Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree4Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Old 01-25-2011, 08:02 AM
  #10201  
Tech Adept
 
Fabricio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 210
Default

Originally Posted by Markus View Post
I have to believe Tamiya released the 416x Lipo chassis and then discontinued it to boost the sale of the new 417. (everyone would just get the upgrade chassis.)

I have the Tamiya lipo chassis and it balances perfectly on balance dots without any additional weights. I have added two 7gram weights to the sides of the steering rack to make our legal weight (1380). mine weights in at 1384 race ready.
Markus, that is what I believe too, but you know, I bought the car last year when it was released, the day it went into sales at rcmodel I placed the order and I really don't want to go for the 417 just because of that.
I am looking now at getting the Exotek or the Smokem, doesn't make me happy because I like to use original stuff on my cars but seems that it is the only way to go now.

If someone knows or want to sell this upgrade kit PM me.
Fabricio is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 08:04 AM
  #10202  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
jonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Johor, Malaysia
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by COLD AS ICE View Post
this may sound like a stupid question but why does the 416 seem to shred rear belts so much in modified touring?
ru using gear diff or ball diff? If it's gear diff, u need to set the belt tighter than the ball diff. Otherwise, replace worn pulleys as worn pulleys would wear belt faster. And do check the pulleys shimming (left / right)

Hope this helps.
jonest is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 12:45 PM
  #10203  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I run a ball dif and the pulleys don't seem to be worn out next to check is spacing. Are you saying that my center layshaft should be centered in the car?
COLD AS ICE is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 04:24 AM
  #10204  
Tech Adept
 
Fabricio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 210
Default Lipo chassis upgrade

Well seems that I am not going to be able to get hold of a Tamiya Lipo Upgrade Kit.
Tried in all stores and all were out of stock, sent emails for a couple of them but all of them have returned to me saying they do not have a precise information if they are going to have it back in stock, shame.

Now my 2 options:
- Exotek
- Smokem.

I would like to have some opinions about those 2 brands and if someone have tried them post your comments about the performance.

I am really interested on the Exotek one, as it comes with those metal weights so you don't need to add too much lead and it also helps the lipo to stay in place.

Let me know your thoughts.
Fabricio is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 07:01 AM
  #10205  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
5tylez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 133
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

does anyone know of the 416x Lipo chassis & the 417 chassis have the same screw hole positions?

I want to try 417 chassis on a 416x.
5tylez is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 07:06 AM
  #10206  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 5tylez View Post
does anyone know of the 416x Lipo chassis & the 417 chassis have the same screw hole positions?

I want to try 417 chassis on a 416x.
No the 417 chassis is different.
PitNamedGordie is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 07:43 AM
  #10207  
Tech Apprentice
 
H.N.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 76
Default

Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
No the 417 chassis is different.
Is this confirmed? I have a buddy that has both 417 and 416 swears that it will fit and all the holes lines up.
H.N. is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 07:55 AM
  #10208  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lynnwood, Washington
Posts: 1,037
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by H.N. View Post
Is this confirmed? I have a buddy that has both 417 and 416 swears that it will fit and all the holes lines up.
I had both the exotek and the 417 and no the screw holes don't line up.

Regarding the exotek chassis. I thought it was really nice. Not sure why people dislike the graphite servo arm. It holds the servo in place just fine and sits high enough where there's no chance of rubbing. I personally prefer the servo arm over the little bump that's on the smokem and tamiya chassis. I've been tempted to grind off the bump and use a servo tape + inner servo mount combo.
malkiy is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:32 AM
  #10209  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,372
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by H.N. View Post
Is this confirmed? I have a buddy that has both 417 and 416 swears that it will fit and all the holes lines up.
Your buddy needs to look again.. no hope in hell of the screws lining up!
TryHard is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 05:11 PM
  #10210  
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

what is the difference between the original 416 and the 416x?
thanx
guinnes.s is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 05:11 PM
  #10211  
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

what is the difference between the original 416 and the 416x?
can i convert my 416 to 416x????
thanx
guinnes.s is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 06:01 PM
  #10212  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
Ray k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,018
Trader Rating: 47 (98%+)
Default

The first three cars are , and major highlights

416 ,the start


416we, improved top deck and chassis with battery position change, improved front motor mount foot,but motor position the same the 416


416x, narrower front track width ,motor mount position 1mm inward, redesign lower bulk head to change rear flex, rear diff moved back 1.8 mm
Ray k is offline  
Old 01-30-2011, 09:36 PM
  #10213  
Tech Regular
 
Blueman Austria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 427
Default

Hy!

Dose anyone know if the 415 spool cups (white ones) also fit the 416, or the 416 black ones the 415? Of course with the matching sleeves.

greetings Blueman.
Blueman Austria is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 03:37 AM
  #10214  
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

need some explanations regarding droop.
i m looking at this setup http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/tami...buryNOWRd3.pdfand if i have 6.5mm on the front of droop no way i can get 5mm on the ride height,the max i can go is 3.5mm.
what mi missing??
thanx
guinnes.s is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 07:33 AM
  #10215  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by guinnes.s View Post
need some explanations regarding droop.
i m looking at this setup http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/tami...buryNOWRd3.pdfand if i have 6.5mm on the front of droop no way i can get 5mm on the ride height,the max i can go is 3.5mm.
what mi missing??
thanx
I assume you are using a droop gauge? If you are, where are you measuring your droop?
PitNamedGordie is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.