way?
convikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 02:53 AM   #22
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyhayyim View Post
That's weird...I just saw a couple at our local hobby shops here in south Florida...so I guess they are available...
they've shown up at rcplanet.com. man it's like tower fell asleep at the wheel.

I'm pretty sure I can order it from my LHS before tower reports availability.
Sabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 04:24 AM   #23
Tech Regular
 
Nuno Gancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 346
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

have anyone tested it?
Nuno Gancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 12:05 PM   #24
Tech Master
 
DIALED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,645
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Default

I've been lucky enough to run one. I ran a prototype of the R1 w/ a Tekin motor around a year ago--in a 24 hour race.
Zero malfunctions. No accidental reverse. Just lots of clean, consistant SPEED.
It's been a long wait. But the Tekin product IS worth it and will (as always) make believers.
BE HAPPY damn it!
__________________
Team Schumacher - Team Powers - EDS Specialized RC Tools - RCSpeedshop.net
DIALED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 12:14 PM   #25
Tech Champion
 
C_O_jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wa.
Posts: 9,055
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DIALED View Post
I've been lucky enough to run one. I ran a prototype of the R1 w/ a Tekin motor around a year ago--in a 24 hour race.
Zero malfunctions. No accidental reverse. Just lots of clean, consistant SPEED.
It's been a long wait. But the Tekin product IS worth it and will (as always) make believers.
BE HAPPY damn it!
Even I couldn't make it go backwards during that race, and I can screw up pretty much anything!



I'm waiting too.
__________________
Bacon is Meat Candy
C_O_jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 02:08 PM   #26
Tech Regular
 
stuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

does anybody know if you can get the r1 pro in the uk also can you use non tekin brushless motors for example orion vortex which i think have the sensor connection on them will this work sensorless or not.
stuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 03:20 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Can the R1 run sensored motors like: orion Vortex motors?
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 03:23 PM   #28
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes the R1 can run sensored motors, you simply do not need the sensor harness.
frozenpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 04:31 PM   #29
Tech Regular
 
stuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyhayyim View Post
Can the R1 run sensored motors like: orion Vortex motors?
they do have sensor connection dont they
stuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 05:15 PM   #30
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If you say sensorless itīs just for the ESC. For the motor itīs not important if there are sensorwires or not as a sensorless ESC canīt make use of them.
The Orion motors (as the Speedpassion and GM) could be run sensored or sensorless so I donīt see why a R1 couldnīt run them.
Canīt speak for other ESC like Mamba but GM Racing do proof since a long time you can make a sensorless system what wonīt go backwards if you donīt want to.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Tekin FX series thread(tekin support) Randy_Pike Radio and Electronics 50 09-01-2016 05:13 PM
>>TEKIN R1 PRO ESC/TEKIN REDLINE BRUSHLESS MOTOR<< LOSI SCOTT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 09-12-2008 07:51 PM
FS: Tekin mini rage esc and tekin 6800kv! 1/18th! tt01-demon Australia For Sale/Trade 7 05-24-2007 02:59 AM
Tekin Mini Rage w Tekin 5.4k motor J.Gonzalez R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 12-26-2006 07:02 PM
RC12LC, Tekin G-12 ESC, batts, OS .46FX, Tekin BC100L DennisNyholm R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 02-28-2006 03:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:49 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net