R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 05-24-2003, 02:05 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default Capacitor Question

What is the significance of the capacitor that comes with electric motors? I've never used them before, should I? Do they give a noticeable difference in motor performance? Thanks for your help.
TripleD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2003, 08:29 AM   #2
Tech Adept

They help supress electrical noise generated by the motor which can cause interference, i allways use 3 on my motors, from + to can, - to can and + to -. I have to admit tho i have had surface mounts capacitors fall out and havnt noticed untill i checked them.
Ian S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2003, 09:01 AM   #3
Tech Initiate

I have another question in regards with capacitors.. I hope you don't mind TripleD with me buggin' in your thread, anyways, it also concerns capacitors, only this time about power cap.. I've seen one guy at our local track putting such a huge power cap in his esc, when I checked it out myself, I found out the values are as follows:

10,000 uF
16v

what are the advantages/disadvantages of using this one?
thanks in advance!
addicted2rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 01:22 PM   #4
Tech Rookie

Ok,that is what it call power cap.It help to smooth out the ripple of the power supply to the esc.Cause the battery power is raw so
the supply is not smooth.For me i install one on my esc too.

Advantage
1.Smooth the supply power.
2.Extra punch for the car on acc.
3.Extend the life of you esc ,servo,reciever.Cause raw power shorten the life of electronic.

Disadvantage
1.the size of the power cap.Cause the bigger the value the bigger the size.So you need space to install the power cap.

You can use use 4700uf-22000uf.The bigger the value the smoother the supply is and of cause more punch on your car.Remember get those polarise(theres a - marking on 1 side) cap rated 10v or higher.