R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2007, 09:47 PM   #1
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,489
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default 3200 LIPO ISSUES

I have 2 3200 Lipos from Peak Performance/Orion.
Both packs now have a bad connection on the + positive side.
Wiggle the positive plug going into the battery (gold push in type) and the power is off and on.
I'm told there's a small circuit board inside where the connection may be bad.
2 batteries same issues.
Anyone else have the same issues?
I know I'll have to get them returned and checked out but wanted to know if anyone has already been here.
Rick, I know you aren't at Peak anymore but you got any input?
Awesome job at the Worlds by the way.
By the way, I have that stock motor I was running forever at RCHR in a glass case like you suggested way back then.
Craig Hammon
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 09:49 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

What are you using to check it? The fact that it is happenin to two of them makes me think its whatever you are using to test that is faulty.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 10:35 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,489
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
What are you using to check it? The fact that it is happenin to two of them makes me think its whatever you are using to test that is faulty.
The test is the cars and charger.
I run 2w and 4w offroad, TC occasionally.
I was running 2w and the car stopped, no power. I pulled the body, wiggled wires and it turned on again, steering servo powered up etc.
Started to run it again thinking a connector came loose. It happened again.
It is at the positive port on the battery that is intermittant.
I changed the leads to the ports and no difference, still intermittant so I stopped using that battery.
Went to the other battery with no problems, same leads same cars.
Now I'm having the same problems with the second battery after using it for 2race nights, about 10 charge cycles. 2 practice runs and 3 heats (2 qualifiers and mains) each nite.
The Avionics charger shows "No battery detected" when trying to charge it.
I'm thinking the batterys aren't taking the jolts from offroading at So Cal.
Big jumps, doubles and triples. Make some and miss some.
Whatta you think?
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 10:42 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I supposed its possible they came from the same batch and that batch was bad. You would have to ask Orion. Seems like you have tested all the other possible causes and narrowed it down to the packs.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 10:42 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
magm20001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

are u using your own bullet plugs direct to the pack?

i suggest use the included bullet plug that came with the pack but get rid of the tamiya connector though
magm20001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 10:48 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Thats a good point. Its possible you bullet plugs arent snug enough.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 10:52 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,489
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magm20001 View Post
are u using your own bullet plugs direct to the pack?

i suggest use the included bullet plug that came with the pack but get rid of the tamiya connector though
I converted the tamiya connectors to Deans Ultras for both packs and I can switch em to test em. I really don't think it's the plugs unfortunately.
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 10:52 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Double Quattro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 120
Default

You should use 4mm bullet plugs. It's easy to overlook the size since 3mm and 3.5 are also common.
Double Quattro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 10:58 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,489
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I'm using the plugs/leads supplied with the batteries.
Not sure what size they come with. Hope they got it right tho.
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 06:34 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
peter p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Torquay
Posts: 199
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi mate it's not your plugs/leads its on the circuit board inside, i hade the same thing happen,the battery has a thin tab on it that goes through the circuit board and gets solded.when it go through the hole in the board it gets folded at 90 and can crack,dont know if this happens with a crash or not.one more thing dont try solder it it wont worksend it back
peter p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 03:34 PM   #11
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,489
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter p View Post
Hi mate it's not your plugs/leads its on the circuit board inside, i hade the same thing happen,the battery has a thin tab on it that goes through the circuit board and gets solded.when it go through the hole in the board it gets folded at 90 and can crack,dont know if this happens with a crash or not.one more thing dont try solder it it wont worksend it back
Yeh, I opened one up and saw the tabs.
Not much you can do with those but let them replace them.
Mine look ok and the solder on the circuit board is ok too.
Put it back together, taped it shut and guess what. It charged ok but I haven't tried to run it. Don't know what is different after reassembly but I don't expect it to stay good tho.
I don't have the second battery anymore. It was the first to go bad so I took it back to Orion/Kyosho cuz it's near where I live.
Dropped it in their mailbox on a Saturday. On that Monday I called em and they said they never got it. Maybe the mail carrier picked it up or something.
It's been 2 weeks, called the post office, Kyosho and talked to my mail carrier.
Post office said it should eventually get back to my address cuz it was the only address on it since I dropped it off instead of mailing it.
I think I'm hosed on this one tho.:confuse d:
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 06:42 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,489
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Opened up my lipo cases today and one of the thin tabs IS broken!
Maybe these things can't take it offroad!
2 dead batteries, same symptoms.
Mr Black, you hearin this? Will Orion/Peak help me out with this?
I don't think runnin em offroad sometimes should be considered abuse, should it?
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 08:24 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,208
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

so the 1st pack did NOT have a broken tab and the 2nd one had broken tab?
__________________
YOKObori MOkei
wyl03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 09:15 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,489
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyl03 View Post
so the 1st pack did NOT have a broken tab and the 2nd one had broken tab?
I never opened the first pack but the symptoms were the exact same.
I am only assuming at this point but since the pack appears to be lost in the mail, I may never know.
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 09:37 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,208
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

ok .. keep us in the loop. will be interested to know more.
have got the exact same battery used in offroad too
__________________
YOKObori MOkei
wyl03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
13.5 and 3200 lipo jrmac8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 03-05-2008 08:03 AM
lipo 3200 Teamorion 20c m3ndo5a R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 12-23-2007 09:42 PM
Orion 3200 Lipo Must Go CorallyBQuiK R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 12-04-2007 12:03 PM
3200 LIPO ISSUES F N CUDA Electric Off-Road 26 09-26-2007 08:42 PM
3200 lipo skizzbomb R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-18-2007 05:08 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:18 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net