R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2003, 09:20 AM   #1
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default Charger/Discharger Question

I am going to be getting a Turbo 35 GFX here in a week or so, but I am wondering what I should power it with. I was looking at the Rivergate 30 amp, and 45 amp bulldog power supplies. I will never be discharging at more than 20 amps though, so it there a need to go with the 45 amp, or will the 30 do fine. I believe it only runs in motors at 20 amps as well...
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 09:36 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

I powered mine with this puppy. The 32 amps connectors are on the back of the unit.





Spec of the unit here http://www.alinco.com/Products/DM-330MV/


You can buy them here HAM Radio Outlet
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 10:00 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine
Default

I think you'll be fine with the 30. I have the 30 and I have powered two chargers and a tire truer off it and it hasn't even barely turned the cooling fan on. The only feature of the 30 that I do not like is the huge power cord and how it's so close to the +/- terminals. I wish it was routed to the back where the cooling fan is.
John Fontaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 10:42 AM   #4
CGR
Tech Regular
 
CGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 384
Default

I run my 2 pitbulls, T35 and fan off a bulldog 30A. I ws gonna get the 45 but I found a killer deal on a used 30.
CGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 07:14 PM   #5
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Wow, that alinco supply is cheaper than I thought it would be, havent heard of them in the past though, they as good as rivergate.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 07:28 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
mushu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 72
Default

Here's a great power supply, the Samlex 1223 (23 amp const. 25amp max) I power my Turbo35bl and lathe with no heat problems. This is great piece of equipment that's well regarded in ham radio circles. It's super cheap at 90 bucks and half the size of a Rivergate supply!

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hamps/3747.html

Last edited by mushu; 05-13-2003 at 09:51 PM.
mushu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 09:22 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
rto997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: EVERYWHERE I WANT TO BE!!!
Posts: 745
Default

Mushu- That is the one I power my Turbo35GFX with....It does a great job, small and a great price!!!
__________________
Royal Rumble Racing- OG
rto997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 05:22 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
Wow, that alinco supply is cheaper than I thought it would be, havent heard of them in the past though, they as good as rivergate.
Yes, Alinco is uses for communication equipment. There for the power supply have to be as clean as possible. The unit has a fan on the back, you can't see it from the photo. Maybe tonight when I get home. I'll take some photos and post them here.

Here is just an example of the equipmment I am using.



You don't see the rivergate pwr supply on my bench, do you?


Yep, for $150 can't go wrong with that
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track

Last edited by komkit; 05-14-2003 at 07:19 AM.
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 09:30 AM   #9
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Dam, that is one heck of a rc bench, lol. I will propably end up with the Alinco, but I am wondering how I can run the lathe off of it as well, wouldn't you need a voltage drop, or would I run the lathe from the Turbo 35GFX?
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 09:32 AM   #10
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Also, in the pic, it shows 5A max, and 10A max outputs, am I looking at the wrong part or???
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 10:33 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
Also, in the pic, it shows 5A max, and 10A max outputs, am I looking at the wrong part or???
Nope, u r looking at the right one.

The 10A max is a cigarettes adeptor. So, you can use whatever that can plug in there that is needs lower than 10amp current. ie: charging your cell phone, watch portable TV

2 set of the 5A max is left to your imagination.

The 32A max is on the back.

Well, to run your comm lathe you need to use the regulator that can give you 2-3 VDC or yes, your T-35.

Not many power supply that can do 1-30VDC, with out paying too much anyway.

I am using the Hewlett Packard Lab power supply to work on the motor and lathe. Which give me 1-30VDC and 15A max.
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 10:37 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
Dam, that is one heck of a rc bench, lol. I will propably end up with the Alinco, but I am wondering how I can run the lathe off of it as well, wouldn't you need a voltage drop, or would I run the lathe from the Turbo 35GFX?
Unfortunately, the power supply can only go down to 5VDC.

But who is currently make the power supply that can go down to 2VDC with out cost you arms and legs?
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 10:40 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Oh, not to mention you'll make people turnning their heads when they walk pass by your pit area with the Alinco power turn on.... with the LED and backlit and all the looks...

I don't drive too good, just wanted to looks good hahahaha
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 06:30 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: In Da Club
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to M Ignacio
Default Which One????

Should I get the Alinco or the Rivergate 30 amp power supply? They are practically the same price more or less.
M Ignacio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 08:01 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default Ok, let me do this - u make the call

Okay, here is the back of Alinco.





Okay, what kind of Switching Power Supplied I got..??









OKay, now - what do I use to power my T-35GFX?




Good Luck
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
charger/discharger question oldfart Electric On-Road 1 06-13-2007 06:14 AM
Discharger Question Evilstealth Electric On-Road 2 06-06-2007 03:19 AM
Battery and discharger question Elboogie Electric On-Road 1 05-15-2007 10:25 AM
Discharger question JimClark Electric On-Road 6 03-02-2007 03:48 PM
Another discharger question JusBox Electric On-Road 6 11-13-2003 01:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:09 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net