Like Tree10Likes

Hpi Pro 4

Reply

Old 06-30-2004, 07:11 PM
  #5881  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Pit-racer
Why are you guys putting the antenna on the center top plate?
A scientic answer is the antenna tube is centered and air drag is equal on both side of the car... if mounted away from the center like on the stock location on the lower chassis... there is more air drag on one side of the car causing it to turn in one direction. you will then have to trim the steering to compensate....

An Rc answer is...less glitching
or it just looks better on the upperdeck and to make room for larger electronics on the chassis.... the upperdeck is drilled to accept the stock antenna mount.

Basically...It's pretty much drivers preference...
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 07:38 PM
  #5882  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,338
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by rc-zombies
A scientic answer is the antenna tube is centered and air drag is equal on both side of the car... if mounted away from the center like on the stock location on the lower chassis... there is more air drag on one side of the car causing it to turn in one direction. you will then have to trim the steering to compensate.... If you raised it higher, isn't that more surface to cause air drag?

An Rc answer is...less glitching
or it just looks better on the upperdeck and to make room for larger electronics on the chassis.... the upperdeck is drilled to accept the stock antenna mount.

Basically...It's pretty much drivers preference...
I know about glitches
Pit-racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 07:44 PM
  #5883  
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

Originally posted by Pit-racer
I know about glitches
It looks nice, it looks balanced, it resolves glitching issues...

What else would you like??

...and I'm still waiting for my purple xenon tape to arrive..
Entropy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:06 AM
  #5884  
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Default

why cant u ppl just run a stk car like the rest of us and not spending money of eye candy stuff and use it toward batts and tires ect... ill get a pic up of my *STK* hpi car shorty lol


lazy
lazyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:18 AM
  #5885  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by lazyboy
why cant u ppl just run a stk car like the rest of us and not spending money of eye candy stuff and use it toward batts and tires ect... ill get a pic up of my *STK* hpi car shorty lol


lazy
stock = boring... not bad, just boring.
JusBox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:40 AM
  #5886  
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Default

ok u got me there lol
lazyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:58 AM
  #5887  
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

Originally posted by lazyboy
why cant u ppl just run a stk car like the rest of us and not spending money of eye candy stuff and use it toward batts and tires ect... ill get a pic up of my *STK* hpi car shorty lol


lazy
Well, your car's gotta look as fast as the driver... which I'm not...

failing that, at least if you lose the race.. you lose in style...

Either way, I'll still win in the pits! muahahahahahahaha
Entropy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 03:24 AM
  #5888  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
Default Upgrades

where do you guys get all the purple bits from. i only got servo mount and heatsink motor mount i crnt find any
rickylee53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 04:43 AM
  #5889  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Herts/Essex UK
Posts: 44
Default Shims

How many shims are you running in your rear diffs?

I run mine as per kit and keep having problems with the rear diff skipping over the bevel gear, it keeps happening and its getting annoying
Rich_p is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 04:48 AM
  #5890  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone recieved the upgraded kits yet(gear and outdrive wise?.....

and where did you purchase?...(just want to know who has the latest kits.....Tower or Horizon)...
fastharry™ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 06:18 AM
  #5891  
Tech Adept
 
X-Garage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 155
Default

Where to get HARA speedcontrol?
X-Garage is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 06:38 AM
  #5892  
Tech Master
iTrader: (52)
 
alana07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: There
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default My Pro 4

a pic of my hardly run pro 4...
alana07 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 06:45 AM
  #5893  
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Default Re: Shims

Originally posted by Rich_p
How many shims are you running in your rear diffs?

I run mine as per kit and keep having problems with the rear diff skipping over the bevel gear, it keeps happening and its getting annoying
Try running 2 (or all of them) on the side closest to the diff. The manual has you put them on the side away from the diff and I noticed it seems like the small gear is too far away from the diff gear.
rod_b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 06:47 AM
  #5894  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Herts/Essex UK
Posts: 44
Default

Thanks I'll try that.
Rich_p is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:09 AM
  #5895  
Tech Regular
 
Thad Garner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Trabuco Canyon
Posts: 305
Default

Originally posted by X-Garage
Where to get HARA speedcontrol?
http://horizon.hobbyshopnow.com/prod...?prod=HBS90000
Thad Garner is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service