Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
novak brushless motor problems >

novak brushless motor problems

novak brushless motor problems

Reply

Old 11-09-2007, 07:13 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
more$thanbrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sooke BC Canada
Posts: 677
Default novak brushless motor problems

hey all i opened my novak velociti 4.5r brushless motor today to service the bearing in the endbell and vound that the little brown caps have fallen off and broken

is there any real value to having those on there?

if its an RFI issue im running DSM so it has no effect

ineed some help

thanks
matt

PS the pix are a little crappy because their done on and IMAC wiht the built in camera
Attached Thumbnails novak brushless motor problems-photo-2.jpg   novak brushless motor problems-photo-3.jpg   novak brushless motor problems-photo-5.jpg   novak brushless motor problems-photo-12.jpg  
more$thanbrains is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 07:28 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I had the same thing happen. Its from getting the solder tabs to hot. In my case anyway.
I took some off of a stock motor and put back on. I think the are just capacitors .
UN4RACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 09:03 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
more$thanbrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sooke BC Canada
Posts: 677
Default

and another thing

is a cooling fan really needed on the GTB?
more$thanbrains is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 09:11 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
magm20001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

for a 4.5r, yes its essential
magm20001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 10:34 PM
  #5  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

If the caps are not present on your motor it is not a problem... we started out with the caps on the motors but found that the motors actually seemed to cause less radio interferance without the caps.
Steve Weiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 10:56 PM
  #6  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
more$thanbrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sooke BC Canada
Posts: 677
Default

ok

thanks steve

i just wanted to be shure

i dont like the idea of a new car puddle lol
more$thanbrains is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service