R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-04-2003, 09:59 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
mushu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 72
Default INDI Octane 2 Discharger

Does the INDI Octane 2 Discharger have a cutoff? If so, at what voltage? The Integy site is WOEFULLY light on product information.
mushu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 10:04 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Finsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 123
Default

no cut off ...it'll bring cells down to 0v
Finsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 10:18 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
mushu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 72
Default

Bah! No good!

Thanks for the quick response Finsy.

If anyone in product development at Novak or another manufacturer is listening what we need is a standalone discharger with adjustable rate and cutoff. It has to be small and NOT light bulb based.

Integy and CE do a great job integrating dischargers into their higher end chargers, but some people want to use stand alone chargers like the Novak Millennium Pro and need more flexible discharging options for both 4-cell and 6-cell racing.

Not to mention it would be nice to be able to discharge TX and RX packs however we want. Just a thought...
mushu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 10:37 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Finsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 123
Default

i'm using it on my GP3300 but i'll screw out the contact point once the bulb start to dim...haven't seen any bad effect of my cells yet...but i dont do this often maybe once in every 6-8 runs

Go to integy forum i think their reactor(10/20/30amp) series would be able to adjust cutoff voltage using internal pot....not really sure on those
Finsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 11:15 AM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
mushu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 72
Default

I've seen pictures of the Integy dischargers taken apart to show how to adjust the pot for cutoff. The problem is that I don't want to open it up everytime I need to change from 4 to 6 cells. Oh well, guess I could buy two or them or mod one and stick a longer knob on the pot.
mushu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 02:01 PM   #6
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,494
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Team Orion makes one but it does require a 12 volt supply. There are a few options on it but the pictures are hard to read the cutoff voltage, I think it only goes down to 4.5 volts but I could be wrong. It is part number 31000
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 02:05 PM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
mushu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 72
Default

Thanks for the link Kraig, but the Orion discharger is only for 6-7 cell packs (says so right on the front of it http://www.team-orion.ch/images/31000-l.jpg)

It would have to go down to 3.9 to properly discharge a 4 cell pack to .9 per cell anyway.
mushu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 08:34 PM   #8
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Orion's Digital Discharger works only on 6-7 cells, and the only option is selectable discharge rate (20/25/30A). The cutoff V are adjustable only as a function of the discharge rate (20A = 5.4V, down to 30A = 4.8V).

There is nothing anywhere on or inside the Orion machine to adjust it for 4-cell use. (Anything's possible if somebody tried reengineering the thing, I guess.)

If you want a self-powered auto-cutoff discharger, it'll be very hard to design. Not even sure if there are any high-current relays that can work with 3.2-3.8V... most need 5-6V minimum to latch.

The Orion machine needs the 12V supply to (1) run its big fan and (2) operate its fancy electronics. (For you trivia buffs, it draws about 300mA whether its discharging or not.)
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2003, 10:16 AM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HK
Posts: 55
Default

This one should do the trick.
It's just so expensive.

http://secure400.automatedshops.com/...20103279206.a8
Awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 12:53 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Yep, that Integy thing looks nice.

Here's a few other suggestions:

Robitronic equalizer; Approx. 1 A discharge, 0,8 volt /cell fixed cutoff. Price approx. 40$. Robitronic equalizer



CS-Electronic Cap Check Pro; 20 A pulsing discharge, 5-7 cell, adjustable cut off, PC connect, avg. voltage and more. Price approx. 190$. Cap Check Pro



Both product is european. Due to the current US dollar, the prices are higher than normal.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 04:28 PM   #11
Tech Apprentice
 
mushu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 72
Default

Thanks for all the responses! That new Integyup discharger looks like just the ticket! I found a guy that will build me an adjustable cutoff that can do both 3.6v (4 cells @ .9v) and 5.4v (6 cells @.9v) for $13.00 though. I just have to add the load of my choice (resistors or lightbulbs).
mushu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 05:44 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UCLA
Posts: 196
Default

There are lots of Pro drivers using the Integy discharge board, Barry Baker, Kinwald, Billy Easton...etc Also, SMC says to use Octane 2 on GP3300. Maybe there is nothing wrong with the 0.0V cutoff despite of what you read from the Orion, Pro Match and other web sites.
RickyIS300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 09:29 PM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
mushu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 72
Default

From what I've read (Trinity web site) it's suggested that packs should be discharged to .9v per cell then equilized right before charging using a tray. This is supposed to prevent individual cells in the pack from being overcharged.
mushu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 03:19 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RickyIS300
There are lots of Pro drivers using the Integy discharge board, Barry Baker, Kinwald, Billy Easton...etc Also, SMC says to use Octane 2 on GP3300. Maybe there is nothing wrong with the 0.0V cutoff despite of what you read from the Orion, Pro Match and other web sites.
I got the slow Orion equalizer shown below. It has cut off at 0,6 volt per cell. After a night on that, my Sanyo 3000 HV will false peak for sure. However, they perform well afterwards. How it will effect on lifetime, I dont know.

__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
INTEGY INDI 0-30 Discharge Board or INDI Octane 2 Discharger 20A B4Bandit Electric On-Road 2 01-26-2007 06:05 PM
WTB ASAP: iNDi Octane 2 discharger Jack2 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 8 02-03-2005 08:06 PM
WTB: iNDi Octane 2 discharger Jack2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 02-03-2005 07:23 AM
WTB- INDI octane 2 discharger Jack2 Australian Racing 1 02-02-2005 11:41 PM
INDI Octane 2 Discharger 20A Individual & INDI Reactor 30 jrighter R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 01-19-2005 09:43 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:34 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net