Like Tree10Likes

Hpi Pro 4

Reply

Old 10-01-2004, 08:46 PM
  #7771  
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Default

Originally posted by rc-zombies
I may have to visit Alan this weekend or sometime next week after work...
Allen told me this week that they had a stock of CTS bodies
DOMOisCOOL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 11:30 PM
  #7772  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Here's the other body I painted early this year:
Attached Thumbnails Hpi Pro 4-pro4-mazda6-004.jpg  
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 01:31 AM
  #7773  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Holy crap, I finally got caught back up on this thread...started on page 124...

Has anyone tried Tamiya TRF Pisions in the HPI shocks? I know square or someone makes pistions designed for the HPI shocks, but I just have so freaking many of the trf pistions.

Chris?!?!? Moving to a Pro 4?!?!?! Dude, I thought you ate and breathed Tamiya?!?!? ROFL
RCGaryK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 04:44 AM
  #7774  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
coastaltony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 2,585
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by rc-zombies
Here's the other body I painted early this year:
sweet
coastaltony is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 05:43 AM
  #7775  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

looking good Ramon!
how much are you gonna sell one for?
Super Steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 05:48 AM
  #7776  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Toronto ON. Canada
Posts: 114
Default wish I bought Tamiya

Well I have had my pro4 for over 2 months and have still not been able to use it. First I was slow in building it and then I had to wait to get the version 1.1 gears. Then when I was assembling the shocks I found I had 2 purple caps that were not threaded all the way so they wouldn't seal the tops of the shocks. It has been almost 1 month since they were ordered and sent by HPI. What a waste of my money, I should have bought an Evo-4, atleast if I need parts there is a distributor in this country and I do not have to deal with shipping from the US and deal with Customs. Oh well, I will know for next time I guess.
Just venting, thanks.
csilve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 05:58 AM
  #7777  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Dude...
You just had bad luck.
You really didn't have to wait for the V1.1 gears and the purple caps should be found at most hobbystores that stocks HPI stuff for very little money.
I do feel for you because when you get a new car, you really want to test it out asap but having to wait 2 months + must suck...

Where are you located btw?
I am @ Younge & Finch
Super Steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 07:21 AM
  #7778  
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default

Nice Ramon. TIme to try the new car out today.
Aurra Sing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 07:33 AM
  #7779  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (26)
 
dizzy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I just ran my pro4 for the first time last night, thing was so smooth it seemed slow, but turned the fastest laps of the night and was TQ.
Csilve- I have the same problem with my purple shock tops, a quick fix that I used was to use 2 of the small diff shims between the black eyelet and the purple cap. Mine were only threaded til the bottom of the small air hole and won't tighten all the way.
Anyone else had major tweak issues? I checked shock length, everything is free, droop is right. I haven't done the top deck mod, but probably should. Tweak was right out of the box worse then my TC3 on its worse day. Still, once everything is dialed in the Pro4 will be ballistic.
dizzy1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 07:53 AM
  #7780  
Tech Fanatic
 
pucho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 804
Default

Originally posted by artwork
Does everyone use tape to hold batteries in or do you use the supplied hold down?
I don't know if this has been corected but in the manual It shows that you need to put the two black spacers between the screw for the holder (the one with the hole for the clip) and the standoff. If you have the spacer, take it out. It's not needed and it takes preasure away from the bar and can lead to the batteries poping out. Also as someone sugested put some of the adhesive foam on the bottom of the bar it will help.
pucho is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 09:32 AM
  #7781  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Toronto ON. Canada
Posts: 114
Default

Thanks guy's but I've decided to get rid of the car. Going to stay with Tamiya. The Pro4 looks great in the garbage can.
csilve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 12:22 PM
  #7782  
Tech Adept
 
Trinity2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 148
Post

I race lastnight and i was 4th in mod 12class. I use Hara`s ROAR Nats set-up and i have to say the car was amaising cool to drive with this.

Only what i change was front stabilizer 1.6>> to 1.4 and AE gold front springs.

Let`s rock.

C-ya
Trinity2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 03:30 PM
  #7783  
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Originally posted by csilve
Thanks guy's but I've decided to get rid of the car. Going to stay with Tamiya. The Pro4 looks great in the garbage can.
come on man, have some patience. or atleast don't come on the Pro 4 thread and complain, then refuse any advice.
ChadCapece is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 03:31 PM
  #7784  
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Originally posted by dizzy1
I just ran my pro4 for the first time last night, thing was so smooth it seemed slow, but turned the fastest laps of the night and was TQ.
Csilve- I have the same problem with my purple shock tops, a quick fix that I used was to use 2 of the small diff shims between the black eyelet and the purple cap. Mine were only threaded til the bottom of the small air hole and won't tighten all the way.
Anyone else had major tweak issues? I checked shock length, everything is free, droop is right. I haven't done the top deck mod, but probably should. Tweak was right out of the box worse then my TC3 on its worse day. Still, once everything is dialed in the Pro4 will be ballistic.
what's the upper deck mod?

did you put on the upperdeck stabalizer, the curved post that connects the upper deck to the lowerdeck?
ChadCapece is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 04:23 PM
  #7785  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
TimPotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Boynton Beach Fl > Randoph NJ
Posts: 7,481
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Pucho,

I am kinda spring whore. Never know who has " the right spring".
My Mi2 has been awesome and only gets better.

Originally posted by pucho
Tim: Lookign for new options?
TimPotter is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service