R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2007, 02:57 AM   #16
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 182
Default

What would happen if you run an XBR with a 6.5 or 4.5 turn BL. The recommended lowest turn is 8.5. Would it go themal??? Anyone try it?
chumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 06:26 AM   #17
Tech Addict
 
wfdfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 598
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

when you run a lower turn brushless motor than what the esc is rated for you will notice the esc heats up very very quick. I tried it for ha ha's on a lrp speedo with a low turn novak brushless.....after a minute of running the esc was very hot so I turned it off and said enough. I was trying to run a 6.5 motor with the epa turned way down....it still overheated the esc.
wfdfiremedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 11:29 AM   #18
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I thought one of the things that made a difference was the BEC on the XBR is only 1.5 where the GTB is 3.0? To be honest im not even sure that makes a difference for a club racer.
wcalaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 11:37 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wcalaker View Post
I thought one of the things that made a difference was the BEC on the XBR is only 1.5 where the GTB is 3.0?
There are a lot of differences between them...but they're not all terribly important if you're running a 13.5 touring car.

If you want the total badass ESC, get the GTB...but if that's the way you are...you probably wouldn't be asking what the differences are, you'd just go buy the top-of-the-line ESC because it's the most badass, right?

My XBR seems to be able to run digital servos in a buggy or TC without overheating, so I would say it's plenty capable in that regard.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 12:06 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

does the XBR have the external capacitor like the GTB?
__________________
Team Associated RC10B4.2
Losi Rock Rey
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 12:12 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

also, i've heard that the XBR can't handle an Orion 4800 Platinum Lipo pack, only a 3200 Lipo. is this true? can I run a 2 cell Lipo in a 2 series 2 parallel configuration such as the Platinum?
__________________
Team Associated RC10B4.2
Losi Rock Rey
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 12:18 PM   #22
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
also, i've heard that the XBR can't handle an Orion 4800 Platinum Lipo pack, only a 3200 Lipo. is this true? can I run a 2 cell Lipo in a 2 series 2 parallel configuration such as the Platinum?
Why would it not be able to handle the 4800? Only the mah is the difference for the esc. Volts and cut off are the same. You heard from a bad source.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 01:05 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
does the XBR have the external capacitor like the GTB?
Yep, but it's way smaller. It doesn't have the circuit board on it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
also, i've heard that the XBR can't handle an Orion 4800 Platinum Lipo pack, only a 3200 Lipo. is this true? can I run a 2 cell Lipo in a 2 series 2 parallel configuration such as the Platinum?


Guess I better go check my RB-5...it might have blown up last might and I just didn't know it...LOL...XBR and 4800 Platinum. I run it every week and have for months. Like Dodgeguy said, the Mah makes no difference.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 02:37 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,874
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

..something to consider when looking at the XBR vs the GTB - you can get the Original Version of the GTB reman'd from NOVAK direct for I believe $119 on their web site.

It doesn't have the LIPO cutoff, but they have been an awesome speed control..and that's not too shabby of a price for a unit w/ a warranty...
SWTour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 03:01 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWTour View Post
..something to consider when looking at the XBR vs the GTB - you can get the Original Version of the GTB reman'd from NOVAK direct for I believe $119 on their web site.

It doesn't have the LIPO cutoff, but they have been an awesome speed control..and that's not too shabby of a price for a unit w/ a warranty...
Thats the truth. I bought one and it works great. When you buy a remanufactured GTB, specify in ur email that you would like one with a lipo cutoff. If they have it in stock, they'll send it.
__________________
R40-Pondering a new Red Dot
Hara Pro4-GTB/3.5/Max Amps-yea.
Pondering moving on to Xray-have to go with a winner. If you cant beat em, join em!

I gear to run and win, not to THERMAL!
bxpitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 04:54 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

sweet, thanks fellas. you've made my decision much clearer. the XBR appears to have all my needs, and i don't see myself racing anything below a 10.5. i guess i don't need the fan if i will be racing primarily brushed motors, 19t at the most.
__________________
Team Associated RC10B4.2
Losi Rock Rey
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 05:34 AM   #27
Tech Addict
 
Mitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 577
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

lets say there are 2 identical cars with same gearing and everything. one has gtb and 1 has xbr both 13.5. would the gtb go faster or would they be equal. also can u use a 13.5 pro motor on the xbr?
__________________
___ _________________________
___ |__|__|__|__|__|__|__|_____\
____ |__T Associated fan bus _|_| __\_
____ |_________________ |_| ____|
____ |_(@"@)____________|_|(@)__|

HOP ON BOARD!!
Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 07:08 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchell View Post
lets say there are 2 identical cars with same gearing and everything. one has gtb and 1 has xbr both 13.5. would the gtb go faster or would they be equal. also can u use a 13.5 pro motor on the xbr?
The GTB would not necessarily be faster, it can just handle lower turn motors then what the XBR can. Yes you can use a 13.5 Pro for that is what I run in my MF2 and I also have a 13mm rotor in it. The other thing I did with my XBR was replace the Cap on it. I thought the stock one seemed a little small so I took one from an old GT7 I had lying around and swapped it out. I asked Weiss if this would be a problem and he said no. In fact he said it may be a bit of a performance gain. I don't run a fan on my XBR either and it does not even get that warm after a race, so no worries there either.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 10:22 AM   #29
Tech Addict
 
gubbs3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 619
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Would anyone happen to know what motors the XBR will handle in a 1/12 scale? 99% of the time I would only run 13.5 and 10.5 but would still want the option of running maybe a 6.5 for a big race.
gubbs3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 10:47 AM   #30
Tech Adept
 
fruitland04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 106
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Silly me I posted the same question in (of all places) Radio and Electronics. I got 3 responses, one of which was a copy and paste of the specs. Anyway, I'm glad someone else asked the question. It made my decision easier as well.

I think I'll go with the XBR and save some dough. I do this for fun and my driving and tuning skills aren't good enough to notice the difference in the 2 esc's.

Thanks guys for your input.

Darrin
__________________
Jesus died for sinners, of which I am the worst.
Do you know Him?
fruitland04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Differences between M03 & M04? big al Electric On-Road 15 10-05-2015 10:02 AM
ZX-5 & ZX-5 SP...what are the differences? STRINGCHEESE Electric Off-Road 4 06-06-2008 01:48 PM
differences sskline Nitro Off-Road 3 02-03-2008 07:21 PM
differences in the DF-2 and DT-02 willabong Electric Off-Road 5 11-01-2007 09:26 PM
what is the differences between 1/8 and 1/10 BIGGERSTUFF Electric Off-Road 2 08-12-2003 03:29 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:13 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net