Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree3Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Reply

Old 04-28-2010, 07:20 PM
  #8791  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (63)
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

416we stabilizer bars in black??

I cant find them instock anywhere, only the coloured red, yellow and blue ones which look crap.

anyone help?
LOSI123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 09:11 PM
  #8792  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone had luck with the 416x in parking lot mod racing? I'll be running on a bumpy unprepared surface using 7-8turn or 4.5 motors
M3dreamin2008 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 09:44 PM
  #8793  
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,552
Default

Those with Smokem chassis, how thick is your chassis? How do find its handling on carpet with rubber tyres?
dameetz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 10:46 PM
  #8794  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
Those with Smokem chassis, how thick is your chassis? How do find its handling on carpet with rubber tyres?
haven't run it on carpet but it's 2.3mm thick, the weave is different to the stock one so it probably behaves more like the 2.5mm

Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
416we stabilizer bars in black??

I cant find them instock anywhere, only the coloured red, yellow and blue ones which look crap.

anyone help?
Good luck mate! they were rare as hens teeth when the 416 first came out. I've never seen a setup from any of the TRF team that didn't use the kit sway bars tho
CraigM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 11:08 PM
  #8795  
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,552
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
haven't run it on carpet but it's 2.3mm thick, the weave is different to the stock one so it probably behaves more like the 2.5mm
CraigM, for asphalt, is it a better handling chassis compare to the stock one? What differences have you noticed?
dameetz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 11:46 PM
  #8796  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (63)
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

CraigM:

damn, yeah mine are bent/tweaked, i have the coloured ones but they look crap
LOSI123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 03:46 AM
  #8797  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
CraigM, for asphalt, is it a better handling chassis compare to the stock one? What differences have you noticed?
Compared to the stock chassis on the original 416, it rotates harder and changes direction better, but in low grip I had trouble getting the power down with it

Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
CraigM:

damn, yeah mine are bent/tweaked, i have the coloured ones but they look crap
you should be able to get rid of the tweak by adjusting the link lengths. Check the Jilles video on how it's done. Otherwise tamiya also made white and milk blue sway bar sets so you might be able to source them somewhere. They look a lot better than those poxy coloured ones
CraigM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:23 AM
  #8798  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (63)
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Rear one is bent very badly,

Will EVO V sway bars fit?

Last edited by LOSI123; 04-29-2010 at 05:25 AM.
LOSI123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 07:08 AM
  #8799  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Just buy the colored bars and spray paint them or sand the color off.
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 12:45 PM
  #8800  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,197
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
416we stabilizer bars in black??

I cant find them instock anywhere, only the coloured red, yellow and blue ones which look crap.

anyone help?
this link had 416X black color
http://rcmarket.com.hk/index.php?cPath=51_98_120_176
RC MARKET is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 02:12 AM
  #8801  
Tech Apprentice
 
AZ416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 83
Default

Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
416we stabilizer bars in black??

I cant find them instock anywhere, only the coloured red, yellow and blue ones which look crap.

anyone help?
if your desperate sand down the coloured sway bars with 1000-1200gritt paper, make sure u keep it round and not sand the sway bars flat, and paint them with tamiya black paint, use really light coats and let them dry well...
AZ416 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 02:42 AM
  #8802  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
Yokomo_Ant3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,410
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Paintstripper? Then just paint them black
Yokomo_Ant3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 05:29 PM
  #8803  
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,552
Default

How do untweak your chassis if some of the flat screw head are protruding a bit or not even flush with the bottom of the chassis?
dameetz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 06:34 PM
  #8804  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
KHoff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
How do untweak your chassis if some of the flat screw head are protruding a bit or not even flush with the bottom of the chassis?
Use some droop blocks. You can place them so they only touch the graphite. Jilles does this in his Videos.
KHoff7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 11:15 PM
  #8805  
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,552
Default

Originally Posted by KHoff7 View Post
Use some droop blocks. You can place them so they only touch the graphite. Jilles does this in his Videos.

Ok thanks, i just watched the video again on youtube. I try it.
dameetz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service