Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree4Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Old 01-21-2008, 03:24 AM
  #1111  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,370
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pijjetrf View Post
hi ed thanks for the info will have a look hope you did not mind me using your setup sheet
p.s have sent u a p.m
pm back at you
TryHard is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 05:11 AM
  #1112  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: VA
Posts: 3,964
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vicko View Post
so anyone tryed to fit the cyclone metal front C-hubs on the 416 yets?
or any other types of metal c-hubs?
I ordered some of these to try.

http://precisionrc.com/nv/car/produc...oduct_id=54170

I also ordered quite a few sets of the stock c-hubs too.
Apex is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 05:48 AM
  #1113  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,267
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kenneth Tan View Post
Fitting of stick packs:


arrived
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X-ta-9114036.jpg  
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:29 PM
  #1114  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: VA
Posts: 3,964
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jilles View Post
Hello Guys,

Attached my set-up from DHI Cup last weekend.
Marc's set-up was same, Viktor only used 0.5mm rollcenter shims and front 0.5mm anti-dive.

Jilles
Jilles - What tire additive did you use? And how did you apply the additive to the tires. From some of the pictures it looks like you were just applying a stripe of additive down the middle of the rear tires?
Apex is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 03:10 PM
  #1115  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
Vicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,056
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I order those too
also order the cyclone type to try also
Vicko is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 09:11 PM
  #1116  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
CLK@racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 343
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Dear moderators,

Just would like to request you to change this thread name to read: Tamiya TRF416

Thank you
CLK@racing is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 09:18 PM
  #1117  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Dear moderators,

Just would like to request you to change this thread name to read: Tamiya TRF416

Thank you
... no joke
adamge is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 09:34 PM
  #1118  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,269
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by adamge View Post
... no joke
Intruder alert! Don't you have a battery bar to flatten out? :-D
syndr0me is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 11:03 PM
  #1119  
Tech Regular
 
bigbutstupid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Asia
Posts: 454
Default

Does anyone know if the F part for tamiya (battery post) might fit the 416? it seems like it does. i dont really like shrinked wrap battery pack as i cant individually discharge the cells. and dont like battery tapes too.
bigbutstupid is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 01:44 AM
  #1120  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dresden, germany
Posts: 56
Default

Originally Posted by adamge View Post
... no joke
Sorry, but I like "no joke"
Ya~~~TRF416 is not a joke!!!
jontang001 is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 11:24 AM
  #1121  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (74)
 
Customworksking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Springfield ILLINOIS
Posts: 3,661
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default 415,416

so what from my 415 can I use for the 416 a-arms ? I know the a,b,c,d blocks
Customworksking is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 11:55 AM
  #1122  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Heemstede
Posts: 13
Default

JimmyMac,

When building the shocks I adjust the rebound by lifting the shock piston up till a certain height. Then I check the rebound and make all for the same. Normally I use very little rebound so I move the piston all the way up and let the oil coming out as much as possible. Difficult to explain but try as much as you can and you will learn it.


Apex, I used CS high grip. Most drivers used it. Rear we applied full and 40 minutes before the run. Front 2/3 and 15 minutes before the run. The additive dryed out pretty soon so that's why it looks like we applied it in the middle.
The arms we used where the Evo5 arms.

Maybe I missed some question but feel free to ask again.

Anyone coming to the Snowbirds next week?

Jilles
Jilles is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 12:07 PM
  #1123  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,370
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jilles View Post
JimmyMac,

When building the shocks I adjust the rebound by lifting the shock piston up till a certain height. Then I check the rebound and make all for the same. Normally I use very little rebound so I move the piston all the way up and let the oil coming out as much as possible. Difficult to explain but try as much as you can and you will learn it.


Apex, I used CS high grip. Most drivers used it. Rear we applied full and 40 minutes before the run. Front 2/3 and 15 minutes before the run. The additive dryed out pretty soon so that's why it looks like we applied it in the middle.
The arms we used where the Evo5 arms.

Maybe I missed some question but feel free to ask again.

Anyone coming to the Snowbirds next week?

Jilles
Hi Jilles,

Quick question regarding rebound. I set a full set of shocks up with minimal rebound. I did this by taking the the spring retainer, putting it on the shaft and then pressing the shaft up until the retainer was hard against the shock body... just an easy method to ensure the setting was the same. Checked them after setting, and all were achieving 4mm of rebound, at the same return rates.

Anyway, took the shocks off yesterday following a couple of runs on saturday night, and the amount of rebound seems to have gone up to 10mm+ now! is this normal? Or should I be checking for a leak somewhere (no oil leaks or trapped air was apparent in the shocks).

I'm not running anything above the bladder, so wonder if that was having an affect.

Good luck at the 'birds... bit of a long way to travel for me!
Ed

Last edited by TryHard; 01-23-2008 at 03:01 AM. Reason: making more sense... shocks with no oil, wtf?
TryHard is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 01:02 PM
  #1124  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thank you Jilles. I have just started building my shocks this way. I will test it out this weekend.

I have been goin to the Snow birds for several years. But didn't go last year. And can't make it this year. Perhaps next year. Have fun out there. I will be looking forward to your results.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 01:27 PM
  #1125  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: VA
Posts: 3,964
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Can we get CS Electronic High Grip in the U.S.? I hate using Paragon. P.U.!!!
Apex is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.