R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2007, 08:57 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
turboxrayt1fk05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ri
Posts: 978
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default novak smart tray se issues

Has anybody has or had any problems with the new smart tray SE , i'm having an issue with it , it would beep continuesly and the lights would go out until battery is taken out and it would stop discharging even when discharge hold mode is on or off and i cant get it to work at all even with different packs..........
__________________
SERPENT S811 AND S811T, FUTABA 4PKS , viper rc solutions
OS SPEED WORLDS EDITION 21 , OS 2060 PIPE
BYRON %30 FUEL , PROTEK 2300 LIPO RX PACK
SAVOX SERVOS 1268MG HV , 1267MG HV
turboxrayt1fk05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:40 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
stuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

good luck getting any fix for that i had a smart tray the lights would come on but would never discharge sent novak emails rang them i still have had no reply (18 months ago)i think the service for novak is crap and the products arn't that good either i decided the best thing to do with it is to drop kick it to the rubbish tip
stuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 02:36 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,154
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Dude, novak have a good exchange/warranty service.

also, their products are very reliable.
Ashley Cobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 07:23 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
turboxrayt1fk05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ri
Posts: 978
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

i just wanted to know if anybody are having this issue and if novak know about this issue with the new smart tray se ,,, novak does have a good customer service and warranty service as far as i know.....
__________________
SERPENT S811 AND S811T, FUTABA 4PKS , viper rc solutions
OS SPEED WORLDS EDITION 21 , OS 2060 PIPE
BYRON %30 FUEL , PROTEK 2300 LIPO RX PACK
SAVOX SERVOS 1268MG HV , 1267MG HV
turboxrayt1fk05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 08:56 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuey View Post
good luck getting any fix for that i had a smart tray the lights would come on but would never discharge sent novak emails rang them i still have had no reply (18 months ago)i think the service for novak is crap and the products arn't that good either i decided the best thing to do with it is to drop kick it to the rubbish tip
That is complete garbage. You had ONE bad experience with a product (supposedly) and you flame Novak about not only their service but their products? I think the cases where someone couldn't get a hold of a Novak employee within 24 hours of a problem with their product in all the years they have been involved in R/C racing can be counted on one hand. For you to post this is pretty bold especially when I bet 99% of everyone here knows better.

Not only is Novak product line top notch their customer service is tough to beat also.



Quote:
Originally Posted by turboxrayt1fk05 View Post
Has anybody has or had any problems with the new smart tray SE , i'm having an issue with it , it would beep continuesly and the lights would go out until battery is taken out and it would stop discharging even when discharge hold mode is on or off and i cant get it to work at all even with different packs..........
Forgive me if you've tried this... but did you make sure not only the negative/positive polarities of the cells match but the battery bar locations match also? On the top an bottom of the faceplate of the tray you'll see white bars that should match the location of the battery bars IN ADDITION to the positive/negative locations of the cells.

Also go ahead and turn the thing on in hold mode (with power off, hold the button down and then plug it in). That way when a cell is done it holds it for you while the rest finish.
CShearburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 09:04 AM   #6
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

turboxray,

I would check that your input voltage getting to the tray is adequate. If you have access to a voltmeter I would check to make sure that it's outputting 12-15 V... if it drops towards the low end of this or below it it can cause little glitches like what you seem to be experiencing.

Stuey,

Sorry for your troubles in trying to contact us ... I know we've had some email filter problems with some free email servers out there ...but usually those emails just bounce right back to the sender...they don't just "disappear" into limbo letting you think that we're just ignoring you.

Also, you should be able to talk with someone here at 949-833-8873 at some point durring business hours here which are 8 AM - 5 PM. Technical support is open between 9 and 10:30 and again from 3 - 4:30.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 10:41 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
dizzy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I had the same problem last year at the Cactus, the tray just beeped and didn't discharge, it was caused by the AC adapter not providing enought voltage. I talked to Charlie at the race and he said to run it thru my chargers power supply, instantly fixed the problem. Never had a problem since. Just ditch the AC power supply if there is a lot of people racing and draining the AC power from the track.
dizzy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:30 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
turboxrayt1fk05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ri
Posts: 978
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

i just tried it with a different AC power supply and is working find so far
__________________
SERPENT S811 AND S811T, FUTABA 4PKS , viper rc solutions
OS SPEED WORLDS EDITION 21 , OS 2060 PIPE
BYRON %30 FUEL , PROTEK 2300 LIPO RX PACK
SAVOX SERVOS 1268MG HV , 1267MG HV
turboxrayt1fk05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:30 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
RaceAce701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carbondale, Pa
Posts: 2,985
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

wow this thread had me scared i was just about 2 pick one up the i saw this im glad the answer can be that simple
__________________
The Skid Marks -- 24 Heures Du Jackson 9/22-23/2011
"Go for broke or go home broke"
"If it ant broke your not trying"
Alex "ACE" Kubilus
ACE design works
RaceAce701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:57 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I run mine into my distribution block which gets power from my PS. I have never had a problem doing it this way with either the first gen or the newer SE tray.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 01:30 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I have had mine lock up being plugged into my power supply. Lights stay on and it drains battery down below .9 . I know of at least 2 other people in my area that have the same thing happening to them too.

Last edited by Kenny L; 10-15-2007 at 01:43 PM.
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 03:20 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
stuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

sorry to be so negative about the product but that was how i felt maybe if i get a spare 100 i may try a novak product a again as for the fault with my smart tray does any body know what it could be.
stuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 06:16 AM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
turboxrayt1fk05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ri
Posts: 978
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Steve Weiss;3767000]turboxray,

I would check that your input voltage getting to the tray is adequate. If you have access to a voltmeter I would check to make sure that it's outputting 12-15 V... if it drops towards the low end of this or below it it can cause little glitches like what you seem to be experiencing.

i tried it with a different AC power supply and worked fine now the question is would it continue to work ? with out freezing up
__________________
SERPENT S811 AND S811T, FUTABA 4PKS , viper rc solutions
OS SPEED WORLDS EDITION 21 , OS 2060 PIPE
BYRON %30 FUEL , PROTEK 2300 LIPO RX PACK
SAVOX SERVOS 1268MG HV , 1267MG HV
turboxrayt1fk05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 09:37 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 389
Send a message via Yahoo to hicheef
Default Mine Too

Mine is < 1 year ols and does the same thing. Now my problem is how do I get more that 12.16 V outofmy 28A Power Supply? Time for a new Power Supply?

Kevin
hicheef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 10:33 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
carbon madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northwestern, Indiana
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have the smart tray SE, and the slot on the far left doesn't seem to be doing anything. The rest of the tray works fine, but that one part doesn't seem to be dischargeing. Also I haven't used it nearly 6 months, as I havent had the money to send it in for repairs since I bought it 4 months before it had the issue. Maybe it was just an issue with some of the first batch of tray's, or just some freak issue.
__________________
マイクル ユージャック 

*Team CFX Racing**Evil 3 Paint Works*
carbon madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
orion advantage (non lipo) novak smart tray novak millenium Valentin.H R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 11-16-2007 06:37 PM
JR R1, Novak Smart Tray, Novak GTX, Futaba S9451, Hellfire stock motors, plus more yauipop Australia For Sale/Trade 7 08-27-2007 03:56 AM
Integy Zero-Thirty Tray, Novak Smart Tray domo Australia For Sale/Trade 9 07-29-2006 05:34 AM
Novak smart tray and trinity 2.5 tray joerocket900 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-12-2005 10:52 PM
Trinity absolute zero tray/ novak smart tray ALL APPROVED R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-14-2005 07:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:25 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net