Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree86Likes

Hpi Pro 4

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2005, 08:26 AM
Tech Adept

You need the updated gears V1.1, HPI will send them to you for free

If you already have them then its your shimming thats not right like Exe stated above

The Pro 4 doesn t have to much prob with gears stripping so check
Old 05-16-2005, 12:29 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

The pro4 diff design is far more efficient than any other shaft brands available. Other brands have more gear noise and fragile issues as far as stripping is concerned.
Old 05-16-2005, 12:41 PM
Tech Regular

Well I was stripping a v1.1 gear on the front oneway every raceday, changed to a ball diff and they break no more
Old 05-16-2005, 03:24 PM
Tech Elite

Default Re: Bevel gears

Originally posted by ElectricConvert
Hi guys.

I'm new to the Pro4 and I was wondering if someone could give me a quick run through tips and tricks for the diffs.

I've gone through 4 sets of gears in one race day (busted front and back) and it is frustrating to say the least.

I've shimmed it up at the expense of efficiency and it lasted through the finals but is there something I could do to minimise this from occuring?

It seems that the gears are very susceptible to bumps and nudges when racing.

I'm running a brushless setup equivalent to 8 turns brushed and have already installed a front one-way gear brace.
I asked the same question here and did not get much concrete information so I did some testing for myself. Here is what I found:

1. If you are hitting solid things, boards, concrete, with any sort of decently powerful motor (like your brushless) with a front oneway installed and you are still on power you will break a gear no matter what the shimming is or whether you have the 1.1 gears and plate. Even stock motors can easily damage the gear, but is much less likely too. Jumping into the air and landing on power also will break gears. The same is true of most shaft cars with a oneway.