Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree4Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Old 03-04-2009, 10:32 AM
  #4636  
AWK
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,021
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TimPotter View Post
I am not trying to pitch a fit here... But if your not one of the "Boys" or make a point on a public forum, nothing happens.
By one of the "boys" what are you refering to? I myself run this kit and have not had access to spares either and i work at Tamiya. Sometimes these things take longer than expected, and I wish I could give you a reason for that over in Japan, but I don't have one for you.

Cruising these forums is not part of my job, or anyone's job here to be honest as it's something I do for fun like everyone here. If you call in or email Tamiya Customer Service that will always be the best way to get your question or concern out there. Sometimes, it takes more than one or two calls though since this is not something we have gotten a lot of direct feedback for, only indirect things like forum post which we do not always see.

In any case, we do have a bunch on order, plenty to go around, and are waiting for the shipment. To make sure you know when they come in, go to this link: http://www.tamiyausa.com/search.php?q=9804388 and click the request to be notified which will send you an email when the part is in stock. Hopefully that helps yous out.
AWK is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 11:42 AM
  #4637  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
TimPotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Boynton Beach Fl > Randoph NJ
Posts: 7,481
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the update.. and this is progress, a month or so ago, these were not even in your system to be searched.

Originally Posted by CarKing View Post
By one of the "boys" what are you refering to? I myself run this kit and have not had access to spares either and i work at Tamiya. Sometimes these things take longer than expected, and I wish I could give you a reason for that over in Japan, but I don't have one for you.

Cruising these forums is not part of my job, or anyone's job here to be honest as it's something I do for fun like everyone here. If you call in or email Tamiya Customer Service that will always be the best way to get your question or concern out there. Sometimes, it takes more than one or two calls though since this is not something we have gotten a lot of direct feedback for, only indirect things like forum post which we do not always see.

In any case, we do have a bunch on order, plenty to go around, and are waiting for the shipment. To make sure you know when they come in, go to this link: http://www.tamiyausa.com/search.php?q=9804388 and click the request to be notified which will send you an email when the part is in stock. Hopefully that helps yous out.
TimPotter is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:10 PM
  #4638  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,640
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Cool Spool issues?

Originally Posted by TimPotter View Post
Thanks for the update.. and this is progress, a month or so ago, these were not even in your system to be searched.
I've been reading this thread and I'm a little confused on what is breaking on the spools. Is it just the cup itself or the aluminum sleeve that goes over the cup?
I'm considering buying a used 416 WE and I would like to find out what the weak link on these cars are, if any.
I myself have a 415MRE and my spool is almost 2 years old and I haven't broken a cup yet. I've worn them out to the point of replacing them.
Are the cups for the 416 the same as the 415 if so I have two sets of the delrin cups that have been sitting in my box for months and still haven't used them. Please explain what's going on.
I believe there are aftermarket companies selling cups that look identical to the tamiya cups. This might be an option. Even if you run TCS I know that you can't tell one from the other and there's no way tech could say otherwise!
Just my 2$
maxepower is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:21 PM
  #4639  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,640
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by maxepower View Post
I've been reading this thread and I'm a little confused on what is breaking on the spools. Is it just the cup itself or the aluminum sleeve that goes over the cup?
I'm considering buying a used 416 WE and I would like to find out what the weak link on these cars are, if any.
I myself have a 415MRE and my spool is almost 2 years old and I haven't broken a cup yet. I've worn them out to the point of replacing them.
Are the cups for the 416 the same as the 415 if so I have two sets of the delrin cups that have been sitting in my box for months and still haven't used them. Please explain what's going on.
I believe there are aftermarket companies selling cups that look identical to the tamiya cups. This might be an option. Even if you run TCS I know that you can't tell one from the other and there's no way tech could say otherwise!
Just my 2$
So, I wonder if TRYHARD is listening if he would know if the 415 delrin cups will fit the 416, maybe with a little modification? If so, I know there are aftermarket companies making them other than Tamiya. I had the same problem with the 415, they didn't sell the delrin cups seperately at first and you had to buy another spool just to replace the cups. That's when I found out about the aftermarket option. Once again Tamiya has issues keeping racers happy with the proper parts in stock, so if that's the case go to another source!
maxepower is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 01:34 PM
  #4640  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (97)
 
lbckevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,656
Trader Rating: 97 (99%+)
Default

