R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2007, 06:12 AM   #16
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 42
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe of loath View Post
hmm should i make one of these, or just use the 5 amp 12v power supply in a nice neat black box?

oh and my PSU is BTX (old workstation. the motherboard arrangement means it can fit dual CPU's inside) i guess it will work for this?
What are you powering? 5A isn't much for most RC applications. For example, my Triton charger requires 10A (although it will run on less).
bb71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 06:49 AM   #17
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by convikt View Post
rule of thumb is for 100watt = 1 amp. Just keep that in mind
This is wrong, there is no rule of thumb like this that I heard. P=VI. So 100 watts @ 12 Volts = 8.3 Amps.
Attached Thumbnails
hack computer power supply-shox.jpg  
__________________
High Desert Raceplace, Grand Jct CO, Sanwa Exzes Plus Stick Radio, Spektrum,Thunderpower 230g, Modified Tri-Nut Novak GTB2, Ballistic 4.5t 550, 5.83lb SCTE Ten, Novak Sentry Brushless Dyno, Crossweight Setup Station, Junsi 20A power supply Icharger 20A Charger,TP610C, 22B, Novak Edge, Novak 13.5, SC10, Havoc Pro SC XDrive, Ballistic 17.5 Matthew Joseph Cordova

Last edited by mattnin; 02-08-2012 at 06:26 PM.
mattnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 07:40 AM   #18
Tech Adept
 
Evilstealth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 230
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Evilstealth
Default

Like i said before in my previous posts a Computers PSU is capable of handing "unlimited" amperage (to a point and i was told this by an electrician) it just gets hot so you can pretty much run anything you want, and all it will do is get hot but you don't want to overload it so that its about to catch on fire, try to find a decent PSU maby 15Amps+ on the 12V rail and that should be able to handle anything you plug into it.
__________________
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/290595-new-offline-rollout-calculator.html#post5695222 - Offline Rollout Calculator
Evilstealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 08:27 AM   #19
Tech Master
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by convikt View Post
rule of thumb is for 100watt = 1 amp. Just keep that in mind
That rule of thumb applies to 110V AC. That is why you see 110V space heaters only rated up to 1500 watts.
mkdut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 08:50 AM   #20
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilstealth View Post
Like i said before in my previous posts a Computers PSU is capable of handing "unlimited" amperage (to a point and i was told this by an electrician) it just gets hot so you can pretty much run anything you want, and all it will do is get hot but you don't want to overload it so that its about to catch on fire, try to find a decent PSU maby 15Amps+ on the 12V rail and that should be able to handle anything you plug into it.
I don't know about the math behind this and I am no electrician, but I have built three or four of these and the amperage is NOT unlimited. I have a PS rated at 19a on the 12+v rail and I can charge two 4800 lipos with the orion carbon advantage at 9.6 amps each. I have another PS rated at 11a on the 12+v rail and it will shut off if I try to charge both batteries on that one. Jut my experience yours may vary .
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 09:01 AM   #21
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 42
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Andrew - I agree. My experience is similar. They should be used for what they are rated at.
bb71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 09:12 AM   #22
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 182
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Ya I don't know a lot about PSU's but I know electricity, there is no such thing as unlimited anything. Everything has a limit. Even if you thermal out, that's a limit.
parnelli97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 09:39 AM   #23
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parnelli97 View Post
Ya I don't know a lot about PSU's but I know electricity, there is no such thing as unlimited anything. Everything has a limit. Even if you thermal out, that's a limit.

Look near the end of the thread that was linked in the first reply you got.

A few pages from the end I posted some pics and diagrams of pinouts etc.

If you need any more info, just ask or PM me.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 12:28 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

my guess is you can use up to the PEAK output, but they are in danger of thermaling. the continuous output is maximum output at operating temperature. you can boost this with a larger fan (sometimes!)
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 04:21 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,038
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilstealth View Post
What rail is that rule referring to because i have a 550w PSU and it is rated at 19Amps on the 12v+ rail and the other rails (3.3, 5v) are way above this i think the 3.3v is 35Amps and the 5v is 45Amps, so i don't think that rule works unless i have got it wrong.


You could use a lamp instead of a resistor, i prefer a lamp because it doesn't get hot and it is very easy to swap if it blows also you know when its on , it is a personal choice though some people prefer lamps others prefer resistors either one does the same thing
Sorry, talkin' 120v. 550w draws 5.5 amps....typed before I thought
convikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 09:59 AM   #26
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

does anyone know what the cluster of brown wires is? my PSU has wires that aren't in either of the instructions. i shocked myself though (and burnt myself on the soldering iron, and cut myself when drilling the holes in the case, and banged my head when i put the power supply on the floor and stood up under a table. i don't think this is worth the effort...)
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 01:54 PM   #27
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 42
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Don't get dicouraged. You'll get through it. Did you check the Tips section. It mentions the brown wire and connecting it to the orange sense wire.
bb71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 03:33 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i found that, and it kinda works, but theres a whole bundle of thicker and darker coloured brown ones. stumped i might just ignore them and stick a more powerful lamp or resistor in, and maybe it will work, but i couldnt get a 540 to spin off the 12v output (gnd and 12v attatched to the motor) i had enough juice out of the 3.3v to spin it though.
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 03:59 PM   #29
Tech Adept
 
emulberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 243
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I have made one of these and it works great, however it only goes up to 16A is there a way to link two of these together in paralell or sometihng so that they would be a combined 32A
emulberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 05:46 PM   #30
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

FDK PEX733-30
185 Watt Power Supply
Netra i 150 / Netra nfs 150 / E150




DC OUTPUT
PIN DESCRIPTION PIN DESCRIPTION
1 +5Vdc 10 +5Vdc
2 +5Vdc 11 +5Vdc
3 Gnd 12 Gnd
4 Gnd 13 Gnd
5 +5V pre-charge 14 +12V pre-charge
6 Gnd 15 Gnd
7 Gnd 16 Gnd
8 +12Vdc 17 +12Vdc
9 +12Vdc 18 +12Vdc

DC Output
+5V +12V
15.0A 12.0A
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Power Supply for R/C? KevanB Electric On-Road 32 08-01-2013 04:37 PM
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
computer power supply koolkidd Electric On-Road 29 06-10-2007 09:53 AM
computer power supply hpipro321 Electric On-Road 4 09-01-2005 01:25 AM
Computer power supply Losi Jet Pilot Electric Off-Road 3 06-15-2005 06:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:06 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net