SpeedMerchant Rev 5

Reply

Old 07-01-2009, 08:31 AM
  #436  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

I use the Associated 12R5 aluminum servo mounts.

https://www.ssl-stormerhobbies.com/c...=ns&pn=ASC4630

They are short for the mini servo's used in 1/12, allowing you to use both screw holes on the left and right of the servo. Yes, they use "metric" screws, but it's not like there aren't any other metric screws in use on the car. Part of the Silva shock included in the Rev.5L uses a 1.5mm set screw.
kn7671 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:35 AM
  #437  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
I'm using a Futaba 9650 so that should be easy enough, I'll try and when my buddy gives me those mounts I'll get Yang and AWD to mount them for me cause they're so freaking Captain awesome
what you will want to do then, is to drill the holes for the servo mounts and then shift the 9650 around until it line up. if you don't prep for the servo mounts now, you will need to buy a new chassis when you are ready for it
theisgroup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:38 AM
  #438  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EricF View Post
Does SM really offer that service (drilling the chassis)?

E
only for Adam. He is special
theisgroup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:51 AM
  #439  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (36)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,225
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
only for Adam. He is special
Team Kum N Go gets after it


I'm gonna use the associated ones my buddy is giving me but I'm going to servo tape it to the chassis to keep the servo steady while I figure out where to drill the holes.

I should have my mounts tomorrow morning
abailey21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:55 AM
  #440  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,782
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Send your chassis with my order and I'll mount it and send it back.
andrewdoherty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:56 AM
  #441  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (36)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,225
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
Send your chassis with my order and I'll mount it and send it back.
Call me when you get a second
abailey21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:03 AM
  #442  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
I'm using a Futaba 9650 so that should be easy enough, I'll try and when my buddy gives me those mounts I'll get Yang and AWD to mount them for me cause they're so freaking Captain awesome
just use the flat ears on the bottom of the servo and screws/locknuts... You dont really need servo mounts for this servo:

timmay70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:05 AM
  #443  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (36)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,225
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by timmay70 View Post
just use the flat ears on the bottom of the servo and screws/locknuts... You dont really need servo mounts for this servo:

Yeah I cut those off already

abailey21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:27 AM
  #444  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The asc offroad (t4/b4) mounts are standard hardware. Can't use all 4, but not really that big a deal. Just use cut #4 washers on the screws. My guess on the ones Dumas is using would be GPM ones (ala these: http://www.hobbyetc.com/cgi-bin/item...#ilikepictures)

Biggest thing I've learned when mounting a servo by drilling is line up your servo front to back within the little pocket in the chassis and then measure the distance from the front of the chassis to where the screw will go in the servo mount. Lock that distance down in your calipers and scribe a straight line so that both your servo holes will be the same distance from the front.
JoelV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:40 AM
  #445  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JoelV View Post
The asc offroad (t4/b4) mounts are standard hardware. Can't use all 4, but not really that big a deal. Just use cut #4 washers on the screws. My guess on the ones Dumas is using would be GPM ones (ala these: http://www.hobbyetc.com/cgi-bin/item...#ilikepictures)
those are the ones. he grinds down the lip on the bottom of the mounts so the servo mounts flat on the chassis
theisgroup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:21 AM
  #446  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EricF View Post
What do you use (size, where did you buy it) to countersink the holes? Does SM really offer that service (drilling the chassis)?

E
sorry, missed what you were asking. here is what I use.
http://www.niftech.com/catalog.php?mode=3000

near the bottom of the page. but I run titanium lower screws from lunsford. they have no lip to them so they sit a flush with the bottom of the chassis.
theisgroup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:16 AM
  #447  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Few Pics with the Thunderpower pack....fit is sweet

Kenny L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:19 AM
  #448  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (36)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,225
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
Few Pics with the Thunderpower pack....fit is sweet
Is that a receiver pack or booster in front of your ESC?
abailey21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:23 AM
  #449  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Booster
Kenny L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:24 AM
  #450  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (36)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,225
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
Booster
Tekin or someone else?

Looks way to small to be the Novak?
abailey21 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service