TC5 Ride Height

Reply

Old 10-26-2007, 12:22 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Unhappy TC5 Ride Height

I am trying to set the ride height on my TC5 to 4.5mm for carpet. I am using 58mm dia. tires. I have the preload on the shock springs backed all the way off to the piont that they are actually loose. I still can not get the ride height to less than about 7mm. Are there any other adjustments I need to make to lower the chasis. (I am using the stock springs, red in the rear and copper up front).
frogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 01:09 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,451
Default

Droop is a totally different adjustment, but if I have noticed if the screw is all the way backed out, that can create completly wrond ride height and droop. I have experienced this before, and if the droop if way off, it is hard to get the ride height set corectly. Your droop is probably off. That's just my take on these types of things.

Last edited by samstheman2; 10-26-2007 at 02:44 PM.
samstheman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 01:33 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
tcfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 117
Default

Hi, you should not ajust the ride hight using the droop screws 'if you do this it will now allow the shock's work correctley' Just depends @ where the droop is set @ now? i have not run foams with the tc5, but i would start with droop settings @ 7 front and 6 rear, you can also have the tire 'cut' down to achive the correct ride hight.

Ste.
tcfree is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 02:30 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,930
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

If you adjust droop and it changes your ride height you are doing something wrong.
Jack Smash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 02:37 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,451
Default

tcfree his tires are cut down to 58mm already.
samstheman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 02:44 PM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Bump
frogman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 03:00 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,782
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I don't know how the shocks and sway bars mount on a TC5, but on some cars one could mistakenly mount the shock to the sway bar mount causing a super high rideheight.
andrewdoherty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 05:25 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
 
fathead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 601
Default

I've had no trouble running 5.5mm ride height with 56mm foams.

Set the ride height using the shock collars first (they will prob be near the top of the shock at 4.5mm ride height), then set the droop (downtravel) with the droop screws.
The springs shouldn't come loose if you set the droop correctly.
fathead is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 06:06 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,147
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

perhaps your shock ends are screwed onto the shaft too far. Try loosening them until you can get the rideheight down to around 3mm. This will allow you to set tweak, because it will give you some threads above the collar.
Sean R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 09:22 PM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
swopemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

You have to unscrew droop screws until they don't touch at full shock travel. Then set ride height. Then go back and set droop. Otherwise if you set ride height with droop screws already compressed you get "negative droop" (no droop) and spring preload which affects the effective spring rate (similar effect to using harder springs). You might do OK with no droop for carpet but you'll spin out on asphalt.

Carefully measure all 4 overall shock lengths fully extended. If all are even and car is balanced and not tweaked all the shock collar (or spacer) settings will be the same.

If you've done all this and ride height is still too high, then thread in the shock end (bottom) a little more, at least until there's no more threads showing on the threaded shock rod end. You should be able to easily set ride height down to 4.5mm with 58-60mm tires.
swopemike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 04:41 PM
  #11  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 32
Default

If your shocks are backed off,back out your droop screws. Then adjust your ride highth first then set you droop. Ride for foams cut to 54mm we ride at 4.5mm to 5mm.(carpet)and droop at 1mm/front to 1.5mm/rear.Ride at 7mm to 8mm (asphalt/rubber) 10mm droop This works on our tc5
8up-racing is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service