R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2007, 07:02 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
hanzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default Futaba S9550 problem

I just got a new S9550 and plugged it in to my rx. Turned it on and it did not move. It did not respond to any steering. It is making a low humming sound. Anyone know what the problem could be? I am using a Spektrum DX2.0. On the box it says it's for NiCD batteries only, is this true?
hanzo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 07:23 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

check that you have it pluged in the correct way maybe??

Perhaps you have it plugged into the wrong chamel ? (see if the servo moves with the throttle)

???
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 07:29 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
hanzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Well I was using a HS 645MG before.
hanzo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 07:42 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Well The servo will may a low humming noise. I think most digital servos do. So the noise is not the problem but you may have a problem with your receiver. I would make sure you signal wires are the same as the Hitec servo you were using.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 07:48 PM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
HACHIROKU13BT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 39
Default S9550

The transmitter your using is the Spektrum 2.0 dx. Isn't that on analog, similar to PPM? And since the S9550 is a digital servo, hence the humming. Shouldn't the digital servo be run on HRS? Not compatible.
HACHIROKU13BT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 07:54 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

I read your first post again. I actually have the exact same setup (DX 2.0 and S9550)...and mine worfs fine.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 08:06 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
hanzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Did you have to cut off the tabs to make it fit?
hanzo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 08:23 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
Did you have to cut off the tabs to make it fit?
I cut the tab off a while ago (I've had my s9550 for over 3 years)...so yes you may have to do that.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 08:27 PM   #9
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HACHIROKU13BT View Post
The transmitter your using is the Spektrum 2.0 dx. Isn't that on analog, similar to PPM? And since the S9550 is a digital servo, hence the humming. Shouldn't the digital servo be run on HRS? Not compatible.
No, its the other way around.

If you run HRS, you must use digital servos.

But digital servos themselves can be used with any radio type.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 08:35 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
I read your first post again. I actually have the exact same setup (DX 2.0 and S9550)...and mine worfs fine.
Ditto. Same stuff works fine for me too. It's possible that you got a bad servo, just be sure to check the pins in the receiver aren't bent, and that you have the positive/negative lined up correctly.
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 08:57 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
I read your first post again. I actually have the exact same setup (DX 2.0 and S9550)...and mine worfs fine.
Mine does also

It hum's and little but thats all


Is it possible you could try the servo of someone elses radio or something? To make shure its the servo and not something else
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 12:52 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
hanzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

If I shave off the edges, and switch it so it has a reverse polarity, would that work? I just want to make sure before I shave the connector. I bought this servo new from a member on this board. Should I return it to futaba?
hanzo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 01:13 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

make sure your RX didnt unbind itself to your radio. Digital servo hum when there is resistance to the gear side to side if you turn it. when there is no resistance, its quiet
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 09:44 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
racer34v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,736
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to racer34v
Default

i agree rebind your tx/rx first!
racer34v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 09:48 AM   #15
Tech Master
 
racer34v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,736
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to racer34v
Default

also try another servo
racer34v is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba S9550 prettyinpink Australia For Sale/Trade 1 07-27-2008 11:44 PM
wtb: Futaba S9550 ernieball R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 05-13-2007 09:52 PM
WTB: Futaba s9550 OR Futaba s9451 rays_tt Australia For Sale/Trade 0 09-02-2006 01:31 AM
Futaba S9550 Rody Australia Wanted to Buy 4 05-06-2006 07:13 AM
Futaba s9550 BritRacer R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 01-03-2006 09:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:23 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net