R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-03-2003, 05:41 AM   #16
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grimsby, UK
Posts: 212
Default

thanks dirk, it takes a lot of time to keep in check but still i think its worth it.

sanj
schumacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 10:39 AM   #17
Regional Moderator
 
Addict sa RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quezon City, Philippines
Posts: 557
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BrianJ
Talked to Novak,you can plug it into any open slot on reciever including the BEC slot.
Thanks for the info Brian.
Addict sa RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 07:56 PM   #18
Tech Fanatic
 
Aluma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edinburg TX
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

can y'all show me a pic of this? I had such a HARD time at a regional race this past weekend...GLITCH FEST SUPREME, heck I even went full speed into the foot of a corner marshall and got black flagged twice for glitching :P... I run the quantum comp. and a futaba s9402 servo with a XXL receiver... from what I've read, I think this could have been my problem cuz i couldn't find a single thing wrong with anything else!
Aluma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 08:27 PM   #19
Tech Regular
 
Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Here is a pic, I did it today..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dsc00372-1.jpg (151.0 KB, 271 views)

Last edited by Ortiz; 06-03-2003 at 08:33 PM.
Ortiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 10:58 PM   #20
Regional Moderator
 
Addict sa RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quezon City, Philippines
Posts: 557
Default

Are the capacitors wired in series or parallel?
Addict sa RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 02:50 AM   #21
Tech Champion
 
ROBORAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to ROBORAT
Default

Addict: meron ako nyan! hehehe .... actually kinabit ko lang pang porma! para pro daw! alfred and i first saw the cap on the rx way back 2000 on Hara's World's winning MR4.
__________________
[YOKOMO BD7][REEDY RACING][TEAM ORION]
[Sanwa][LRP][Protoform]

http://www.hobbyhaven.com.my/
ROBORAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 03:06 AM   #22
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grimsby, UK
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Addict sa RC
Are the capacitors wired in series or parallel?
should be parallel to increase the capacitance. i dunno why you just don't get one big one.

sanj
schumacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 04:49 AM   #23
Regional Moderator
 
Addict sa RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quezon City, Philippines
Posts: 557
Default

Robo, yup alam ko, tagal ko na rin tinanong sa inyo ito kaso yun nga sabi niyo porma lang . Well no harm in trying.

Sanj, Thanks, how much capacitance is enough?
Addict sa RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 05:29 AM   #24
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grimsby, UK
Posts: 212
Default

it depends on how crap the bec of your speedo is and how much power your servo consumes.

as a rough guess i'd start high and work your way down. with my lrp quantum and modded homebrew servo i have to run 10,000uF but this is more than most people would need, so i would start at around 8000uF and work your way down.

sanj
schumacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 06:05 AM   #25
Regional Moderator
 
Addict sa RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quezon City, Philippines
Posts: 557
Default

Ok, thanks. That's a starting point.

I'm using a Keyence Zero V Extreme (BEC = 6v/3A) with an Airtronics 94758Z servo (speed/torque = 0.06s/115 oz-in at 6v)
Addict sa RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 01:04 PM   #26
Tech Adept
 
dirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 116
Default

Ortiz has 35V capacitors...I thought 10V was enough?
dirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 01:13 PM   #27
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grimsby, UK
Posts: 212
Default

addict,

your bec is probably good enough, if not a4700uf should be enough i reckon.

i did try a keyence speedo out and the bec was rocksteady.

dirk,

10v is enough, there is no advantage with using a 35v cap as it will be bigger and the voltage of the bec is 6v anyway.

sanj
schumacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2003, 02:01 PM   #28
Tech Regular
 
Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

At the time, thats all i could find...
Ortiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 02:00 AM   #29
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1
Default

I have a capacitor for some time at the receiver of my RS4. Ever since I upgraded from an AM radio system to a Multiplex profi car FM system I had glitching problems. I tried changing the servo,receiver and even exchanged my transmitter at the hobbyshop. At some time I thought about spikes at the power to the receiver,so I tried a capacitor and then no more glitching.

Novak Dually esc
pico 4/5 receiver
Corally 12Turn motor
Rayzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 04:01 AM   #30
Tech Master
 
John Doucakis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,108
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can someone please answer my question below?

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg receiver capac..jpg (9.5 KB, 215 views)
John Doucakis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
capacitors Toms Electric On-Road 1 04-03-2006 07:29 PM
Capacitors ftfl99 Rookie Zone 6 01-14-2006 11:21 AM
ESC Capacitors F50 Singapore R/C Racers 27 10-22-2003 11:54 PM
Capacitors!! Where to get them???? Racer4Life Electric On-Road 15 10-09-2003 04:34 PM
Capacitors on receiver rpritchard Electric On-Road 9 04-30-2002 02:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:43 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net