R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-14-2003, 04:29 PM   #16
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 63
Default

KO Propo use 1000uF capacitors but they are rated 35v. Why is this? It only makes it bibber and more heavy. No?
Black Adder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 06:22 PM   #17
Tech Adept
 
kaizen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 120
Default

Can we get an answer or pic (as suggested by doublest) on how this is done? I am especially curious to how the parallel setup looks/works. e.g. does one simply solder the negatives and positives on the capacitors together and attach to the negatives and positives on the ESC, or is some other voodoo required.

Please advise.

Thanks in advance.
Kaizen
kaizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 02:06 AM   #18
Tech Adept
 
doublest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 121
Send a message via MSN to doublest
Default

As jcr said, does it make much of a difference in stock class.

Cheers

P.S. gets sum pics on here
doublest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 09:46 AM   #19
Tech Master
 
Speed Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ROCK GARDEN
Posts: 1,053
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
I've just soldered the 2 x 4700 caps in parallel and wired them up to my GT7.
Do you mean that the capacitor that comes with GT7 is also rated 4700uF?? how about the voltage rating???
__________________
CUSTOM CRAWLER & ROCK STACKER
Speed Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 02:49 PM   #20
Tech Adept
 
kaizen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 120
Default

The information that i have received is that is does make a difference in stock as well as mod - result being more punch on the higher uF capacitors.

One would presume that since a stock motor may exhibit many of the same characteristics (in terms of "draw" -- considering additional drag associated with bushings and "higher" winds) as a modified motor, that an ESC would benefit from power capacitors regardless of whether it is attached to a Mod or Stock motor. But, I am no EE. Neverthless, I will be testing this theory this weekend.

Regardless, it is a relatively inexpensive mod and (as I see it) is worth experimenting with. I picked a couple of 4700uF 35V units yesterday from my local Electronics Store for about $5.25 (US) each.

Cheers, Stu
kaizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 02:53 PM   #21
jcr
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 446
Default

ok a low impendence and high frequency capacitor, isn't that low ESR capacitor? If so isn't it harder to find those (since most electronic store don't have it or the ones i've looked at)?

or can we just use any capacitor?
jcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2003, 05:03 AM   #22
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 250
Send a message via ICQ to JesseT
Default

A power capacitor makes a huge difference at partial throttle settings, no effect to full throttle power, not punch not acceleration. This is all dyno tested to back my theory. There should also be an older thread on this topic.
JesseT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2003, 05:25 AM   #23
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grimsby, UK
Posts: 212
Default

yes it is a low esr capacitor.

90% of the time you can use any capacitor, and i've used a variety without any ill effects. if you get one that can't hack the pace then apparently they blow up but don't cause any harm to the speedo. i can't verify this as i've nver blown one up though.


sanj
schumacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2003, 06:43 AM   #24
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MattW
From a capacatance point of view yes 2x4700uf caps in parallel would be the same as a single 9400uf. However the 2 caps would have much higher impedance that the single cap. In capacitors impedance goes down as capacitance goes up.

For info the large cap in the LRP worlds kit is 4700uF, and certainly looks to me to be a Panasonic made cap.
Yes, but impedance will also be lowered when you parallel caps. 2 4700 in parallel will have half the impedance of one 4700. 3 gives one third impedance and so on.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2003, 04:58 PM   #25
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 457
Default

Higher voltage capacitors have higher impedence. Use a 10 or 16 volt capacitor.

Higher voltage readings, thus higher voltage to cross the cap. Impedence is resistance to alternating current. its not exactly the same as resisitance to direct current.
Pit Crew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2003, 04:45 AM   #26
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 422
Default

Here`s a pic of my mates TC3, he uses a 16v 10000uf powercap on his speedo.
I will get some pics up on my car to when i get hold of a digicam...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg powercap.jpg (23.3 KB, 201 views)
__________________
Tamiya FF03 Pro
Xray XII Link
3 Racing F1-09

Last edited by Hatebreed; 05-17-2003 at 07:36 AM.
Hatebreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2003, 12:57 PM   #27
Tech Adept
 
dirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 116
Lightbulb

This thread is very informative...this is all new to me.

I have a Novak 410-M5 esc, where would I solder the tabs of the cap to the esc? Thanks for any info.
dirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2003, 01:37 PM   #28
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

using a 10000 uf capacitor on my cyclone esc and a p2k 2 pro motor

will it fry it

same with a mvp motor and a futaba MC230CR (lower class futaba esc)
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2003, 01:55 PM   #29
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: W. Coast
Posts: 143
Default

I've just got a large dent on my power capacitor for my Novak TC2. Since I need to replace one I would like to know
where can I buy one in States other than from Novak or Radio Shack? any Online store?
Thanks,
D.
DoCoMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2003, 03:22 PM   #30
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma City,Oklahoma
Posts: 20
Default

Try www.allelectronics.com they have them cheap and ask for the catalog.
MaddogTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Capacitor simba350 Australia Wanted to Buy 9 06-04-2006 04:53 AM
Bad Power Capacitor??? 2BAD4ALL Electric On-Road 4 11-24-2004 11:59 AM
Power Capacitor ?? T.SATO Electric On-Road 10 04-12-2004 05:18 PM
Power Capacitor T.SATO Rookie Zone 7 04-08-2004 04:49 PM
power capacitor - TC3 Brazilian Electric On-Road 11 01-12-2002 08:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:53 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net