R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2001, 10:35 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
carpet_killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: k town,tn.
Posts: 260
Default i got a comm lathe but 1 more ???

i got a comm lathe but 1 more ???
i got a comm lathe now but i have a question? what kind of motor do i need to run my comm lathe .i got a xipp mod comm lathe from integy for a good price i guess.thanks for you alls input///
carpet_killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2001, 10:42 PM   #2
Tech Rookie
 
wonderboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Georgia
Posts: 17
Default motor for lathe

Hey carpet I have the same lathe and really like it. I bought one of the cheap stock Integy motor for it and run it off a 4 cell pack. Integy also offers a 55T motor that you can use with a 6 cell pack. I get great results using a stock motor and 4 cells. This set-up spins the armature just right to get clean cuts.
wonderboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2001, 10:46 PM   #3
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

For best results on any lathe, get an old mod can, and stick and old stock arm in it. Set the timing to 0. This way you have a very smooth and quiet motor
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2001, 10:46 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

Stock motors are fine, just make sure the timing on the drive motor is set to 0 degrees if the motor needs to be run in reverse.

*TIP*- use brushes that are the easiest on comms. There's no reason your drive motor needs blistering torque and top end to spin some arms. I use trinity's hard copper brushes. The reason for this you want the drive motor to last as long as possible. I beleive mine should last about 5 years with the amount of cuts I do.
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2001, 10:59 PM   #5
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

You can't set stock motors to 0 degrees of timing
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2001, 11:02 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

OOps- my mistake, if you make up a motor(in my case) using a mod can and stock arm, be sure to set the timing to zero if the motor needs to run in reverse. Thanks for the correction Speedo.
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2001, 11:06 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Speedo
You can't set stock motors to 0 degrees of timing
You can't? I have no trouble at all setting stock motors to any amount of timing. Except the Epic cans with flat sides, of course.

Trips
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2001, 11:51 PM   #8
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

Well, I was talking specifically about the epic cans really...But, I prefer my method of using the mod can, much quieter
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2001, 12:16 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
carpet_killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: k town,tn.
Posts: 260
Default reply

i don't have any mod motors , i only have 3 stock motors. a p2k pro and mvp ,and a new p2k2 pro. but i have an extra 6 cell pack and does it matter if the battery pack is matched,it is a pro match battery pack smh 3000 average volts are 1.143 on each cell.but just woundering.will it just be easer to get a certain motor.if so just tell me,and i will do that then.thanks
carpet_killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2001, 04:00 AM   #10
Regional Moderator
 
Addict sa RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quezon City, Philippines
Posts: 557
Default

You can get one of those Mabuchi or Johnson motors. Those would be fine.
Addict sa RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2001, 06:05 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Yokomo Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 711
Default

just use a mabuchi 540 motor from ye' ol' tamiya kits
Yokomo Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2001, 06:08 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
AE_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,127
Send a message via AIM to AE_Racer
Default

carpet, no need to use a good battery on it bud, just go buy a $15 stick pack and use it
AE_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2001, 09:44 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I wish someone had told me I bought a matched 4 cell 3000 smh pack and dyno tuned stock motor.... LOL I actually got a 17 turn speedworks motor with my lathe and use 4 old 1500 cells to power mine... But I do have to believe that a 4 cell NI-MH pack would be better, because you don't ever completely run down the batts when using the lathe.
__________________
G's RC Raceway- Best off-road track on the east coast...period!!!

Pitman for Team Dallas Austin...
IMPACTPLAYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2001, 09:56 AM   #14
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

LOL, you bought a SMH pack to run it...hehe...Better yet, get a T35 or something similar, then you never run out of power
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2001, 12:09 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
carpet_killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: k town,tn.
Posts: 260
Default reply

no i didn't go buy a pack of smh's to run it i just have an extra pack to spare , that are low #'s anyway.......
carpet_killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity Tru Lathe Motor Comm Cutter Lathe maximum R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-14-2007 04:56 PM
Hudy comm lathe and Fantom comm lathe ACEDEAN R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-02-2007 11:27 AM
XIPP Super Lathe 3 / (pics) comm lathe diamond bit evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 12-01-2006 12:53 PM
Trade EXTREME COMM LATHE(Hudy)for MUCH MORE COMM LATHE JoeyE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-07-2006 09:49 AM
Tire Lathe, Motor Dyno, Comm Lathe For Sale 17Mark71 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 06-05-2005 01:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net