R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2009, 08:02 AM   #421
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
dailed
They were also dialed...
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:05 AM   #422
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Sorry Timmy
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:14 AM   #423
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Question for the Rev 5 guys. How are most of you attaching the servo to the chassis, I'm not the guy with the steady hand to drill out the chassis for the mounts.

So my question is who's just servo taping or shoe goo'ing the servo to the chassis and how many are using the mounts?
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:18 AM   #424
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Most of the team guys in our area and Dumas run these http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGHA2&P=7
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:33 AM   #425
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
Most of the team guys in our area and Dumas run these http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGHA2&P=7
You would still need to drill the chassis for those. He wanted to know what are people using without needing to use a drill.
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:41 AM   #426
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Well it's more of a bunch of local guys telling me they use servo tape instead of the mounts and they don't have an issue.

I'm a bit more apprehensive because I'm a hack and I don't know if that's going to hold up well enough.
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:46 AM   #427
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Adam my best advise is to drill and mount with some sort of mount. If you want I'll trace bottom of my chassis for you as temp let. You will need jr 3650 servo
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:49 AM   #428
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

you can shoe goo the servo to the chassis. I ran it that way for 1 year. but I can tell you that the first big race you go to with it that way and the thing will pop the shoe goo in your main. or at least that is what would happen to me. You should have had bruce drill the holes for you before he shipped. hell he build it for you. hahaha


btw, those are assoc mount. which are metric. not sure that bruce owns any metric drivers. lol

easiest way I have found to mount the servo is to shoe goo it where you want it and then find the mounts that you want and then drill the holes using the mounts as a template. also if you run the futaba servo, the mount holes are not as critical because the mounts for the futaba can be shifted a little.

before you start drilling, run the med kimbrough servo saver. it will mount a little different on the chassis. actually a little further rear then running the small servo saver.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:53 AM   #429
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
...You should have had bruce drill the holes for you before he shipped....
easiest way I have found to mount the servo is to shoe goo it where you want it and then find the mounts that you want and then drill the holes
What do you use (size, where did you buy it) to countersink the holes? Does SM really offer that service (drilling the chassis)?

E
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:53 AM   #430
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Well I have plenty of metric, only thing that ticks me off is that I just sold my T4 with those same mounts in them lol

I wonder if the new Schuie ones will fit????????
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:58 AM   #431
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricF View Post
What do you use (size, where did you buy it) to countersink the holes? Does SM really offer that service (drilling the chassis)?

E
team tamale makes some mounts that are alum that are exactly the same as what comes with the kit. I am having larry shrink the mount a little so that we can use 4 screws to mount the servo instead of the 2 from the stock mounts.

dumas is using something else. i forget the manufacture, but they are not the assoc mounts. I will call him and ask.

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
Well I have plenty of metric, only thing that ticks me off is that I just sold my T4 with those same mounts in them lol

I wonder if the new Schuie ones will fit????????
adam, if you want the assoc mounts. I have a couple/three sets that I am no longer using. I just hated to have 2 set of wrenches in my bag.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:00 AM   #432
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
team tamale makes some mounts that are alum that are exactly the same as what comes with the kit. I am having larry shrink the mount a little so that we can use 4 screws to mount the servo instead of the 2 from the stock mounts.

dumas is using something else. i forget the manufacture, but they are not the assoc mounts. I will call him and ask.



adam, if you want the assoc mounts. I have a couple/three sets that I am no longer using. I just hated to have 2 set of wrenches in my bag.
I got a local buddy of mine who's gonna give me his set of Assoc ones so i should be good but I'll let you know
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:21 AM   #433
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

here is the image of the team tamale servo mounts

http://home.earthlink.net/imagelib/s...target=tlx_new
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:26 AM   #434
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Adam, although I don't recommend it, I have used shoe goo in the past. It did once pop off the chassis like what was mentioned at a regional trophy race... It never popped off again.

Here's the trick, if you must use something other than screws... Pick up some Speed Merchant servo tape (BRP also has the same type, if you must...). Cut out a square that comes short from the edges of the servo by about 1/4". Remove the protective backing, then around the perimeter of the tape, put down a bead of shoegoo just a touch thicker than the servo tape. Center the servo saver over the hole, as mentioned in the manual, and press like hell. You are looking for the goo to form a nice radius like caulking around a bath tub.

The Futaba is the easiest to mount, as mentioned earlier...
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:31 AM   #435
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmay70 View Post
Adam, although I don't recommend it, I have used shoe goo in the past. It did once pop off the chassis like what was mentioned at a regional trophy race... It never popped off again.

Here's the trick, if you must use something other than screws... Pick up some Speed Merchant servo tape (BRP also has the same type, if you must...). Cut out a square that comes short from the edges of the servo by about 1/4". Remove the protective backing, then around the perimeter of the tape, put down a bead of shoegoo just a touch thicker than the servo tape. Center the servo saver over the hole, as mentioned in the manual, and press like hell. You are looking for the goo to form a nice radius like caulking around a bath tub.

The Futaba is the easiest to mount, as mentioned earlier...
I'm using a Futaba 9650 so that should be easy enough, I'll try and when my buddy gives me those mounts I'll get Yang and AWD to mount them for me cause they're so freaking Captain awesome
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedmerchant REV 4.0 rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 10-12-2007 07:29 PM
*** 1/12 Speedmerchant 4.0 *** rraden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 28 09-29-2007 06:46 AM
WTB CRC Gen X or Speedmerchant 4.5 rraden R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 7 06-05-2007 06:56 PM
Speedmerchant v4, Speedmerchant replica....and more BlackKat R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 07-25-2006 06:47 AM
Speedmerchant rev 4 BritRacer R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-28-2006 08:41 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:10 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net