R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2003, 11:22 AM   #1
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default Buying Charger (millenium pro) From Hong Kong (use 220w) Convertor???

im buying a novak millenium pro from hong kong. but they use 220w and we use 110w

what to do????
convertor
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 11:42 AM   #2
dux
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 69
Default

You need your own DC power source for the Millenium Pro, so unless he's selling you a power source too, there won't be any problem.
dux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 11:48 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Caddzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Boynton Beach, Florida
Posts: 249
Send a message via ICQ to Caddzilla Send a message via AIM to Caddzilla Send a message via Yahoo to Caddzilla
Default

Disregaurd my post, didn't see your location.
Caddzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 11:55 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 300
Default

HK and most of Europe run 220V AC and the US+Canada is 110V AC. The Millenium (Pro) is a DC charger. It needs 12V DC to work. It does not have its own internal AC/DC power supply. To run it, you need an AC/DC power supply (220VAC/12VDC) or (110VAC/12VDC), depending on where you live.

-H
Headbanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 12:42 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 300
Default

If you are looking for a power supply, there are various kinds available ranging from light duty to heavy duty. Novak makes N-power (~$100 light/small) while a Rivergate 30amp can will run about $150.

Follow this thread for more info:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...threadid=18144

-H
Headbanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 01:43 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Masami Hirosaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: tsukuba
Posts: 36
Default

he is asking a question!

anyway irrelevant answers are also welcome.
Masami Hirosaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 04:26 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

http://www.magicookie.com/prodigy/psupply.htm

would this work you guyz?


by the way you are so not masami right
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 05:29 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Caddzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Boynton Beach, Florida
Posts: 249
Send a message via ICQ to Caddzilla Send a message via AIM to Caddzilla Send a message via Yahoo to Caddzilla
Default

Computer power supplies are no good for running a charger. The output amperage needs to be the same or a little greater than the maximum charging amperage of the charger. So if your charge can charge up to 10A, then your power supply should be a minimum of 10A as well. If you get a power supply that only supplies 12V DC at 3A and you charge a pack at 4.5A then you will over heat and possibly burn up the power supply.

But in answer to your question, it looks like it will work. He doesn't show any amp readings in any of his pictures, just voltage. So I would still be a little hesitant before going to all that trouble to rewire the power supply until I was sure that it will be able to handle the amp load from the charger. I have an old pc power supply sitting around and have been looking for a project to work on, so I will give it a try and will let you know how it goes.

Last edited by Caddzilla; 05-21-2003 at 05:43 AM.
Caddzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 06:05 AM   #9
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

Many moons ago I used to use a computer power supply. Check on the case most will run 12V @5A. Just don't go over the rating. I used mine for almost a year before I upgraded. No major problems except that it would occasionaly switch off by itself...probably the overload protection. They are a cheap alternative.
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2003, 06:46 PM   #10
dux
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 69
Default

I have a 230Watt (230/12V=about 19 Amps) computer power supply that I converted to take a charger. It works flawlessly and has nice short protection. If you convert it right, it will work great, if it switches itself off all the time, you've probably forgotten to install capacitors in parallel to the outputs.
dux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2003, 12:35 AM   #11
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dtm
Many moons ago I used to use a computer power supply. Check on the case most will run 12V @5A. Just don't go over the rating. I used mine for almost a year before I upgraded. No major problems except that it would occasionaly switch off by itself...probably the overload protection. They are a cheap alternative.
Cheap alternative if you haven't got anything better.

But if you're investing in such a good charger.. think twice about what kind of power you're feeding it. The Mill Pro expects to get a clean and stable DC voltage coming in, otherwise its peak detection will be off track.

MillPro also needs a DC input approx 1.5-2.0V *above* the peak voltage of your cells. If your cells are older and peak at 10.5-11V, you need a supply that can pump 13.8V and be voltage stable, otherwise you'll get heaps of headache with false-peaking.

(The PC PSU seems to barely even reach 12V under load!?)

You will also not be able to charge 7 & 8c packs @ 12V alone.
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R/C Shops in Hong Kong Slide-o-rama Hong Kong Racing 0 08-20-2006 06:27 PM
TX and RX hong kong or USA akajohnny5 Electric On-Road 7 10-03-2004 05:09 PM
Buying from Hong Kong ???? Evoracer Electric On-Road 40 05-09-2003 12:55 AM
hong kong rx-7 Singapore R/C Racers 6 05-10-2002 06:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:43 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net