Max,

The spool on the 416 is different than the old 415. The plastic cups are breaking with a slight nudge. I broke a set on one practice day at Tamiya Track. They are real fragile. There is a way to make the old 415 spool work as well. You have to modify the bearing holders to make it fit.
lbckevin is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:23 PM
  #4641  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (50)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 742
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by maxepower View Post
So, I wonder if TRYHARD is listening if he would know if the 415 delrin cups will fit the 416, maybe with a little modification? If so, I know there are aftermarket companies making them other than Tamiya. I had the same problem with the 415, they didn't sell the delrin cups seperately at first and you had to buy another spool just to replace the cups. That's when I found out about the aftermarket option. Once again Tamiya has issues keeping racers happy with the proper parts in stock, so if that's the case go to another source!
Would you share with us who makes the aftermarket spool cup and where to get them?
Yellowtaro is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 05:26 PM
  #4642  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

How are you guys breaking them all the time? Are you hitting corners and crashing? Are you guys using 44mm bones? I'm using 46mm bones with no issues. Plus they sit deeper in the spool. Would the JAAD racing cups fit on the 416 spool? It might be an option for some of you guys if it does. Either that or just deal with a set of modded TA05 cups until Tamiya can get inventory again. I would just run a diff up front if it can down to that. Or build a spiff.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 06:26 PM
  #4643  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,640
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default 415/ 416 delrin cups!

Originally Posted by Yellowtaro View Post
Would you share with us who makes the aftermarket spool cup and where to get them?
I don't remember who the MFG. was but I ordered a bunch from RC Mushroom or RC Market, don't remember which. I looked them up and found that the 415 MRE cups are the same as the 416 according to RC Mushroom if that's the case they have them in stock including the Tamiya website.
Part # 9804268. Again, if somebody can verify for sure these cups will work in the 416 spool there are plenty available. Just do a google search of the part # 9804268 and you'll see what I mean.
Just my 2$
maxepower is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 07:33 PM
  #4644  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
miccal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

I am also running 46mm steel shafts up front, and have been using the spool for a solid year with no breakages at all.

Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
How are you guys breaking them all the time? Are you hitting corners and crashing? Are you guys using 44mm bones? I'm using 46mm bones with no issues. Plus they sit deeper in the spool.
miccal is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 07:37 PM
  #4645  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
jonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Johor, Malaysia
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
How are you guys breaking them all the time? Are you hitting corners and crashing? Are you guys using 44mm bones? I'm using 46mm bones with no issues. Plus they sit deeper in the spool. Would the JAAD racing cups fit on the 416 spool? It might be an option for some of you guys if it does. Either that or just deal with a set of modded TA05 cups until Tamiya can get inventory again. I would just run a diff up front if it can down to that. Or build a spiff.
I'm trying to retrofit the 05 spool cup (metal) to the 416...
jonest is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 07:51 PM
  #4646  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jonest View Post
I'm trying to retrofit the 05 spool cup (metal) to the 416...
It's a good "alternative". But it will result in less steering and more "chatter". However, you won't break any more outdrives/cups. Keep them lubed/greased up and this should help out with chatter.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 07:58 PM
  #4647  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

What Jimmy said!

There's no issue with the cups using the 46mm shafts. You'll have a bit more chatter but otherwise there's no difference. I've recently switched from the 46mm to the 44mm to reduce the chatter, if I start breaking cups I'll know that's the problem, but I've done a couple meets with the 44s and had a few hits without issue

It does suck that you cant source any, have you guys tried rcchamp?
CraigM is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 10:04 PM
  #4648  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by maxepower View Post
I don't remember who the MFG. was but I ordered a bunch from RC Mushroom or RC Market, don't remember which. I looked them up and found that the 415 MRE cups are the same as the 416 according to RC Mushroom if that's the case they have them in stock including the Tamiya website.
Part # 9804268. Again, if somebody can verify for sure these cups will work in the 416 spool there are plenty available. Just do a google search of the part # 9804268 and you'll see what I mean.
Just my 2$
Max, you've seen how hard i drove my 416... how the heck are you guys breaking spool cups? i just inspected mine... still in good shape! then again i only 10.5 on it a few times..and 13.5 most of the time.

- Chris
Hebiki is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 12:28 AM
  #4649  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
jonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Johor, Malaysia
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hebiki View Post
Max, you've seen how hard i drove my 416... how the heck are you guys breaking spool cups? i just inspected mine... still in good shape! then again i only 10.5 on it a few times..and 13.5 most of the time.

- Chris
I'm running 11.5 and couple of knocks on the barrier, it goes shattered!!!
jonest is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 06:22 AM
  #4650  
VTR
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
VTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SINGAPORE
Posts: 2,579
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default help needed

guys, need so help,

what's e size of e pinion gear i shd use if i'm using a 3900Kv, 10T brushless motor? mine spur is 105T

thanks.
VTR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.