Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree4Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Old 10-29-2009, 01:48 PM
  #6946  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
i want to replace the 5mm ball joints on my TRF but i want to use either steel or Flurine coate ones , just to stop the wear

does any one have a part number for them ??

both the nut type and the screw type
For the steering on my car I replaced them with the new Xray steel ball studs they are 8mm studs and with the cups a pretty slop free and strong to boot. I think if you go back a couple of pages Syndrome posted the part numbers for the Tamiya ones.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 03:14 PM
  #6947  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
i want to replace the 5mm ball joints on my TRF but i want to use either steel or Flurine coate ones , just to stop the wear

does any one have a part number for them ??

both the nut type and the screw type
Go with the Fluorine - 53598 (stud) and 53599 (nut).
veecee is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 06:08 PM
  #6948  
ark
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Just a question. Im after some D and E blocks for WE. Are the 3 racing sus mount blocks the same as the tamiya ines? (Im looking at RC Markets inventory)
example: 3 racing part number 3R-415-01/1D
Tamiya part number 51068 (D)

cheers
ark is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 06:16 PM
  #6949  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default Axle Length?

Sorry I've never used the 3Racing blocks but you would expect that they would have done a half decent copy job!

AXLE LENGTH
Can someone please tell me the length of the Tamiya axle? I'm after the total length of just the shaft area. Unfortunately I dremelled mine down so I don't know for sure... Thanks.
veecee is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 07:20 PM
  #6950  
ark
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Cool. Also another question, how do the spool outdrives hold up? Im ordering some parts soon but havent run the car yet.

cheers
ark is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 07:45 PM
  #6951  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ark View Post
Cool. Also another question, how do the spool outdrives hold up? Im ordering some parts soon but havent run the car yet.

cheers
If your running the 42mm axles they are hard on the outdrives, if you go to the 46mm axles this make them pretty bulletproof. Also remeber to grease the cup or they will melt, with the grease you have no problems, it doesn't require a lot of grease either.

From what I've seen the 3R blocks tend to have a little more material around the bushing area and this could cause clearance issues depending on where you are using them
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 07:47 PM
  #6952  
ark
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Sweet thanks Johnny
ark is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 07:49 PM
  #6953  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by veecee View Post

AXLE LENGTH
Can someone please tell me the length of the Tamiya axle? I'm after the total length of just the shaft area. Unfortunately I dremelled mine down so I don't know for sure... Thanks.
What are you looking for as far as a measurement goes? Is this the "dog bone" or the axle that you want the measurement off of?
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 08:01 PM
  #6954  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,269
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Anybody used the Atomic LCD's? I'm concerned they're the length of the 44's and will destroy spool cups, when we all know the 46's are where it's at.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 08:04 PM
  #6955  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
What are you looking for as far as a measurement goes? Is this the "dog bone" or the axle that you want the measurement off of?
The axle please. I can't measure mine because they were dremelled down.
veecee is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 08:05 PM
  #6956  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Anybody used the Atomic LCD's? I'm concerned they're the length of the 44's and will destroy spool cups, when we all know the 46's are where it's at.
Did you get a set yet? I'm thinking about trying them too, but have the same concerns, although 44 is better than the 42 stock unit.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 08:09 PM
  #6957  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by veecee View Post
The axle please. I can't measure mine because they were dremelled down.
They could be just a tick under 30mm, mine are ground as well, but I don't think a whole heck of a lot.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 08:39 PM
  #6958  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,269
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
Did you get a set yet? I'm thinking about trying them too, but have the same concerns, although 44 is better than the 42 stock unit.
Thinking about it. I didn't realize HKS Hobby is a US shop, so shipping is like $5 for us.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 08:54 PM
  #6959  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,991
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Anybody used the Atomic LCD's? I'm concerned they're the length of the 44's and will destroy spool cups, when we all know the 46's are where it's at.
A friend was watching a guy prac with some last weekend, he said in mod they lasted 2 laps before a pin broke.

Probably the same as the Xray ones, run forever in spec but if your track has a heavy braking section in mod it will snap within laps.
Besercoe is offline  
Old 10-29-2009, 09:15 PM
  #6960  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I wonder if the pins are a problem, if you could replace them with piano wire replacement instead of the ground pins? I'm speculating the piano wire would be less brittle so maybe they could take the shock better. I would also do the LOSI shrick wrap deal on them to keep the pins in. JMO
Johnny Wishbone is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.