Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree4Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Old 09-07-2009, 07:48 PM
  #6466  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 929
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

when i see 5mm droop on the setup sheets, how is that read and what tools are used
eddie10 is offline  
Old 09-07-2009, 07:52 PM
  #6467  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Is acetone safe to use on 416 graphite chassis? I'd rather just use that. Also i didnt file down the edges, i just CA'd it out of the box. This should be fine?

Thanks!
rnd_tang is offline  
Old 09-07-2009, 08:08 PM
  #6468  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
JasonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by eddie10 View Post
when i see 5mm droop on the setup sheets, how is that read and what tools are used
typical that is the hight from the bottom of the outer most part of the a arm from a setup board, i have been using this method for a wile and it seem to be more consistent

http://tamiyausa.com/articles/featur...article-id=413

Last edited by JasonC; 09-07-2009 at 08:31 PM.
JasonC is offline  
Old 09-07-2009, 08:45 PM
  #6469  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (138)
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rnd_tang View Post
Is acetone safe to use on 416 graphite chassis? I'd rather just use that. Also i didnt file down the edges, i just CA'd it out of the box. This should be fine?

Thanks!
acetone should work to remove the excess glue that ran ontop the plate
dont worry about skipping the sanding, thats fine
SammyZ is offline  
Old 09-07-2009, 09:30 PM
  #6470  
Tech Initiate
 
msxmre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grangemouth, Bonny Scotland
Posts: 28
Default

Hi guys first post so please be gentle. I was wondering if anyone who runs the tamiya spool in their 416 has had any problems with it. I was at an outdoor meeting yesterday and ran the spool and had to keep replacing the black plastic pieces that the anodised cup goes over. I had to do this every 2 runs and wasn't hitting anything. I was using a 10.5 LRP Vector motor geared at 5.4. This is the first time that i had put the spool in the car and i'm quite annoyed at how weak this spool is compared to the 415 and MSX spools i had in the older cars.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Scotty........
msxmre is offline  
Old 09-07-2009, 09:30 PM
  #6471  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Cool thanks, I'll give that a go when I get home. Will this wipe off all that white cloudy stuff?
rnd_tang is offline  
Old 09-07-2009, 09:35 PM
  #6472  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,269
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by msxmre View Post
Hi guys first post so please be gentle. I was wondering if anyone who runs the tamiya spool in their 416 has had any problems with it. I was at an outdoor meeting yesterday and ran the spool and had to keep replacing the black plastic pieces that the anodised cup goes over. I had to do this every 2 runs and wasn't hitting anything. I was using a 10.5 LRP Vector motor geared at 5.4. This is the first time that i had put the spool in the car and i'm quite annoyed at how weak this spool is compared to the 415 and MSX spools i had in the older cars.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Scotty........
Use 46mm bones up front. That'll fix the issue.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 09-07-2009, 09:41 PM
  #6473  
Tech Initiate
 
msxmre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grangemouth, Bonny Scotland
Posts: 28
Default

Thank you so much m8...
Scotty
msxmre is offline  
Old 09-07-2009, 11:42 PM
  #6474  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rnd_tang View Post
Cool thanks, I'll give that a go when I get home. Will this wipe off all that white cloudy stuff?
Yep. And no probs with the acetone on carbon either.
veecee is offline  
Old 09-08-2009, 04:13 AM
  #6475  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by msxmre View Post
Hi guys first post so please be gentle. I was wondering if anyone who runs the tamiya spool in their 416 has had any problems with it. I was at an outdoor meeting yesterday and ran the spool and had to keep replacing the black plastic pieces that the anodised cup goes over. I had to do this every 2 runs and wasn't hitting anything. I was using a 10.5 LRP Vector motor geared at 5.4. This is the first time that i had put the spool in the car and i'm quite annoyed at how weak this spool is compared to the 415 and MSX spools i had in the older cars.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Scotty........
Also check that you don't have the eccentric bearing holders around the wrong way (the dot should be up, arrow should be down). Otherwise the outdrive collars rub on the bulkheads and the outdrives melt
CraigM is offline  
Old 09-08-2009, 04:17 AM
  #6476  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
Keith Billanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BUFFALO
Posts: 1,794
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Anyone run the spool with foam tires on carpet?

If not- whats the best way to diff the front? just put the same as the rear in the front?
Keith Billanti is offline  
Old 09-08-2009, 05:00 AM
  #6477  
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,556
Default

Originally Posted by Keith Billanti View Post
Anyone run the spool with foam tires on carpet?

If not- whats the best way to diff the front? just put the same as the rear in the front?
I run front ball diff last time we had our foam carpet race...and I won that race too.
dameetz is offline  
Old 09-08-2009, 05:17 AM
  #6478  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,269
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Keith Billanti View Post
Anyone run the spool with foam tires on carpet?

If not- whats the best way to diff the front? just put the same as the rear in the front?
Yep, direct fit. Wheels shouldn't rub or do anything funky either. Tamiya makes an optional 2.5mm chassis if you really wanna.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 09-08-2009, 07:20 AM
  #6479  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (138)
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Keith Billanti View Post
Anyone run the spool with foam tires on carpet?

If not- whats the best way to diff the front? just put the same as the rear in the front?
i will be testing this car with a front ball diff with foams on carpet this week!
stay tuned!
SammyZ is offline  
Old 09-08-2009, 03:33 PM
  #6480  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Just started building the spur gear section of my 416 last night, having a hell of a time finding the 0.2mm shim (BR2). Is this a silver or blue part? I m pulling my hair out.

I went and got myself some Loctite CA as well, the liquid type. I found this method much easier. All I did was drop it on the edge and let gravity pull it along. Do I have to go around all the internal edges as well?

Thanks.
rnd_tang is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.