Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree4Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Old 10-03-2009, 08:39 AM
  #6736  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i normally set the car on the droop blocks and then move the left arm up to see how far it moves the right , measuring with a set of vernier calipers to see how far up it moves

then repeat on the other side and make them evan
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 09:54 AM
  #6737  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I use my droop gauge to set the sway bars. With all the tires off and the car on a flat surface. I lift one side arm up till the opposite side just starts to lift, as I'm lifting that side up, I use the stub axle and let it hook the steps built into the droop guage, taking note of which step its on when the other side just starts to lift. Then I'll do the same thing on the other side and locate the stub axle on the height that the other side had movement and adjust the lock on the link of the bar so I get the same opposite arm lift. I should mention that the droop gauge is stood on end and not flat like you would normally use the guage.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 12:40 PM
  #6738  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Korey Harbke View Post
This is true. Chris blows all the time!
linger is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 01:05 PM
  #6739  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 929
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

do the stock reartic carriers have any toe built into them.
eddie10 is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 04:18 PM
  #6740  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

With the swaybars, which link do you adjust when one side is moving more than the other? And do you shorten that link or lengthen? It seems whatever I do, it never seems to make much difference...
veecee is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 05:24 PM
  #6741  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by veecee View Post
With the swaybars, which link do you adjust when one side is moving more than the other? And do you shorten that link or lengthen? It seems whatever I do, it never seems to make much difference...
Thats why I like the guage method, once one side is locked on the step you can shorten or lengthen or move the link for and aft to get the adjustment your looking for. Normally the two links should be roghly the same length and then its just a matter of moving the link up and down the bar to get the reaction your looking for.

Remember that if one link is longer than the other it will change the roll rate from one side to the other.

Last edited by Johnny Wishbone; 10-04-2009 at 08:03 AM.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 03:52 PM
  #6742  
Registered User
iTrader: (20)
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Congrats to young Austin Vacek on his 2nd overall @ Stock Asphalt Nats!!! Way to go kid, i miss the old days of tryin to stay on the same lap as you heh. To think u'll only get faster in time...will ur Dad and Unc be able to keep up with their increased mechanic's duties .

R
UltegraSTI is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 11:20 PM
  #6743  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,169
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by linger View Post
See, that's just mean lol
Korey Harbke is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 11:24 PM
  #6744  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Korey Harbke View Post
See, that's just mean lol
ling is a very mean person.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 05:57 AM
  #6745  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Here's an updated setup running a 6.5 brushless. I might need to gear it up slightly as it hits top speed pretty quickly. The car feels very nice to drive in general and I'm getting more consistent in hitting my braking points with a 6.5. I've been running 10.5 up until now and will probably try mod this weekend and see how I go. I'll run the 6.5 until I'm confident and turning consistent laps before I try a faster motor.

This setup is well balanced and very stable in general. But it can get twitchy when changing direction very quickly under full lock. This is usually when I've overdriven the car and get my line wrong entering a fast chicane. I actually don't mind that as the car handles great and give me lots of steering which I like. But I might change the rear to an E block and see if it compromises the overall feel. Honestly though, I just need to drive better...
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
416-VC-TFTR-20091005.pdf (371.4 KB, 145 views)
veecee is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 11:10 AM
  #6746  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 472
Default

This setup is well balanced and very stable in general. But it can get twitchy when changing direction very quickly under full lock. This is usually when I've overdriven the car and get my line wrong entering a fast chicane. I actually don't mind that as the car handles great and give me lots of steering which I like. But I might change the rear to an E block and see if it compromises the overall feel. Honestly though, I just need to drive better...[/QUOTE]

Are you running outdoor or indoor?
Ramyuras is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 02:48 PM
  #6747  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

It's med/high grip asphalt outdoor.
veecee is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:58 PM
  #6748  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
miccal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Is anyone like RC Champ or RainbowTen taking pre-orders for the TRF416X yet?
miccal is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 07:02 PM
  #6749  
Tech Master
iTrader: (32)
 
chrisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,089
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

RC-Champ is
chrisk is offline  
Old 10-05-2009, 07:04 PM
  #6750  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
Vicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,056
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

is there any pricing on the X yet?
Vicko is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.