R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2007, 12:04 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Red face TRF-415

I JUST BOUGHT A 415 AND I WANNA KNOW IF I CAN PUT DIFFERENT BRAND TIRES ON IT... IE> HPI,JACO,ORION,MUGEN,SPM... ETC... ALSO, HOW MANY MAH DO I NEED TO RUN A 7TURN SINGLE MOD MOTOR??? (NIMH PACK) I HAVE AN OLD TEKIN 411G2 ESC. I KNOW IT'S OLD, BUT I LOVE IT! ACCORDING TO TEKIN THERE IS NO MOTOR TURN LIMIT FOR 8CELLS OR LESS. CAN THIS ESC STILL BE COMPETATIVE??? HELP A ROOKIE OUT!!!
HUCKMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 12:11 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

yeah ill help ya.

helpful hint no.1: yes you can use different tires. As long as the rim fits the hub/axle/whatever.

helpful hint no.2: turn capslock off.
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 12:15 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HUCKMAN View Post
I JUST BOUGHT A 415 AND I WANNA KNOW IF I CAN PUT DIFFERENT BRAND TIRES ON IT... IE> HPI,JACO,ORION,MUGEN,SPM... ETC... ALSO, HOW MANY MAH DO I NEED TO RUN A 7TURN SINGLE MOD MOTOR??? (NIMH PACK) I HAVE AN OLD TEKIN 411G2 ESC. I KNOW IT'S OLD, BUT I LOVE IT! ACCORDING TO TEKIN THERE IS NO MOTOR TURN LIMIT FOR 8CELLS OR LESS. CAN THIS ESC STILL BE COMPETATIVE??? HELP A ROOKIE OUT!!!

What about the Mod motor thing??? Any help there??? I took caps lock off
HUCKMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 12:16 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

i dont race mod and never have, so i dunno there lol.
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 12:31 AM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Foam tires?

I don't understand foam tire compounds!!! can anyone help
HUCKMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 12:50 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HUCKMAN View Post
What about the Mod motor thing??? Any help there??? I took caps lock off
For racing you would need atleast 3700mah, but to be competitive you would need some 4200mah batteries. If the esc's says it's no limit then it would be alright and being a Tekin I'm sure it would be competitive.
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 12:57 AM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

sweet man! any foam tire compound suggestions? I need good grip because i will be running a 7 turm single mod
HUCKMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 01:26 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
HI_808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 359
Default

Be careful because the Tekin ESC you have might be too old to handle a hot modified motor combined with the new batteries. That being said, I recently tried using a 10 turn Orion V2 on my old G12cIII with a GP3900 6 cell and it ran fine, but I don't know how much more it would be able to handle.

Another thing, Tamiya's lightweight reversible suspension won't fit most foam tires without modification. There have been many iterations of the TRF415, and the oldest one did not come with the lightweight suspension (I think it came with the TA04 style suspension).
HI_808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 01:34 AM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What's a good high speed servo to use with my new trf415???
I've run a 8 cell 3300mah pack on my tekin411g2 with a 12 turn double.... No problems... I appreciate the feedback.
HUCKMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 01:44 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

A good high speed servo would be the Futaba 9550, you may have to get it second hand as it's no longer made or if you have the money get one of the new Futaba brushless servo's. http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXRJS5&P=SM
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 03:09 AM   #11
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

what about an airtronics 94357?
HUCKMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:23 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net