R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2007, 07:27 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
AussieSamurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 30
Default Tamiya TT-01 Issues

This thread can be for anyone who is having trouble with their TT-01. (Like me)

My TT-01 goes haywire whenever it gets either to a certain distance away from me or goes too fast or is just completely random. (not sure which but i think its the too far away one) By haywire I mean I have absolutely no control over it for about 2 secs but in this time it accelerates to full speed and does random turns usually resulting in a massive stack. I have changed my transmitter and receiver and crystals and batteries (in car and transmitter) and that has not worked. What is the problem? Please help going racing soon.
AussieSamurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 07:56 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Mooshu Beef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: State of Insanity
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

That happened to me a lot before...but now I just learn to stay within the range. Also, depending on the area you are in you'll get a certain amount of interference, ESPECIALLY with AM radios. If you are racing in places where its not really open, then go for an FM radio or upgrade to a Spectrum system.

What radio are you using?
__________________
I am a man of few words.
Mooshu Beef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 08:02 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
AussieSamurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 30
Default

Yeah I have a 27 MHz AM radio system and as I know that is the frequency cheapo cars run on (Big W, K-Mart, David Jones sorta ones) then I expected some interference but not the amount I have been getting (insane out of controlness ='ling massive crash a few dollars spent buying new wheel rims and so on)
AussieSamurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 08:07 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Elite-Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: England
Posts: 134
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Elite-Driver
Default

hmm , i hav e a tt-01 , and i have never had the problem yet , but maybe it may be that u havent set your speed controller up properly , or maybe your motor is going on its way out ,, ,, and maybe its because somone has there controller on with the same crystal as you so its trying to do 2 things as once .. if u get me .. hopei helped ..
__________________
HPI Pro 4 - Driver
EA Motorsport's
---------------
Team Gas Cupboard
Elite-Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 08:28 AM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
AussieSamurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 30
Default

I don't think it is the motor as I just bought a new RS-540 Sport Tuned from the hobby shop and I think the ESC is set up properly because I have been racing it for a few months previously without the problem.
AussieSamurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 08:43 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
squad car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 324
Default

instead of loosing $$$ in buying spare parts due to poor signal.
try to invest an "Fm Tx" perhaps a Futaba 2pl Fm will do, but if your planning to stay long in this hobby invest high ends 2.4ghz or spectrum imho
__________________
Who am I? You sure you want to know? The story of my life is not for the faint of heart. If somebody said it was a happy little tale... if somebody told you I was just your average ordinary guy, not a care in the world... somebody lied.
squad car is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 08:52 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
AussieSamurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 30
Default

I think I will get a mid range FM Radio that is not to expensive cos I'm saving up for a desktop computer so it can't be too expensive.
AussieSamurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 08:57 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

don't know if you can get it yet, but there is an Acoms 2.4ghz radio out soon. half the price of the futaba one.
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 08:59 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
squad car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 324
Default

mid range try to consider Futaba 2pl Fm its my first tx and it serves me well
its only a suggestion, try to look around before you buy
__________________
Who am I? You sure you want to know? The story of my life is not for the faint of heart. If somebody said it was a happy little tale... if somebody told you I was just your average ordinary guy, not a care in the world... somebody lied.
squad car is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:08 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
squad car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe of loath View Post
don't know if you can get it yet, but there is an Acoms 2.4ghz radio out soon. half the price of the futaba one.
hmmm!!! cheap 2.4ghz it is worth to wait
the cheapest 2.4ghz i know is spectrum DX3
__________________
Who am I? You sure you want to know? The story of my life is not for the faint of heart. If somebody said it was a happy little tale... if somebody told you I was just your average ordinary guy, not a care in the world... somebody lied.
squad car is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:19 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Mooshu Beef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: State of Insanity
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

It's also about how the ESC reacts when it suddenly runs out of range. I have a 27mHz AM controller and receiver as well. However my receiver wire was way too short, so I extended it so the overall length is about 20 inches. I haven't had much trouble with going out of range, and I've raced it in a big open lot of grass without much trouble.

Before with my CPR-01 (ESC and receiver in one) when it would run out of range, I'd have that problem, where it would go full throttle till I came back into range from running towards it. I was racing near a beach after I lifted my TT-01, and the thing almost took a plunge...

I just recently got a GTX, and I tested what would happen if it suddenly ran out or range. I pulled full throttle while holding the car, and shut off my controller. The ESC also went full throttle, but only for a second and pulled the brake. I believe this was programmed to do this by Novak.

But if I were you, I'd get an FM controller. I would get one, but I am looking for a 3 channel controller for a good price so I can flip up the headlights on my trueno with the 3rd channel servo
__________________
I am a man of few words.
Mooshu Beef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 06:28 PM   #12
Tech Initiate
 
AussieSamurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 30
Default

Yeah I was wondering weather or not it was my ESC but the one I have is programmed to stop and flash a red light at me wen it goes out of range and I have tested this many times on the bench. All things considered I think it's time to get and FM or 2.4GHz system so thanks for all the help everyone and anyone else who has probs with a TT-01 should post here otherwise a complete waste of thread.
AussieSamurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 06:37 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
t4m1y4niac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,309
Default

go for 2.4Ghz and you will not have any glitch issue...1 really work hard in last two months just to buy a Fasst Module + Rx...its really worth it...
__________________
SABRE S4 by TOP RACING....
t4m1y4niac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 11:42 PM   #14
Tech Initiate
 
AussieSamurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 30
Default

Yeah my dad's going to America (the land of cheaper stuff than Australia) and he is gonna get me a Spektrum radio system there so I'll be all kitted out. Buy I have one question, my mum is very suspicious of the new alum propeller shaft I just installed she thinks it could be interfering somehow but could her ridiculous suspicions be true?
AussieSamurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 01:39 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
squad car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AussieSamurai View Post
Yeah my dad's going to America (the land of cheaper stuff than Australia) and he is gonna get me a Spektrum radio system there so I'll be all kitted out. Buy I have one question, my mum is very suspicious of the new alum propeller shaft I just installed she thinks it could be interfering somehow but could her ridiculous suspicions be true?
the center shaft? i dont think so, its not directly connected to any electronicts, or touch any open wirings.
__________________
Who am I? You sure you want to know? The story of my life is not for the faint of heart. If somebody said it was a happy little tale... if somebody told you I was just your average ordinary guy, not a care in the world... somebody lied.
squad car is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CX2 Issues 140ce RC Flight 4 01-21-2008 12:12 AM
Some issues with the Lst sjlam Monster Trucks 7 11-06-2005 06:50 AM
help my 3 pk has issues papadocks R/C Tech Site Forum 6 04-26-2005 08:34 PM
FTS issues TeamButter Florida Racing 30 02-24-2005 06:01 PM
Issues with Tamiya TRF 415 - Please note rcmaster.net.au Australian Racing 47 04-14-2004 02:55 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:00 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net